We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant - even out of season” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Longue Vue

La Longue Vue
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Longue Vue to your Saves list
La Longue Vue
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 rue Croix de Mission, 49350 Gennes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gennes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant - even out of season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were staying in the area on a trip through France and this restaurant was recommended to us (we didn't stay here) by our host.
The menu was restricted to the "Menu" as it was definitely out of season (there was only one guest staying at La Longue Vue and we were the only people staying at the Domain de Joureau) which suits us fine as that's what we usually choose anyway. There were three options for each course and from our experience they were excellent quality. Wine was a reasonable price and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much indeed. The owners are relatively new to the hotel and are engaged in updating it a little at a time, hence our room was a little bit on the tired side. This was more than made up for by the friendliness of Philipe and his wife. We enjoyed excellent value on meals and drinks. The 2/3 course dinners represented good choice and value. A swimming pool, which we did not use, looked very clean and enticing after a hot day.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the swimming pool and terrace. Landscaping was underway. Very pleasant and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for a week while on a cycling holiday. The rooms were very clean and comfortable - recently decorated, I think - and the bathroom relatively large and well-equipped. We much appreciated the non-stop heating and hot water in a chilly Spring. Breakfasts had everything we wanted for a day in the saddle. Facilities for storing the tandem overnight were great. The hotel is up a hill, but it is short and not too difficult to cycle up, and the view over the town of Gennes and the river from the dining room definitely makes it worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arrived after a long day in the saddle (bike) to a friendly welcome, a clean room, a shower, a cold blonde(,) beer and a swim in the good-sized pool. What more could you ask for? We'd all booked dinner and the menu was imaginative and the food was great. Below the dining room and opening onto the terrace is a well equipped games room which kept us up till midnight. The bed was excellent, the room and bathroom very clean and its quiet, we slept like logs. The buffet breakfast was good too. The functional building was probably built in the 1980's with lovely big windows and our room had a relatively Longue Vue.
We were able to store the bikes in a roomy garage, there is ample parking for cars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, some rooms face the back of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allonnes, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had a really glorious meal here. Terrific quality and really good value accompanied by delicious local wine - also at a sensible price. Philippe & Lenny who run the Longue Vue are charming as well as efficient - the place was understandably packed. The word is getting round so we'd recommend you book well in advance. Many thanks for a very special evening - we'll be back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allonne, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a lovely meal in Gennes at the Longue Vue with friends. My husbands steak cut like butter and his foie gras was fantastic, even at short notice they managed to make the most fantastic vegetarian supper for me! We'll be back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel has new owners who went out of their way to make our visit superb. They introduced us to local wine makers, area attractions, and best of all was the hotel restaurant. The food was so good! The rooms are clean and comfortable, well equipped. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Loire Valley.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Longue Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Longue Vue

Address: 18 rue Croix de Mission, 49350 Gennes, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Gennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Longue Vue 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Longue Vue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Longue Vue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.