We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanddancers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sanddancers to your Saves list
Sanddancers
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   311 Elizabeth Drive | PO Box 118, Vincentia, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Vincentia B&B and Inns
Oxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very accommodating owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were grateful to Lorraine for accommodating us when we arrived in Vincentia to find that the B&B where we had booked was closed! The two rooms we had were small but comfortable, each with nicely equipped ensuite bathrooms. It was more expensive than we had planned, nevertheless we enjoyed our stay despite one day of torrential rain when the scrabble came in very handy and the use of the communal lounge very welcome. Lorraine provided ample continental breakfasts with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, croissants and breads but we would have liked to have been able to cook our own eggs and bacon in the kitchen that adjoins the lounge. Lorraine also very kindly did some washing for us which we greatly appreciated and she was a mine of information about the area and the activities available. A very nice touch was being able to look at the menus of local restaurants so we could make up our minds where to eat and it was good to have free wifi. All in all it was very good value for money and we would visit Sanddancers again if we returned to Vincentia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanddancer01, Owner at Sanddancers, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your very positive review on Trip advisor, it was indeed fortunate that we had rooms free on the dates you required.
For the benefit of other viewers visiting your comments could I point out that under normal circumstances when a guest has an extended stay - as you did, I would normally offer a cooked breakfast selection as a breakfast option, however since your tariff was adjusted to match the quote of the original, unrated and unavailable B&B you booked a cooked selection was not offered to your family.
I do remember you requesting to use the kitchen to prepare your own cooked breakfast however for the comfort of all guests I cant allow guests to cook meals in our communial areas.
I look forward to meeting you again on your next visit to Jervis Bay and to cooking you a hearty bacon and egg breakfast.
Very best regards
Lilian
Sanddancers owner and manager :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at Sanddancers for two nights on the way to Sydney from Melbourne. We had visited Jervis Bay a few years ago on a day trip from Sydney and liked it so much we wanted to stay a few nights when we next had the chance.
We had found Sanddancers online only a couple of weeks before our visit and there was not a lot of choice left at this stage. The reviews were positive and although it was a little more expensive than what we had wanted it looked very nice. The booking process was efficient and straight forward with automatic email confirmation which seemed pretty slick for a small B&B.
The property is located on the main road through Vincentia, just the other side of the road from the water of Jervis Bay (when I say main road it doesn't really go anywhere and is a quiet road). On the ground floor at the front of the house is the large open plan communal lounge, dining room/kitchen area and then behind that are the bedrooms then a nice patio area, frequented by rainbow lorikeets, before the car parking. The first floor is the owners accommodation.
During our two nights there was only one other couple there the first night and we were alone for the second night so it was very peaceful. There is some noise from upstairs with people walking around but nothing that disturbed us too much.
The room we had was very nice. It was large enough for our short stay and nicely decorated with a good bathroom. There were some nice touches like the folding of the towels and the end of the toilet roll! The lounge area had several large sofas and a large TV which we made use of as we were alone and it was like staying at home. The kitchen has tea and coffee, cereals and bread with a toaster and jams etc. There is a large fridge available to use which was useful as one night we had a bottle of sparkling wine with a takeaway in front of the TV in the lounge!. The dining area is next to the kitchen area at the back of the lounge and for breakfast all the food is laid out on the breakfast bar. There was plenty of food which consisted of cereals, fruit, pastries, breads and juices.
We were looked after solely by the owner while we were there and she was very nice, friendly and helpful.
There is also free wifi available.
Basically this is a lovely place in a lovely place! We would happily stay again, particularly if we were the only ones!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have just come back from our first anniversary weekend staying at Sandancers. It was better than we even anticipated.

Lillian was welcoming, informative and generous always being on hand if we needed her.

The bedrooms are clean and cosy with a friendly coastal theme to them. The size was just right for our 2 night stay. Equipped with ensuite they are very quiet. The local area is serene too and alternative to busier Huskisson which is only a 5 min drive away anyway. The local Vincentia shops are even closer.

