We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and Last Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhills Holiday Park

Greenhills Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenhills Holiday Park
Save
You added Greenhills Holiday Park to your Saves list
Crow Hill Lane | Ashford In The Water, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1PX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First and Last Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A last minute decision to getaway for the BH weekend led us to choose Greenhills Holiday Park - their website was informative and had the same set of rules as other campsites we had stayed at so this gave us confidence that it would be a lovely site where we could enjoy a few days.
A great location, we could access a lot of attractions with only a 20 min drive away, only part of the site is alongside the A6 so a lot of traffic noise.
On arrival, the site looked nice and well kept and the man on reception guided us to our pitch (Orchard View) - we were a little shocked by how close the tents were to each other (used to National Trust sites). The facilities at this point were clean but as the weekend went on it was clear that they struggled to maintain the cleanliness of the showers and toilets. The shop could do with being open a bit longer as it only opened twice a day and for a couple of hours each time.

The thing that spoilt it the most for us was the noise, if you're not used to camping on a large site, you haven't got children of a playing out age, you are considerate of other campers then this isn't the site for you. We had children running in between tents, screaming at each other once the sun went down (I did wonder where their parents were?!) We expected a bit of noise (we're not that harsh!) but once the 11pm 'no noise' came there was still loud talking going on. I mentioned it at reception the next morning but was told that no one else had mentioned it and they couldn't really police it. Why have a rule, if it isn't observed? Maybe most sites were like this, this weekend??

However, if you are a large family group, then there are plenty of things on site to occupy the kids.

No large sites for us in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed last weekend, as two families, we were put on pitches next to each other. Finding the site is easy, well signposted, great location and beautiful surroundings.
On arrival, the online refund was duly given, you just need to make sure you have a print out as they need this for their records. I was shown the pitch by a helpful chap, who explained everything about the site and the local area, we felt very welcome.
The facilities were well attended, bar and shop were well stocked and reasonably priced, although saying that, the cheapest bottle of white wine in the bar was £11 (to take out) - the shop didn't sell alcohol.
The pitches are pretty close together, and you can park your car in front of your tent, but I do agree with some of the other reviewers, you do feel quite packed in.
The first evening was a lovely clear night, and many were having bbqs and sitting out enjoying the evening. There were an awful lot of children, but, summer holidays - what do you expect? A little control perhaps, but some of the adults had worse behaviour!
To say it was loud and rowdy would be an understatement. We went to bed at about 11pm. At 12.30am, I rang the campsite Head Office to see if anyone could come and shut people up a bit! At 2.30am, they were still going....I was beside myself and finally drifted off. At 6.50am, no word of a lie they were back up, shouting, crying, screaming....
The family who were the worst offenders persistently had a dog who kept getting loose, running off, attacking other dogs, and so by the Saturday night I had enough and complained to the warden who did agree to do a walkabout about 10pm, but he didn't say anything to them. Thankfully it was raining that night, so they retreated into their tents and were much quieter than the night before and we all got some zzzzzzzzzz.
We loved the location and the site itself, and would be happy to return, just maybe outside of the main holidays.
Bakewell is lovely, and we visited The Bulls Head and The Ashford Arms, both of which were excellent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at Greenhills with my son and a bunch of friends for a long weekend.
The site, the facilities and the location are all great...
We took the dog and it was ideal...an enclosed dog walk and plenty of dog bins..
The only downside was that one night we were aloud to take the dog in the bar and the next night we weren't...
As the British weather is so unpredictable we had lovely sunshine and then torrential rain!!..So it would have been better had we been aloud to sit in and have a beer after a long trek around the peaks..
Apart from this we had a great time and booked an extra night...

All in all a great site....And will deffo be going there again!!

Room Tip: Very clean facilities and very close to Bakewell, Ashton, Monsel Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My first time camping and we originally booked to stay for 3 nights we got there and thought it looked quite cute and cosy, Told them we possibly may book another night (spoke to the manager) he looked and said it was fine if we did book it wouldn't be a problem would mean shifting a few other bookings in the future around.

Well we booked another night on not a problem no fuss.

Me and my partner are a young couple and yes there was kids on the site running around and being a little nosy but start of the summer holidays what do you expect? but they was not a problem everyone was friendly all of them stuck to the curfew.

Little shop was good reasonably priced had majority of things in there such as towels etc and toys for kids, all tho the opening hours were varied open early in a morning and a few hours on a evening, if you went to the shop and want a paper they order them the night before and collect them from down town so make sure your first night if you want a paper you order one when you arrive.

There was a cute little bar on site feels like a pub when you go in could not fault it i read some of the reviews on the site in regards to the price's, that day i went to a well known pub chain and ordered a round a drink for me and a drink for my partner it came to £6.40 i ordered the same round at the pub on site and it was £6.60 personally a 20 pence difference is nothing considering these days they could easily charge double as there is nothing around for a mile.

staff were helpful friendly the amenities such as showers always cleaned nothing wrong could not fault this campsite absolutely loved it! highly recommended and i tell everyone about it all the time! will be staying again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this campsite for 2 nights in late July, and perhaps this explains the noise, as there were lots of children. The showers and toilets and shop facilities were faultless, as was the lovely location, however, if you are wanting a quite camp site and not to be woken up by children at 6.30am in the morning, then this camp site may not be your cup of tea. It would be good to stay here during mid week term time. This camp site is geared for families with children, therefore, it would make a fab stay for a family with children. Also, the tent pitches were too close for comfort, we felt tightly packed with the surrounding campers, ok for some, but we thought it took away from the overall camping experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

An absolutely lovely campsite. We were a group of 2 families, so 4 adults and 4 children under 7. Big field with goals for ball games, 2 great little playgrounds, dog walking area, well-stocked shop. Showers and toilets cleaned regularly and even a free hairdryer. The 11pm quiet time curfew was pretty much followed by all our fellow campers, it does seem to be quite a quiet campsite. Make sure you take some cash though as the shop only takes cash and there are no cash machines on site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent last weekend at Greenhills and as first time campers i can say that this site exceeded all expectations! The pitch was perfect, very spacious with lovely scenery. There were nearby water taps located around the camp, a lovely little pub, shop and very clean toilets and showers with a hairdryer! There is a washing up area and a freezer for your ice packs so we had everything we needed! There are 2 parks for the kids, one for under 5's and one for under 12's that kept my daughter entertained along with a playing field for football, sports etc....The camp site was very quiet at night and i found everyone there very friendly. Bakewell is a short walk away and it a quaint little market town with lovely cafes and boutique shops and lots of nice pubs. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenhills Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Holiday Park

Address: Crow Hill Lane | Ashford In The Water, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ashford-in-the-Water
Number of rooms: 170
Also Known As:
Greenhills Holiday Park Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhills Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.