We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inthira Thakhek

Save Saved
You added Inthira Thakhek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inthira Thakhek
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No 079, Unit 4, Anou Road | Thakhek, Muang Khammouan 2351124, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Vientiane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I loved my stay at Inthira. Everything about the place made me happy. And the most astounding thing is Mr Thavone the GM doing everything from cutting fruit behind the bar to fixing the air conditioning. Price for Value. Excellent! Rooms are very distinctive and I liked how you maintained the old French architecture while offering modern amenities. WONDERFUL.

Room Tip: The superior is well worth the extra few bucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    49
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
58
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Good location right in the heart of town. The room were clean and quiet even though he hotel in right on the main street. Despite this i would recommend a room at the back of the hotel to escape the heat of the afternoon sun which shines straight onto the room. The stairs up to rooms are a little difficult to negotiate for anyone with bad knees however that is only real drawback. Plenty of hot water in e shower. Staff are friendly and helpful. The meals were nice.

Room Tip: See comments. Choose a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Inthira Hotel in Thakhek is really great.
Unfortunately we stayed there just for a night but this night was excellent.
The hotel is very modern and well cared for. The rooms are very great and therefore the prices are a little higher than we usually pay for.
Also the food is very good. They serve western style burgers but also Lao style food.
The only thing to complain was that at the reception they could neither tell us about how to get to the Kong Lor cave nor when buses are leaving in this direction. So we had to organize it on our own which was quite exciting.
But all in all a good option to stay in Thakhek even because the town itself does not have so many attractions it is quite comfortable to have a great room and a good restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

As a rather thoughtfully converted shophouse, the hotel offers some charm and personality but drawbacks as well. I had one of the deluxe rooms overlooking the town square. With no space for a traditional separate bathroom, there is a water closet in one corner and a shower in the other corner, separated by a vanity with plenty of storage space. The bed was comfortable enough. The TV is rather awkwardly positioned. The a/c never really seemed quite up to the task so the ceiling fan was a godsend. The room was also subject to the noisy street traffic outside. Although Tha Khek is not the most bustling place on earth, all the noisy motorbikes and trucks trundling underneath the balcony made falling asleep a task. I would recommend a room that does not back onto the street. I suppose the challenges of converting this lovely building into a hotel precluded installing any kind of noise attenuation.

The restaurant was satisfactory in both quality and price. All the staff I encountered at the hotel were very pleasant and eager to please.

Book in advance. As I was sitting in the bar or restaurant there were quite a few folks looking for a room who were turned away.

Room Tip: Although the deluxe rooms with balconies overlooking the town square may seem appealing at first, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Inthira Thakhek, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you for this lovely positive review. We are glad that you have decided to try Inthira and enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant. We have a great Chef and more and more people seem to recognize his talent, which makes him very proud !

I am sorry you did not get a pleasant sleep and i will speak with the owner and try to find solutions to improve the soundproofing of our rooms.

Best regards,

Thavone,
General Manager
Inthira Thakhek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and booked in advance. When we arrived they couldn't find the booking but as we could prove our booking they gave us "the suite" for the same price as a normal room. This was basic with 2 large rooms at the very top - the last set of stairs was fairly steep so possibly not suitable for small children to climb. the beds were comfortable and the bathroom had hot water.Air conditioning was only in the bedroom. We only ate at the Inthira as it looked the best. The food wasgreat and had a great bar. There's free computers to use plus free WiFi. Most staff were helpful but all were friendly. The hotel is in the middle of town for easy walking.

Room Tip: there is no overhead cover from the top of the stairs to suite room doors so would get wet if it ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Inthira Thakhek, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us a very positive review. I am sorry there was some confusion about your booking and i will personally look into it to understand what happened so it does not happen again. Thank you for your recommendation and kind words about the Kitchen restaurant and bar. The bar offers great cocktails and the coldest beers in town ;-)
I will read your review to my staff which will make them very happy i am sure.
We do hope to welcome you back in Thakhek again in the near future.

Thavong,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at Inthira for 2 nights..rooms & staff were great. It is very central being only a minutes stroll from the riverfront. Room was clean & modern, great shower and good bed. We had a front facing room with huge balcony. The restaurant is very good, offering western and Asian meals. The hotel has a European feel with an open wine bar and tables outside. Highly recommend Inthira Hotel, we booked through Agoda and got a great price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Inthira Thakhek, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Inthira Thakhek. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I am also very pleased to read that you enjoyed The Kitchen, our open restaurant. Our Chef and his team are working hard to make sure we provide only fresh products and quality meals.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Inthira Thakhek soon.

Warm regards
Thavone,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

On paper at least, the Inthira comes across as Thakhek's best accomodation option.  Whilst it certainly attempts to provide a boutique hotel experience, it never quite fully hits the mark.

The room was pretty comfortable, if not the cleanest, and was a reasonable size.  In addition to having a lovely balcony overlooking the town square, it did have a certain quirky charm, with features such as the en-suite shower and toilet being hidden away in the corners in a pair of dark wood and frosted glass cubicles.  There was also air-con and wifi, as well as cable television (albeit placed in a strangely unviewable position).

Meanwhile, the hotel staff had the slightly haphazard approach that seems typical of Laos.  But in contrast to most experiences elsewhere in the country, this was rarely offset by the usual mitigating friendliness and sense of there being a genuine desire to help.

Probably the Inthira's biggest selling point was its restaurant with its distinctive blood red walls. The usual Laotian dishes were all present on the lunch and dinner menu, and never disappointed in terms of quality or size, and there was also a selection of Western dishes.  However, it does have to be said that the breakfast included in the room rate, a choice of a small selection of cooked dishes, was fine but hardly what could be described as generous.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inthira Thakhek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inthira Thakhek

Address: No 079, Unit 4, Anou Road | Thakhek, Muang Khammouan 2351124, Laos
Location: Laos > Khammouane Province > Muang Khammouan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Muang Khammouan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inthira Thakhek 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely renovated colonial building hotel located in the very centre of Thakhek and a 1 minute walk to the Mekong river. The hotel caters to all accommodation needs and houses a fantastic open area kitchen that is very popular with the locals and tourists alike. The hotel has been designed with a contemporary feel and has all the necessary luxuries associated with Inthira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Inthira Thakhek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inthira Thakhek Laos/Muang Khammouan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inthira Thakhek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.