We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with some good points” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside House Hotel
Save
You added Riverside House Hotel to your Saves list
Fennel Street, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with some good points”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel, situated on the banks of the river (hence the name) was nice and quiet; and would have been very peaceful if you could not hear the traffic noise of the A6 when the french windows were open. The restaurant food was excellent but be prepared for a fairly intimate experience - the dining room is small and very hushed! Well decorated and comfy lounge, nice small, quirky bar. One or two staff particularly friendly. Feels expensive when compared with four and five star hotels in terms of the standard of room and facilities. Ashford itself is very pretty with a traditional pub, The Bull's Head, serving good food and within a five minute stroll.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main A6 - you can hear traffic noise when french doors are open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was a 3rd trip to the Peak District with friends! We thought we would give Riverside House a try. Glad we did we had the 'Mulberry' room, very beauitfully decorated,stunning bathroom too. We loved all the little extra's in the room too, very sweet. We found all the rooms both public and our own to be very clean and tidy.

The staff were lovely too, thought they do seem to do very long shifts! But they always had a smile for us and couldn't do enough for us, especially helping with the luggage!

Food was well cooked and presented too, we call this proper robust cooking, nothing too fancy, no 'airs' or 'gels' or 'foams' on VERY SINGLE Dish as seems the way in most 'good' restaurants these days. Portions were a good size, especially breakfast, not much room left after that!

We have stayed at a few other places in the Peaks, and we love The Riverside the most!, the others we have stayed at have been a little un-welcoming to say the least. We shall be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This is an old building and the public areas have been done very well, and are very in keeping with the building. However all other areas of the hotel need modernizing. At £250 per night I expect a few modern amenities available such as complimentary wi fi throughout, CD players and DVD players, not necessarily in every room but at least available on request. The food is also out of date for a two rosette restaurant, although the chef is obviously a good cook, you pretty much get just what it says on the menu with no elaboration or creativity as you would expect in a £40 a head menu with just a few tiny tasters of nothing special thrown in between the courses that seem more of an inconveniance to the chef rather than a chance to show off as I think they should be. The young staff on duty were very pleseant, although were very undertrained, however the manager was very very overbearing butting in on any guest conversation that she could offer an opinion on. Including quite a personal one we were having about our up coming wedding (the managers engaged if you didn't know, after thirty seconds we knew all about it without asking). The rooms were basically clean with nice quality clean sheets and towels, but was not great if you looked closer and every carpet in the place seamed to need cleaning and I think the garden used to be lovely but have possibly been a bit neglected in recent years.
Overall this could be a great hotel if the owners looked at what is currently going on in the luxury small hotel market and made some changes.
Sorry to go on but once I started I couldn't stop.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

this hotel was filthy and the tv was thick dust and i found a manky apple under the bedside cabinet. the reception staff were rude and ignorant! the only good thing about the hotel was the veiw. i wouldnt bother going here again overall i didnt enjoy the trip it was over priced filthy and the staff were awful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Delightful location on the river, Ashford in the Water is a quaint little village between Bakewell and Buxton on the A6, main cross Pennine road.
Rooms were clean, breakfast was nice, service friendly.
Chatsworth House, Monsal Head and Blue John Caven are all close by.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

OK, before i start, i have to say the room was well furnished, bed comfy and location lovely.

we booked via laterooms for £100 the room, and having seen the standard tariff, i would have been disappointed to have paid the full rate. We stayed in Hawthorn, on the way back from a long weekend in the Dales at the White Swan in Middleham ( brilliant). Shown to our room, where we were directed to see fresh fruit ( it wasn't) milk in a flask ( smelled rather off to the pair of us) sherry ( that we don't drink) and chocolates ( very nice!) but it was clear the room, whilst having been cleaned by changes of bedlinen, etc, they'd missed replenishing teabags, fresh milk. the previous occupants ticket stubs to chatsworth on the windowledge or the half used shower gel bottle that had been returned to the vanity collection...I have a bug bear about dusty vents in the bathrooms, and this was a particularly filthy one.

I've never really understood when people put hotels are pretentious. and i have stayed in a lot of hotels, but this hotel runs the risk of becoming exactly that, overpriced and missing the touches that in fact people note about an exceptional hotel. I'd go back, as long as i got a cheaper rate, and if it hadn't been so late, and we were so tired, i would have gone and asked for an alternative room....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Satyed with them and were very upset by the poor service, dusty rooms and 2nd rate food, meat cooked to death and soggy veg! Best avoided, the are better cheaper and cleaner places.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Address: Fennel Street, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Bakewell
Riverside House Hotel Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.