We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another delightful visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chy an Dour

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chy an Dour
Save
You added Chy an Dour to your Saves list
Vicarage Lane, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another delightful visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just returned home after our 6th visit to Chy-an-Dour. Truly delightful to visit a charming B & B in a beautiful Derbyshire village setting. Always a warm welcome from Ann and Stuart, a comfortable room and one of the finest breakfast you will ever get. We will be back.

Room Tip: The twin bedroom is most comfortable, the situation is quiet thus ensuring a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Congleton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The 12th was our 38th Wedding Anniversary and at short notice I looked for a break in Bakewell, to be honest hoping to find an hotel. However, as luck would have it, none I looked at had any room, so more in hope than certainty I booked in with Ann and Stuart Rowland at their B & B. The place was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The welcome was warm and the service without fault. The only downside was the size of the en-suite, with its washbasin in the bedroom, but adjacent. We were very happy here and glad that we had fallen on our feet, as obviously were the other couples who were here at the same time, all repeat customers. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, Herts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We received a very warm & friendly welcome, which continued for our 5 nights stay. Our room was very comfortable and a breakfast to set us up for the day. We will repeat this restful holiday again in the not too distant future. Allan.D.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I recently stayed overnight in Chy-an-Dour with my husband and four year old son. I can honestly say that I wish we had been able to stay for longer. The B&B was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and we received such a warm welcome. Ann was full of useful advise and local knowledge and she even gave our little boy some bread to feed the ducks. We will definitely be returning and would thoroughly recommend Chy-an-Dour.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We very much enjoyed our short stay in this wonderful village. Every comfort was provided in a very pleasant and welcoming demeanor. We will certainly return the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robe, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the Chy-an-Dour B&B in April, 2012.
I can truly say that it was excellent in all ways. There was a very warm welcome,
the room was warm and comfortable and very unusually there was adequate
lighting throughout the house and reading, for once, was easy and pleasurable.
The situation was delightful in a lovely village and in easy walking distance of the
very good pub meals. The hostess gave useful advice about local places of interest
of which there are many and how to drive to them.
The breakfasts, served in a room with a splendid view over the village,simply could
not have been better or more generous.
I would unhesitatingly recommend this B&B.

We would recommend rthis













































b7b

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

4th visit excellent bed and breakfast always a warm welcome excellent top quality breakfast
spotless and clean excellent decour nothing too much trouble
Situated in one of the most beautiful villages in peak district with excellent eating places within 5 minutes walk.
The b anb puts hotels to shame we will is there any wonder we return with such quality
at excellent prices

Room Tip: Rooms in bungalow the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chy an Dour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy an Dour

Address: Vicarage Lane, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Split Level bungalow situated in a quiet position over looking the picturesque village. Which is one mile from the monsal trail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chy An Dour Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chy an Dour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.