We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhills Holiday Park

Greenhills Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenhills Holiday Park
Save
You added Greenhills Holiday Park to your Saves list
Crow Hill Lane | Ashford In The Water, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1PX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

First time out in camper van or "motorhome!" We had a really good couple of days here. The facilities at the site were great. Lots of hot water in the showers. Small shop selling essentials and a nice little bar. Very friendly people and we loved taking our little dog. Would recommend

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

A nice small campsite for the Derbyshire Dales/Peak District. Ideal for Bakewell and Buxton. Showers excellent and clean, pitches a good size. Prices very good value for money. Our only issue is the shop that does not open until 9:00 which seems a little strange and also the freezer for our ice packs which kept getting stolen. However an excellent find and will come back again

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Good clean camping . Quiet location, excellent staff, close to bakewell centre. Quite hilly camping but can be located on plenty of flattish planes. Washrooms well stocked and clean , shower was a little chilly ;))x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Very clean with friendly staff, slight gradient on the pitches but apart from that perfect. The toilets and shower facilities are spotless and the shop stocks the basics at reasonable prices. Dog friendly with a large dog walking area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Anyone who is a seasoned camper cannot fail to fall in love with this site. Just outside Bakewell in Derbyshire. The facilities are excellent. Never in all my tours of the Lakes have I encountered a campsite that offers free hot water in the showers-as much as you want, hairdryer, a freezer for your cool box thingys, a drying room, a row of proper sinks for your washing up, a pub, a shop, a play park for kids. The list goes on. There are three camping fields and I recommend you book over the phone before you go. The grass is lovely and soft so good for sleep and the landscaped trees are still young so no roots to contend with. The real gems of this site are the staff. They are so lovely. They really go the extra mile to make your stay fab. They are lovely with the kids and although we were a couple of 41 and 50. We were not bothered by noise from the many families that were on the packed site. Although the staff did say it can get noisy. We were there with families and two school mini buses of kids and everyone was fine. They tend to direct the younger ones to the other fields so we had a lovely relaxing stay. It was amusing to hear the complaints of one lady who kicked off because there was no electric hook up for her tent?? REALLY!! and the woman who complained about there being too much hot water?? and didn't see why she should partly raise her arm to push the button in (showers are like the ones in swimming pools) for more free hot water. I add these purely so that you realize that any complaints about this site are from people who really should not be allowed out as they have no idea how camping and the great outdoors work. I can't praise this site or the people who run it highly enough. We stayed for 3 nights over L'Eroica weekend in June 2014 with a 4 man pop up tent in the lower field. You can also park your car next to your tent. It was fab. Thanks to you all once again best campsite I have been on in years. Mrs Jane Scaife from York UK.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed at Greenhills this weekend. Good service from reception, site clean and well organised.Our main problem was the noise. Inconsiderate campers behind us yawping and swearing until the early hours. Adjacent to our field were hundreds of D of E students. They we're all very well behaved and a credit to their schools, however they generated a lot of traffic, both cars and mini buses passing us until late evening and restarted early in the morning.

Room Tip: Perfect for campers who like a lively site and can sleep despite noise. Not for those seeking peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

perfect amenities lovely little 'center' as i called it with the shop reception and bar and out side area where you can sit in the sun and drink a beer! 15 minute walk in to the center avoid getting taxis until your due to go home but bit of advice no major firms around there so book in advance! good curfew in place the odd few stay up understandable there on holiday you cant stop them having fun, yes kids scream and cry you can't stop that i don't have children how ever they have to enjoy there holiday too! but electric hook up was fab, just love this place booking again this summer! brillant staff go the extra mile, and the showers and toilets brilliant cleanliness they really care about the guests!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenhills Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Holiday Park

Address: Crow Hill Lane | Ashford In The Water, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ashford-in-the-Water
Number of rooms: 170
Also Known As:
Greenhills Holiday Park Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhills Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.