We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside House Hotel
Save
You added Riverside House Hotel to your Saves list
Fennel Street, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
matlock
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Been a regular visitor at the Riverside for many years.....but no more......a rude Polish woman just about welcomed us.....such a shame that most of the original staff have left.
All the atmosphere has disappeared.
Food was mediocre.......and the house wine was poor,with lumps of sediment in the glass.
Our complaints fell on deaf ears,so will let our feet do the talking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A half-price B&B deal through laterooms so very good value; very cosy small country-house atmosphere although one of our two standard double rooms was much better than the other and appeared to have been fairly recently refurbished but neither was bad and both had nice touches like free sherry, fruit and nuts as well as good coffee and fresh milk. Dinner was expensive but excellent although the fairly small menu was the same both nights and we ate very well at the larger of the two village pubs (Ashford Arms?) on the second evening. Certainly worth considering if you are looking for a quiet and comfortable country break with lots of nice places within easy reach.

Room Tip: Not all standard en suite rooms have baths
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our 2nd stay here, we were sorry to see that the previous Restaurant Manager had left, and has been replaced by the most awful "lady" imaginable. Kathyrn, I think her name was was very abrupt and quite rude upon our arrival. It seemed a little too much trouble for her to show us too our room, she "huffed and puffed" all the way there, we felt very put out but this.

The room, "mulberry" was as wonderful as we remembered it, full of the nice little surprised mentioned in previous reviews, fruit, nuts, tea's, FRESH COFFEE (not Nescafe!!) fresh milk and biscuits!.

Dinner, well what can I say, this would have been ruined by the aforementioned Kathryn, she had a limited knowledge of the actual menu and no knowledge about the wines we had chosen, very unprofessional! Luckily the night was saved from total disaster by Jo and the food, she was great, food was, as last time exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

What a lovely relaxing place this is. Made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was their most basic but it was still extremely good and the bathroom, with a huge claw foot bath was excellent. The view from our window was stunning, you could see the river and fields.
The room was warm and the facilities good.
The food was excellent
Well Done !!

Room Tip: we were in 'Fern' and although the view was supposed to be over the car park to the river/fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here to celebrate a birthday. It is a lovely hotel in a lovely part of England. The building is Georgian and quaint and characterful. It was great to sit in front of an open fire with a post-dinner single malt.

The garden room we had was spacious and comfortable, and well equipped. Nice extra touches like sherry, nuts, fresh milk, fresh coffee - and a decent Sony TV rather than a cheapo own-brand Matsui or some such. The bed was gigantic - plenty of room to stretch out. We had a really comfortable night and slept well. The shower ran hot immediately and it was powerful too. The room was quite hot - but we just turned the thermostat down to suit what we wanted. The sink in the bathroom is probably nearing the end of its useful life.

Dinner was excellent - three courses punctuated with complimentary tasters. The three variations of lamb main course were cooked to perfection. The raspberry ice cream is to die for. If wine is your thing there is a phone-book thick wine list. Breakfast was excellent - full English (Derbyshire style) set the day off to a good start.

The service was very good. The Receptionist was attentive and gave the impression she cared that we were enjoying our stay.

Will stay here again in the summer when we can sit outside and enjoy a drink by the river and the gardens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a relaxing overnight stay here on a quiet winter evening. We got a warm welcome on arrival and were shown to our rooms. There was a good choice of tea and coffee in the room along with fresh milk and a small decanter of sherry. The room was warm and comfortable, although the view to the rear of the hotel was nothing special. It was extremely peaceful and I slept well.

The three course set dinner was quite an adventure with an extra three small courses (samosas with our drinks, amuse bouche of smoked duck and finally a pre-dessert!). The main desserts were exceptionally good, alas we had no room left to sample the cheese. The wine list seemed to have a good selection of wines by the glass at fair prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at the Riverside on Saturday 24th November for one night this being our 3rd stay since July. As usual we were greeted warmly and shown to our room which was the Kingfisher Suite. The room was beautiful and stunning attention the detail with a large well appointed bathroom.

We had booked dinner for 7.45pm but came down early for pre dinner drinks and lovely canapes. Dinner was great, beautifully presented and service second to none.

Breakfast was just as good and all freshly prepared.

This hotel is run by superb staff and their professionalism shows throughout the hotel.

Cannot wait for our 4th stay which we have already booked for February 2013

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Address: Fennel Street, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Bakewell
Riverside House Hotel Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.