We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Payal

Payal
Deventerpad 10 1324 MK Almere, 1324 Mk Almere Almere, The Netherlands
036-5330570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 79 Restaurants in Almere
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Groningen
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pretty good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I consider myself a bit of an expert when it comes to Indian restaurants and know a thing about well prepared food, service, value for money and atmosphere. A good first impression when walking in - wonderful aroma, comfortable seating and pleasant Indian background muzak. The menu was extensive but there were no side dishes as such, just smaller versions of main dishes. However €9 a shot for a side dish is pretty extortionate. The Fish Tikka was off the menu, (permanently by the way). A pity, because, to quote the waiter, it was "the best thing on the menu..." . We therefore ordered Fish Jelfrezi, Aubegine curry and Lamb Korma with naan, roti and rice. Needless to say with no side dishes... Soon after ordering the pappadums with the standard dips arrived. Shame all were obviously from a packet. All main courses had a good flavour and pleasantly spicy and the fish and meat tender. The naan and roti were traditional and not out of a packet. The side salad was crisp and refreshing. Indian beer on offer: Kingfisher or Cobra. The service was average, the waiter somewhat distant and was rather slow in offering and refilling drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a Saturday night; it smelled like wet dogs and only three tables were occupied. Regardless, it took 25 minutes for our appetizers to show up.
Stay away from the Vindaloo: it's excruciatingly hot even though we can handle hot and spicy food. At the end of the dinner, the waiter dropped the whole box with breath fresheners all over my cousin: no apology whatsoever...
There are plenty of decent Indian restaurants in Almere, this is not one of them...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decent Indian food with a nice decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

During this visit to Holland got a chance to stay in Almere hotel. On the advice of the staff visited this Indian restaurant. A decent indian restaurant with a nice decor and friendly service. The vegetarian thali was a very good combination of Indian dishes. The nan with garlic paste was also fantastic. I would go again if one more time in Almere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had very nice evening at this restaurant on a Saturday evening. The food is very authentic and the service is friendly. The location must be very cool in the summer months. We will come back definitely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Super atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This restaurant was suggested by the staff of appolo hotel in almere. I have frequented this place regularly for a week and loved the ambiance, food and the service. Being frequent traveller I am well versed with a lot of kitchens and Indian kitchen is also one of them. Food with Payal is compared to food served in Delhi. For the rest there is a very little choice in this city for good restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Payal also viewed

Almere, Flevoland Province
Almere, Flevoland Province
 
Almere, Flevoland Province
Almere, Flevoland Province
 

Been to Payal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Payal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.