We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gartenhotel Crystal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gartenhotel Crystal to your Saves list
Gartenhotel Crystal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hochfuegener Str. 63, Fugen 6263 , Austria   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Fugen
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Great facilities for families: pool, billiards, table tennis, kids play area. Lovely rooms and fantastic food in the restaurant. Much lower rates than similar hotels, which reflects the fact it is a 25 minute bus ride from the slopes, but the bus goes from outside the front door so is pretty convenient. We had one of the newer rooms which was excellent (two shower rooms and a huge balcony). All the staff were exceptionally friendly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

First let me say that we booked here thru a travel agent rather last minute for the week between Christmas and New Years. Our lodging choices were very limited during this time period so I felt we were kind of forced to stay here due to the lack of decent options. Boy, was I happy to be proven wrong! We had a great time here and I'm so glad we stayed here!

First the location: it's about a 5-7 minute walk from the center of Fugen which has a variety of stores & restaurants which I would have liked to explore but we spent all of our time skiing. Also the hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Spieljochban gondola for skiing. Alternatively the ski bus stop to Hochfugen was located in the hotel's parking lot. Get outside about 5 mins at least before the bus is scheduled to arrive to ensure you get a seat on the bus (otherwise you'll stand for the 20min journey). We skied almost every day, one day at Spieljoch which was nice but small compared to the subsequent fabulous days spent at Hochfugen and Kaltenbach. Awesome conditions, long trails, just wonderful! We had 2 lunches at the Wedelhutte on the mountain (separate review on TA) as well as another on mountain restaurant near the 8er gondola. Both great meals.

The rooms: we were in what I think was an older styled room. It was clean, well-maintained and comfortable but I would have preferred to have stayed in one of the renovated, more modern rooms. Had I known about this I would have requested a different room. Regardless we still enjoyed our room, it's just personal preference.

Food: Simply great. I was really surprised at the creativity of the menu and the presentation of the food--it really was like eating at a 4 star restaurant every night! The buffet breakfast featured the same food every morning but we never tired of the assortment due to the huge variety offered. My daughter especially loved making fresh apple and carrot juice every day with the juicer that they had on hand. On the nights they had a dinner buffet--same situation, huge variety to chose from and everything was very delicious. Almost every day we went to the snack buffet from 3-5pm which was small but offer a choice of savory and sweet items to hold you over to dinner. There are 3 different dining rooms which you are assigned to upon arrival. You dine at that table for all meals during your stay. One room features traditional Austrian decor which is actually very cozy. The other 2 are more modern in styling with big glass windows offering a view to the mountains and town.

Service: Check-in was quick and friendly. Everyone at reception was very helpful whenever we had a question. Our waitstaff at breakfast & dinner were super friendly & professional, especially our waiter Ronny who was so sweet, helpful and just pleasant to chat with.

Pool/Spa/Kids area: My girls enjoyed the pool almost every day. I didn't get a chance to try out any spa treatments or the sauna area which was huge & looked relaxing. Maybe next time! They had a bright kids room full of toys and videos to keep the under 8 crowd happy and occupied. There was also a few video games, pool table, fuss ball and table tennis to play as well.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel. I'm so glad we stayed here and would certainly return if we ever come back to this area for skiing! I'm sure during the summer it's wonderful too!

Room Tip: If you prefer a more modern aesthetic, ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a wonderful vacation in Austria. The hotel experience was nearly perfect and I will start from the good. Number 1 the spa: just amazing, all you can wish in terms of saunas, indoor swimming pool, relaxation hall and other amazing facilities. Number 2: the food was mostly perfect with just some little drawbacks. Huge variety of local gourmet cheeses, elegant dinners with interesting dishes and so on...
Number 3: the service and the friendliness of the staff was amazing. There was not a single thing that we would ask and did not get, in short time and with a smile.
Number 4: the child friendliness of the hotel was beyond our expectations. Perfect outdoor and indoor playing facilities, children pool, and so on. Most important: our children are quiet picky in terms of food so every evening the chef had a special dish prepared just for them, according to our request. Unbelievable.
Number 5: the location of the hotel is very comfortable to get around the area.
Finally, the drawbacks: unfortunately there were some small draw backs that did not allow me to grant a perfect score to this otherwise wonderful hotel. First, the mattress and the pillows were very uncomfortable. Although near the bed there was a sign in German that stated that the bed was some kind of orthopedic sleep system, but being orthopedic did not make it comfortable. Second, there was no coffee and tea preparing kit and no refrigerator in the room which in my opinion are pretty basic. And third, almost no international channels on tv. Out of 80 channels on tv, only a few were in English and all of them were news.
Other than that , as I said, nearly perfect hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The restaurant ranks with any Michelin ones. Gourmet! And attentive service. The front desk is friendly and very helpful with local hiking. The location is convenient. Fugen is quiet and beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a week in May on a half board basis. The hotel has extensive spa facilities, is spotlessly clean and staff are polite and helpful. The hotel provided me with a 5 course vegan meal each evening and there was plenty of choice for me at the breakfast buffet each morning. The meals were imaginative, healthy and tasty. Chilled soya milk was provided every day and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Good English was spoken by nearly all the staff. I would advise people to research the area themselves, before leaving home, to find out what attractions are available as all the tourist leaflets at the hotel are entirely in German. Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed, it was functional rather than luxurious with lots of storage and even a seating area. The room, like all areas of the hotel, was spotless and only lacking tea making facilities, which us Brits do love! The shower cubicle was a little rickety and the towels a little thin and hard but then there was a double sink unit in the bathroom that was very welcome. Please note, hotel is at top of a long hill.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room no 113 which had a seating area and balcony, but balcony looked out on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel to ski lovers who do care for healthy food. Hotel is located a walking distance from skilift to Spieljoch mountain. Still, a skibus stops at hotel door to pick you up there or to further ski destinations. Hotel is cosy, with many silent lobbies, to enjoy intimacy. We were extremely delighted with excellent service and delicious food - dishes were of highest quality, highest care to provide healthy food (even honeycomb!), many many local dishes (cheese of many kinds!), also homemade - simply excellent cuisine and cook! Nice clean rooms, excellent intimate sauna premisses with water beds. Very good skiroom and many other features. Wifi is free of charge. Halfpension option includes a generous snack + coffee in the afternoon. One small negative feature for me: too hard mattrace.

Room Tip: Hotel ma starszą i nowszą część.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed here as part of a Christmas markets package with Newmarket Holidays. The hotel has comfortable spacious rooms and stunning views of the mountains. Meals were in a communal dining area catering to larger groups which was a little too sterile for our liking. However, after requesting a move to the dining area adjacent to reception we enjoyed a far more convivial and traditional atmosphere in wood panelled surroundings. Breakfast is self service buffet with plenty of choice. Dinner menu was selected at breakfast and, whilst imaginative, was not always to everyone's taste. The spa facilities are excellent. The staff are very attentive and friendly (on Sundays they wear traditional dress). We are not skiers but we took the half hour train ride to Mayrhofen (about 10 euros return) and took the cable car to the skiing areas - pedestrians pay 16 .5 euros. The trip was the highlight of our short stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gartenhotel Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartenhotel Crystal

Address: Hochfuegener Str. 63, Fugen 6263 , Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Fugen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Fugen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gartenhotel Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gartenhotel Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartenhotel Crystal Hotel Fugen
Crystal Hotel Fugen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gartenhotel Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.