We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Dairy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages

Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
Rowdale, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The Old Dairy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My Mum and I have just returned from a wonderful long weekend in the Old Dairy. Having found Trip Advisor to be somewhat unreliable in the past, I didn't read the reviews for Rowdale before booking. Having just read them, my advice would be to ignore the 2011 entries!
We found the cottage to be immaculately clean and very well equipped. (The bathrooms and bedding looked brand new). The interior is attractively furnished having been converted to a high standard. Stone floors throughout - excellent for the dog!
Yes, there is a main road at the front but this is not so intrusive as to be unpleasant. We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival, having been allowed in an hour or so before the advertised time. Guest parking bays are right next to the cottages and regularly patrolled by one of the resident geese! Location is perfect, with footpaths/Monsal Trail on the doorstep.
Local pubs are extremely dog friendly, welcoming and reasonably priced.
I have only marked sleep quality as average because the mattress wasn't to my personal taste, not really a criticism.
We would certainly recommend the property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just had the best weekend ever staying in Dale Cottage. Very spacious and so clean. The owner Steven was very welcoming and took time to show us around the property and even prepared the wood burner for us. As soon as we entered you just felt at home straight away. The cottage has been furnished to a very high standard and the gardens to the front and back are beautiful. The Monsal trail is so close by and we had a lovely walk into Bakewell. I could not fault anything with our stay. The only downside was that we did not stay long enough. I cannot wait to return next year when we will be staying for longer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just back from a glorious week in the Old Dairy. Wonderfully equipped, tastefully renovated and extremely comfortable; glorious walks from the cottage door and endless other things to do in the area. Owners couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. Will be heading back there very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Just stayed at Byre Cottage for 2 nights, 2 adults and 1 dog. Good size cottage for 2, everything was clean and working. We bought washing up liquid and sponges with us but the dishwaher had tablets so used that. Watched a dvd on the tv. Had the log burner going even though it wasn't very cold (we don't have a fire at home so was a novelty) Dog enjoyed the wildlife! Met the owner on the first day, friendly and told us to get him on his mobile if we needed anything, which suited us as we didn't really want to be bothered by anyone anyway. Lovely pubs allowing the dog in but not really walking distance at night in the dark. Road outside didn't bother us as we live in a town and it wasn't busy that weekend.
'check in' is late at 4.30pm but we arrived and intended to ask for directions and the cottage was ready so we went in early.

Not the most amazing trip but it's fairly priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed in the 3 bed "Dale Cottage" with our son, his wife and 2 children. First impressions were great but things quickly went downhill. On arrival (after dark) we contacted the owner to ask if we could temporarily park car close to cottage to unload. The reply was "it says on the website that there is a walk to the cottages". This was particularly difficult for our son and his family as they arrived at 11.30pm with 2 sleeping children.

Positives about Dale Cottage:
Perfect location for access to Monsal Trail and making the most of the beautiful Peak District.
Large rooms, nicely furnished.
Excellent showers

Negatives about Dale Cottage:
-No control over heating and water. Owner originally told us that heating was on 24 hours and would be thermostatically controlled, and that we could adjust radiator valves if we were too hot. However the radiators did not come on until 08.30 am which meant that it was cold when we got up. We had to ask for the timing to be changed.
-House poorly equipped. Job lot of 4 saucepans but only 2 lids. No cheese grater. Broken scissors. Filthy cooker with a broken knob. The only cleaning equipment was a dustpan and brush.
-We had to take our own towels, tea towels and dish cloths.
-There is limited outside space where the children could play.
-We did not feel welcome. When we had to phone the emergency number on a Sunday evening because we had no hot water, we were made to feel that we were a nuisance. There were lots of locked cupboards and doors many of which had PRIVATE on them.

Things that would improve the experience:
-A welcome pack of a few tea bags, sachets of coffee, sugar, salt and pepper etc.
-The owner should show more concern for the well being of the guests and make himself more accessible.
-Make one of the bedrooms twin bedded instead of 3 double bedrooms. This would accommodate families with children better.
--Improve the standard of kitchen equipment, particularly the cooker.
-Supply towels etc.
-Have a few books/DVDs for guests' use
-Allow cars to be unloaded closer to the cottages. As well as making it easier for guests, it would save them disturbing other guests as they tramp backwards and forwards along the gravel path. It is also very dark in the car park and dangerous under foot.

To sum up, this house could be great, but it needs somebody running it who knows about customer service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Although in a good location with direct access to the Monsal Trail the busy A6020 at the front was very close and noisy with a lot of heavy traffic including HGVs. The cottage itself was basic though unfortunately cleanliness and maintenance were lacking. On arrival (late booking in time of 4.30pm) and after going out for a meal we returned to find that four light bulbs were out. The remaining bulbs were very dim so it was impossible to read a book comfortably. The very old tiny square screened portable tv was tuned to BBC yorkshire (not Derbyshire? great for weather forecast!) and had problems with the colour on the screen. No use to watch a DVD. There were no cleaning products for the bathroom or kitchen and the toilet brush was disgusting. The final straw for me was the soiled linen on the bed. If you like camping this accommodation would suit fine, if you like home comforts this is definately not the place for you.
There are some lovely places to visit in this area and we made sure we were out all day and exhausted when we returned. There are some great pubs nearby which made our holiday. Highly recommended are the Bulls Head in Ashford in the Water, the teashop in Ashford and top of our list The Crispin at Great Longstone. After a long walk in Lathkill Dale The George at Youlgreave was fantastic value and very enjoyable. Plus all these places welcomed dogs.
Everyone makes their own decisions but if I had known what I know now about Rowdale and the Peak District I would have definitely visited the Peak District but would have chosen different accommodation. Fortunately we were just on a short break. Had booked for four nights but left after three!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage for 3 nights at the end of May 2011. The location is good for touring the area and slightly longer tips too (we went to Alton Towers theme park for a day), Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall are only minutes away. The cottages are ideally placed for cycling on the Monsal trail, so bring your bikes.The kids loved all the animals that they saw here. As to the cottage - it has all the essentials but lacks certain finishing touches, like the curtains which don't close completely and are too short for the window. I was disappointed at the absence of the owners. They live at the property but did not come to see us or take any interest in other families that stayed at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Rowdale, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ashford-in-the-Water
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.