It was raining so if we wanted to stay indoors we had plenty of things to do in the spacious and light filled living area - boardgames, current DVDs, internet access.

Breakfast was a great choice of cereals, breads, sweetbreads, jams, condiments, yogurts as well as a yummy fruit platter too.

There is a lovely walking track along Nelson's Beach a stone's throw away. With Jervis Bay which is so pristine and the National Parks nearby you really get a sense of the eco-sensibility of the place and the best of both worlds - coast line and bushland.

Hyam's beach is just south of Nelson's Beach and its sand had the texture of snow and was brilliant even on a gloomy day.

There is so much more to do in the area - diving, wine-tasting, cruising, dining, markets, relaxing on the beach - that we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Sanddancers again or recommend it to anyone. Compared to the other accommodation in the area that we researched this is very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanddancer01, Owner at Sanddancers, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
WOW - your first anniversary I hope you were able to create memories to last a lifetime! Next time
You visit on a special occasion please feel comfortable to let me know I love to provide guests with a welcome surprise on special occasions. so happy you enjoyed your stay forward to meeting you again :-)
Lilian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay. Located just 5 minutes walk from a beautiful beach, Sanddancers was a friendly, welcoming and comfortable place to stay. The room was spotless, and there were a number of lovely little touches - bottled water, chocolates by the bed. Free wi-fi too.There's a well-equipped shared lounge, and a lovely space outside - complete with visiting lorikeets. A good breakfast followed a good night's sleep. I would recommend Sanddancers to anyone visiting Jervis Bay - it's a real gem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed for two nights in early October as a family group in two rooms. Rooms were spotless, plenty of hot water, clean towels, comfy bed, good variety breakfast and ample space to relax in the guest lounge together. The extra touches of hospitality made staying in this picture perfect area even more enjoyable - free wifi, ipod dock, freshly grinded coffee beans, bath robes etc The B&B is well-positioned and there are so many beaches nearby for walks, plenty of impressive scenery to take in and it is nice spot to come back to after being out all day. The owner Lilian has a strong local knowledge on everything that's around, whether you're looking for ideas on where to go and whats on or just to pick a restaurant. Wonderful place for a peaceful weekend get away, we should have stayed longer and would happily recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

What an absolute gem. From the very friendly welcome we received when we arrived to the amazing breakfast. Lilian the owner was really friendly and helpful. Our room was beautifully furnished with lovely white linen and good fluffy towels. Everything was very clean with a great ensuite and powerful shower. The bed was so comfortable I had the best sleep that I have had for ages. We only stayed one night but I didn't want to leave. A great area to visit and Lilian's home is so welcoming. Big huge lounge area, very well equipped kitchen. I really cannot praise it enough. We will definitely try and find time to visit the area and stay again. The breakfast was a lovely surprise as in previous B&B's we have stayed we have only had toast and cereal and sometimes a bowl of fruit. This breakfast was sensational as well as the usual toast and cereal, there was cold ham, smoked salmon, yogurt, fresh eggs in the fridge for us to cook if we wanted, but the best thing was the most fabulous fruit platter all lovingly prepared. This was a wonderful stay. Thanks Lilian for all the thoughtful touches including the chocolates in our bedroom.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We only spent one night at Sanddancers due to our busy schedule, but we will definitely be planning a return trip. The quality and comfort are second-to-none, and the hospitality was excellent. The B&B is in an ideal location for long romantic walks along the pristine sand beach, and our host even provided us a discount coupon for one of the local whale watching businesses. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanddancers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanddancers

Address: 311 Elizabeth Drive | PO Box 118, Vincentia, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Vincentia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vincentia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanddancers 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanddancers bed and breakfast is a 4 star rated guest house located in Vincentia, a suburb of Jervis Bay on the NSW South Coast of Australia.Close to beaches, parks, restaurants and water activities.This purpose built bed and breakfast has four bedrooms each with private ensuite and seperate managers accommomodation.The tarrif includes an extensive continental breakfast, linen and towels, wifi and DVD use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sanddancers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanddancers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.