We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

East View Cottage

A charming and pretty, two double bedroomed cottage, dating back to the early 1800's.
A charming and pretty, two double bedroomed cottage, dating back to the early 1800's.
A charming and pretty, two double bedroomed cottage, dating back to the early 1800's.
A lovely sitting room full of great character.  Open fire and original exposed beams.
The kitchen is well equipped to a high standard to enhance the comforts of modern living.
Kitchen table comfortably seats four people
Cosy open fire to relax and keep warm around in the living room.
Ashford-in-the-Water
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
579Ann
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

31st Jan-3rdFeb this was our third visit to East view cottage and as usual we enjoyed every minute, after been out in the cold to come back to a open fire just bliss. Cannot praise this cosy little cottage enough we just love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review, and for your third visit to Eastview Cottage. It is always a pleasure to know guests enjoy the character and cosiness of the cottage, not forgetting the beautiful countryside outside. Hope you will be back soon. Best wishes Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Steve H
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage for exploring the Peak District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We spent 3 nights at this delightful well equipped cottage with our two Spaniels. We were very impressed with the quality of the refurbishment, the fire was made up ready to be lit which was very welcome after a long cold walk.
We would highly recommend this cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and so glad you made good use of the open fire. Your dogs must have loved it. Hope the cosy fire will draw you back again one day. Warmest wishes Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Dave M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We booked this cottage for a relaxing break for my birthday. Well situated for walks both long and short. The property is very well appointed. With the log fire roaring and a glass of wine it is ideal for relaxing. There are plenty of good pubs a short drive away or a little walk takes you to Litton where you will find The Red Lion nice food and a good selection of beers. Eating out isn't a problem with good food to be had in the various hostelries around. But if you would rather cook yourself that won't be a problem in they well equipt kitchen.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your birthday in the tranquillity of the cottage and surrounding area. Hope you will visit again sometime in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
mothy01
McLaren Vale, Australia
1 review
“wonderful cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A lovely cottage in fantastic setting. Great views from the kitchen and bedrooms. maintained to a very high standard, with super soft bed linen, comfortable beds and baths robes. Our second visit to East View. The Peak district has so much to offer, walking Monsel trail was certainly a highlight of our stay in Derbyshire

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: comfortable beds, quailty bed linen
Liked least: parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jgravells
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My husband, 5 month old son, mum and dad stayed here for a week. The cottage is easy to find and has off road parking (which is easy to park on once you've done it a couple of times). Its clean with extras you wouldn't expect. A fresh cake awaited us and there is bits and bobs you forget to bring eg: dish washer tablets, sugar etc. Its on the middle of nowhere which is quiet. There are plenty of flyers to let u plan your holiday. The Bulls head in Foolow is worth a visit! It was great for our baby and dogs.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2013
Thank you for your very quick response in writing the review about our beautiful cottage. We are so pleased you and your family can take away some memorable moments. Hope to see you again some time soon. Take care Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Julia C
Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic Peak District retreat in a rural environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Easy to find this little cottage is gorgeous and Debbie keeps it to a very high stranded. The home made cake on arrival and the fresh cut flowers are a nice touch. The cottage is ideally situated for day trips to some of the Peak Districts most famous attractions.
The only down side is the lack of a local shop, but good prior planning can elevate this problem.
We would recommend this cottage to friends and family, and will be returning ourselves in the future.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2013
Thank you we are sincerely grateful for your lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to have guests like yourselves who appreciate this beautiful area and comfortable cottage. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
579Ann
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Second lovely weekend at East View Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is our second visit to this lovely little cosy cottage and it won't be our last we just love it. Lovely walks friendly pubs and many places to visit which are all nearby. Cannot recommend this cottage enough and Debbie's cake is so gorgeous I make sure I cut the cake that way I get the biggest piece. Thank you Debbie.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2013
Thank you Ann your review is much appreciated. We always try our very best to make everything as welcoming and special as possible. We would love to see you back again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$91
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Debbie M
44 01909 515506
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2009
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing