We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither a great nor friendly place.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thakhek Travel Lodge

Save Saved
You added Thakhek Travel Lodge to your Saves list
Thakhek Travel Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thakhek Travel Lodge
Ban Vienvilay | Route 13 south between km 2 and 3, Muang Khammouan, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Trier, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Neither a great nor friendly place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We ended up at this place due to a recommendation in the Lonely Planet guide. It was a great letdown. Very remote, unfriendly staff that is not helpful or supportive, we did not enjoy the stay at this overpriced place very much. look further into town for more accommodation options.
I had the worst breakfast at the Travel Lodge, which included an unedible piece of baguette - the material of the baguette could have been patented as new super-rubber that cannot be cut by humans. Absolutely terrible. The motorbike rental place at the hotel rents out scooters for EUR 10 per day, when the rent across town is between EUR 3-5 per day - a gigantic rip-off.
Unlike any other guesthouse we stayed at, the staff is not willing to support guests when reserving Tuk Tuks or bus tickets - very disappointing.
The worst about this place was the list of rules pinned at the apartment door (see pictures): it states that "all forms of sex are extemely prohibited"...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    16
    20
    17
See reviews for
Families
0
24
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Ok, so its a good Tuk tuk ride from the bus station and from central Thakhet. Bit of a pain. On arriving it seems like a nice place with tasteful rooms and A huge bathroom but unfortunately our bed was hugely uncomfortable- felt every spring in the mattress and the fan on the wall was useless. The mosquito net was too small for the bed and the sink was partially blocked. Several of our friends booked rooms where the aircon and fans dsnt function and one had to make a choice between electricity or water in his bathroom as you couldn't have both together! Showering in the dark for him.

The hotel is a good place to meet people though, perhaps they're so cross with their rooms that they all congregate and drink outside!

I think you can get a more reliable room in central Thakhet as we did on returning there after biking he loop.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our double room was big with a massive bathroom. They have a nightly fire pit which was great to meet other travellers. Food was ok, price was about 80,000k per night I think. Far out of town but good for a stop over. I would go back ifi was in thakhek.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

in fact, i had a good first impression of the travel lodge. but there are many things which didn't fit.

i spent twon nights there. one night in a double room which was 90k and pretty nice. diner was okay. afterwards, we did the loop and we got mr. ku suggested. they are playing together and he's renting way overpriced motorbikes. you get the same quality for half the price in the city.

the second night, after the loop, i spent in the dorm. the dorm is like a birth station. everybody sees in. the beds are hard and over-used.

the toilets and showeres were not clean and not in good shape. the breakfast was bad and the wifi was never working. furthermore, the staff is not really friendly. their system is also quite bizarre and random.

all in all, i can't recommend it. better stay in the center and not in the travel lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muang Khammouan hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Adjacent to the Thakhek Travel Lodge, I found this hidden gem in Thakhek (10 minutes walk from Thakhek centre, right opposite the Minde-J Hotel) for a 3-days private retreat in 3 Jan 2013. Uniquely differentiating itself from other travel lodges in Thakhek, Villa Thakhek is surrounded by beautiful landscape away from the busy streets. While the Thakhek Travel Lodge is widely known as popular spot for backpackers and outdoors sports lovers, Villa Thakhek shares the same registration desk while located just right behind the lodge providing extraordinary sense of tranquility with a small garden for relaxation. Besides the green surrounding, I particularly like the wooden ceiling that keeps the room cool even under the hot sun in the noon; and friendly service from English-speaking front desk personnel of Thakhek Travel Lodge also help made my day. Anyhow, a small setback is, I’ve noticed no clear sign by the entrance of Villa, and my “tut-tut” driver has been able to locate it only after 2-3 rounds passing the frontage. Internet connection is available but as it’s something common in Thakhek, connectivity interruption does happen. Transport wise, I’ve rented a bicycle (from Mr. Ku) to travel within the Thakhek town in the first day, it costs me 30,000KIP/day which I thought is slightly expensive, but by end of the day I think it is still a wise option if to travel within town. Somehow if you wish to travel out of town to the “Loop”, to visit caves or go for other trilling outdoor games, then renting a motorbike (100,000KIP/day) from Mr Ku can be a better choice, as what I did for my 3rd day of stay. While I will likely come again for personal retreat; for business travel, I may still opt for Riveria Hotel where there is spacious business meeting place, but of course only if you have much bigger budget for spend for.

Room Tip: Travel by "tut-tut", try gather a few persons if not can be expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muara, Brunei Darussalam
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This wasnt my first choice as it was too far away from the city center but I had no choice because I was on a budget and there wasnt anyone who could speak English at my other cheap choice. I chose their cheapest room. I wouldnt want to stay in it again after one night. Its jail like with only one dinky bed and table. There are no room to put your things and I wouldnt dare switch on the lights while I'm it at night because the windows are translucent. The door seriously needs replacement because I always struggle to get it open. You dont have a private bathroom. You have to share. The lights in the shower doesnt work and the toilets are dirty. You have to put in a deposit for towels - which i think its just ridiculous. Since the 'lodge' is far away from the city you have to eat at their restaurant. Food was decent but it takes a long time.

Room Tip: Dont choose their single rooms - no private bathroom, no towels. Feels like prison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The rooms are nice and spacious, and the food in the restaurant is good as well. But by comparison the prices are high and alternatives are somewhat far away. The internet connection is shaky, and reservation by phone seems to be chaotic from what I observed. Mr. Ku next door has reliable, though expensive scooters for "the loop".

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thakhek Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thakhek Travel Lodge

Address: Ban Vienvilay | Route 13 south between km 2 and 3, Muang Khammouan, Laos
Location: Laos > Khammouane Province > Muang Khammouan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty lodging in Muang Khammouan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Thakhek Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thakhek Travel Lodge Laos/Muang Khammouan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thakhek Travel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.