We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynastie

Tang Dynastie
Sumatraweg 2, Almere, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 81 Restaurants in Almere
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Poor service and food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The first impression of this restaurant is good, nice building to see and the ambiance is very modern. From the start the staff were very pushy to take our order. No time to sit down and look at the menu. The staff were very chaotic in taking our order. The starters where ok of quality but the mains where very poor. No flavour and cold. We had made a complaint about the quality but the staff ignored us. We don't recommend this restaurant unless you have a very low standerd of quality of food and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Almere
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Familiar concept, great execution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

In recent years, the Netherlands has seen more and more restaurants with the "X dishes in Y courses" concept. In general, one gets to select five small dishes per course, for a total of five courses in total. "Tang Dynastie" is one of the better restaurants that we know to use this concept.

Decoration is modern, airy and open. Staff are quick and friendly. The seating is comfortable and the restaurant has a playroom for kids.

The food is excellent. Next to an Asian 'a la carte' menu, they offer the aforementioned 'all you can eat' formula. They have a wide variety of sushi: makizushi, nigirizushi with roughly fifteen sorts of fish and hand rolls. They also have a wide variety of Chinese and Japanese dishes. They gyoza and the duck 'pancakes' are to die for! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Something for everyone as the building has a variety of venues to suit every taste. Set menu, a la carte and even Japanese, great.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed vegetarian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice modern ambiance. skilled young staff, mainly students to serve customers, they behaved quite politely.
We sat at tables to order per round 5 kind of choices food per person.
Was enjoyable, taste was varying and quality was average good/ok.

Can recommend everybody in the city Almere to have a diner over there.
Price was good comparing to quality and service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food, don't eat Sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We used to eat at the Tang Dynasty regularly because it's around the corner from our house. The Chinese food is really okay, but three times after eating Sushi here I had a bad night, so I wouldn't recommend that. That's why I gave it 3 stars only.
The service is great and there is a pretty cool play room for kids.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang Dynastie also viewed

Almere, Flevoland Province
Almere, Flevoland Province
 
Almere, Flevoland Province
Almere, Flevoland Province
 

Been to Tang Dynastie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynastie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.