We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and very different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Ridge

Save Saved
You added Stoney Ridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stoney Ridge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Granby Road | Hope Valley, Bradwell S33 9HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Bradwell B&B and Inns
Billericay Essex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely and very different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Very different due to the fact it has a large swimming pool!. Just returned from a great stay, couldn't fault this place, great, and very clean room, great breakfast, excellent hosts. Overall first class!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R00tsie, Owner at Stoney Ridge, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

great food,excellent hosts and comfortable rooms make this BB
a great base to see the peaks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R00tsie, Owner at Stoney Ridge, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your remarks, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this B&B last weekend and had a fantastic time! The Peak District really is a lovely place to visit, and Stoney Ridge was a great base to explore from. The room and ensuite both were comfortable, peaceful, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The lounge has a spectacular view of the countryside which we loved.

We had dinner at the nearby Samuel Fox Inn, which is highly recommended - absolutely amazing food! This is about 10 minutes or so walk from Stoney Ridge - but Richard kindly offered to pick us up after dinner so we didn't have to drive after a red wine or two - or walk up the steep hill home! In the end we felt a walk was needed to work off a bit of dinner, but it was a much appreciated gesture!

The breakfast was delicious - yoghurts, porridge, fruit salad, cereals, juice, fresh coffee and selection of teas... and that was all before the full cooked breakfast with crispy bacon and some truly excellent scrambled eggs!

My partner and I had just got engaged the day we checked in (which we declared proudly on arrival!), and we received a 'congratulations' card from Richard and Helen on the Sunday morning with breakfast - such a lovely thing to do!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R00tsie, Owner at Stoney Ridge, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We are so glad you enjoyed your special stay with us and hope you will both be very happy in your future life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

Great find at the end of a narrow lane overlooking the valley down into Bradwell. Good location for all local pubs and nearby main towns. Very clean and comfortable and the best scrambled eggs I've ever eaten! Brilliant weekend, July 2011.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

On arrival Richard and Helen made us feel very welcome with a pot of tea and biscuits on the veranda. The views from here are spectacular.

The rooms are very quaint and homely. We loved all the ornaments arranged neatly in a bookcase. (my mum would've had a field day identifying the makes on the underside of each ornament ie Wedgewood, Lladro etc) There was tea and coffee making facilities and as a bonus there was a selection of biscuits and bolied sweets which were replenished daily. The beds were very comfortable and the overall standard of cleanliness was excellent.
The breakfast, which was available between 8.30 and 9am, was fantastic. A large selection of cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juices, yoghurts, jams, marmalades, brown and white toast, tea and coffee and the fantastic Full English Breakfast comprising of eggs, bacon,sausage, mushrooms, pan fried potatoes and grilled fresh tomato. A fantastic way to start the day!!

There are plenty of pubs within a short drive in the surrounding area and over the four days we were there we had pub grub twice, chinese, indian and McD's on a day trip to Sheffield.

On one particular day at 5am we were woken up by, not a cockrel, but a faulty smoke alarm. The noise went right through you and woke the whole place up. The sight of Richard frantically running from room to room trying to stop them bleeping with a broom handle gave us all a chuckle. They eventually timed out and we went back to sleep only for it all to start again at 7am. This time the offending alarm was removed from its holder. Throughout the whole incident Richard and Helen couldn't apologise enough and an angineer was called in the same day to rectify the problem. I'm happy to say that the remaining nights were alarm-free.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return in the near future.

Room Tip: Three of the rooms are ensuite but with curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R00tsie, Owner at Stoney Ridge, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind remarks. The smoke alarm that was faulty has now been replaced and peace reigns once again.
Actually 2 of the rooms have curtains between bedroom and bathroom, we have already got a joiner ready to replace with doors before the end of the year.
Thanks again it was nice to meet you both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

having recently spent a nice Easter break at Stoney ridge I would like to say this was amongst the best B and B s I have stayed in, Set in the stunningly beautiful peak district the bungalow commands fantastic views over the open countryside and is only a short walk from the village of Bradwell which has three pubs,one of which serves great food.
On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and the breakfasts were delicous with the free range eggs from the chickens that roam the gardens.It was especially nice to have an indoor heated swimming pool which we made full use of.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a most wondeful holiday with our friends to the Peak District in Derbyshire.
I can honestly say that Stoney Ridge at Bradwell is one of the finest Bed & Breakfast stays we have ever had. The facilities were excellent and the breakfasts are to die for!! The swimming pool and the large lounge are a great bonus. A swim before breakfast is a good way to start the day. Richard and Helen are fabulous hosts and we will certainly be returning there .
Peter & Bery Mansell (Surrey)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stoney Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Ridge

Address: Granby Road | Hope Valley, Bradwell S33 9HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Bradwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bradwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoney Ridge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Stoney Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Ridge Bradwell, Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.