We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable high quality stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samuel Fox Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Samuel Fox Country Inn to your Saves list
Samuel Fox Country Inn
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Stretfield Road Stretfield S33 9JT, Bradwell, Peak District National Park S33 9JT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£99 plus wine
Ranked #1 of 5 Bradwell B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An affordable high quality stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 x nights on a KGB deal and it really was an amazing deal. We both enjoyed an exceptional 3 course meal including a reasonable bottle of C-S\Merlot, all in for £48.00. The following night we ate at a pub in Castleton, we had one drink each and 2 courses of very average food and coincidentally also paid £48.00. There was NO comparison between the 2 meals, our advice would be to eat at the Samuel Fox during your stay. The cooked breakfast was also superb, the best I have ever had.

There is a very strong focus on Customer Service at The S.F, unfussy but ensuring you had everything you needed from complimentary chocolates\sherry to the loan of a walking map.

We will definitely be staying there again, however we would ask for a room at the rear which is just our personal preference.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    18
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
121
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food by proprietor Chef James Duckett, great service, excellent position in Hope Valley, clean & comfortable room. Well worth visiting either for lunch or dinner.James has works in London Spain North Devon Sussex tremendous pedigree!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I decided to try the Samuel Fox having never visitied before. We shall certainly be back. There is a very nice ambience about the place, a relaxed atmosphere. I ordered the Iron Steak not really knowing what to expect (never heard of the cut before) and it was one of the best steaks of recent memory. Not an ounce of fat on it and there was no trace of it left on my plate at the end. I ordered it medium-rare and it was perfectly cooked with a pepper seasoning. Superb. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely inn for our wedding anniversary and it was gorgeous. James who runs the inn couldn't do enough for us. The room was excellent , hospitality second to none. Clean, friendly, lovely food. Not a bad word to say about it. Highly recommend to all my friends and family
Thank you for a great stay
Gilly and Jason :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My partner and i have just returned from one nights Bed and Breakfast stay at the Samuel Fox. We found the staff to be very polite and attentive, they arranged for flowers and champagne to be left for my partners birthday and the selections they made were excellent.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable with everything you need for a short stay. We stayed in room 1 which had excellent views.

We chose to eat at the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent, we were toying with the idea of venturing out to eat but i am very glad we didn't.

The hotel is a great base to explore the countryside with Hope and Castleton very near to Bradwell.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Samuel Fox Inn for our birthday celebrations. We had three nights bed, breakfast and evening meals and we cannot speak more highly of the friendly and accommodating service and the superb food.
When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the front of house staff, Gareth and Sabrina. Sabrina showed us to our room which was nicely decorated with good quality furnishings and bedding and quite a bit of storage space. There was a Sony flat screen TV. Waiting for us on the dressing table were some truffle chocolates, a decanter of sherry and some grapes. The sherry was replaced each day. There was also a kettle and tray with tea, coffee and nice biscuits. The bed was very comfortable with nice soft pillows and a firm mattress. The bathroom was bright and clean with a large shower.

Each night we had a three course meal. The meals were well presented and delicious. On two nights I had the cheese board which consisted of three local cheeses which were excellent.

The breakfasts were also very good, plentiful and there was a good choice. We both had the Full Derbyshire breakfast, tea, toast and jam and were completely satisfied and did not need to have any lunch.

Both Gareth and Sabrina went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our three night break. Gareth told us about all the local attractions and showed us on a map the local walks. He also provided us with flasks of tea and scones to eat on our walk. On the first morning we asked for decaffeinated tea for our breakfast. When we returned from our walk and went to our room we found that he had provided us with the same decaffeinated tea on our tray in the room. On our last night I had difficult deciding what to have for a starter. Gareth then arranged for me have to a small portion of one of the main dishes as a starter. Also James, the owner and chef, provided me with a birthday surprise of a large plate with “Happy Birthday” written in chocolate surrounded by truffle chocolates and small cakes.

All in all we had a superb time and felt that the small touches of service really enhanced our stay. We both felt that we were appreciated as customers and would recommend the Samuel Fox as an excellent place to dine and to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are larger than the ones at the back and have very good views. The rooms at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a wonderful find, the Samuel Fox, a luxury tastefully decorated Inn. We were welcomed by the chef/owner James and his friendly helpful and attentive staff who made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The bedroom was spacious and modern with fresh coffee, fruit and chocolates on the side. The highlight was the evening meal all freshly prepared with quality seasonal produce and reasonably priced. It was equally suitable for the hotel guest or for that special meal out. Not your normal pub food but fine dining. The Inn is in a great location near to Castleton and with excellent walks from the door ask Gareth he will point you in the right direction. All in all an excellent short break. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samuel Fox Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Fox Country Inn

Address: Stretfield Road Stretfield S33 9JT, Bradwell, Peak District National Park S33 9JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bradwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bradwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Samuel Fox Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samuel Fox Country Inn is situated in the pretty village of Bradwell in the heart of the Hope Valley in Derbyshire's peak District National park and offers breathtaking views from the bar and restaurant. The building underwent a full refurbishment in July 2008 and is modern and stylish while still managaing to retain its rustic charm. All of its rooms are delux double rooms with en-suite bathrooms; they have at least 26 inch flat screen televisions;internet access and coffee and tea facilities. In October 2012 the Inn was acquired by new manager and head chef, James Duckett in his first pub venture after an early career in the kitchens of fine dining restaurants in the UK, France, Netherlands and Australia and, more recently running his own restaurants in Devon and Andalucia. James is passionate about food and uses, wherever possible, good locally sourced, seasonal ingredients to create mouthwatering dishes, for his 'blackboard' bar snacks and a la carte lunch and dinner menus alike. With two AA rosettes, fine food is a special feature of the Samuel Fox. However, there's also a very warm welcome awaiting those wishing to just enjoy a drink in comfortable and convivial surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Samuel Fox Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samuel Fox Country Hotel Bradwell
Samuel Fox Country Inn Bradwell, Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samuel Fox Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.