We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daosavanh Resort & Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Daosavanh Resort & Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Daosavanh Resort & Spa Hotel
Ban Thahea | Kaisonephomvihan District, Savannakhet, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Savannakhet
Chonburi, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were forced to stay in Savannakhet back in 2008 and the hotel we were steered to was terrible, cannot remember it's name, and were not very impressed by the town either. However, we stayed a night at Daosavanh on 28th August and must say had no complaints at all.Well furnished room and sensible bathroom;a very good choice of TV channels,free Wi-Fi, staff all very good and friendly, perhaps the only negative was the breakfast although adequate could be improved a bit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
15
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is my second trip to Savannakhet. My first trip we stayed at the casino hotel, but because this trip was with our young daughter we decided to stay at the Daosavanh. Very nice hotel and very warm and helpful staff. Yes, Savannakhet is a "charmless" city ... afterall it is a border city, but this hotel is comfortable with a warm staff.
The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of space (actually nicer than the casino hotel we stayed in last time). The bathroom was a bit worn (cracked chalk/molding around the bathtub for example), but clean ... which is all we care about.
The food is good as well. We thought the food would be limited from reading other posts, but we found the menu large enough and well prepared. The onion soup is possibly the best I've had outside of home!
Personally, I don't think the hotel is overpriced or unreasonable. We paid $72 USD per night and to me that was a reasonable price for a deluxe room. The only complaint would be that we asked for a river view. Well ... the room was on the ground floor, so we had a river view as well as a parking lot view. Very minor issue and certainly won't keep me from coming back to this hotel when I need to return to the area.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool area seem to be a good choice. Paying the extra for river view is fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel looks nice from the outside and the lobby and rooms were clean and well-maintained. The hotel is right on the banks of the Mekong, and you see Mukdahan city in Thailand just a km away on the other side. I had no complaints about the staff, though previous reviews are correct in that the staff speaks very limited English. My room was spotless and the bed was medium hard with comfortable and clean bed linens. The A/C was powerful and cool. The breakfast buffet was spartan -- noodles, omelets, toast, plus 3 Asian entrees and fried rice. I saw some bowls of corn flakes too. Overall, for Laos this is probably a quite decent place, but if your standard of comparison is Thailand, you will be a little disappointed. Savannakhet is not a particularly charming place, and I'm not sure it would suffice as a destination in itself, but it is quiet and has a nice location at the wide part of the Mekong.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are nice, but there can be some street noise and the riverbank is actually ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Staff were helpful, a great place to sit by the pool with a BeerLao watching the sunset.
No-one at the hotel speaks English very well, however this is Laos so no big surprises there.
The dining room was empty, however the food was fine. Continental breakfast a bit of a rip-off compared to the other options.

Can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room facing West, perfect for the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roi Et
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Staff were great and helpful, but that could have been because we were about the only ones staying there. Dining room deserted at all sitting. The food they prepared was good.
The room was clean but the fan in the airconditioner had a bad bearing and made a horrendous noise, (dont get room 302).
The pool was reasonably clean, and there was someone in attendance each time the kids went for a swim.
The problem is it is about double in cost to what it should be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The choice is limited in Savannakhet but this place does OK. Rooms are clean and everything works. Staff were bipolar in their approach - half the time excellent and the other half wondering what they were doing there. but all in all probably the best option in Savannakhet./

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It might be the best there is in Savanakhet, but for the price I am a bit disappointed.

Yes the rooms are good, although they are missing just that extra that makes them really good. No bathtub, old fashioned stone floor.

The hotel is located along the Mekong river but a bit out of town, so I would think that they would have free transport service. No way, we had to pay 20.000kip for Tuk-Tuk service to town.

Then breakfast .... no buffet service but and very simple and basic plate service with tasteless orange-jus, tasteless casino-bread, tasteless jam and fried eggs that needed to be fried again. Also the breakfast area looks a bit old and not taken care off very well.

Room Tip: Have breakfast in town and enjoy fresh baked french baguettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daosavanh Resort & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daosavanh Resort & Spa Hotel

Address: Ban Thahea | Kaisonephomvihan District, Savannakhet, Laos
Location: Laos > Savannakhet Province > Savannakhet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Savannakhet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Daosavanh Resort & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daosavanh Hotel Savannakhet
Daosavanh Resort And Spa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daosavanh Resort & Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.