We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection - end of!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Losehill House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Losehill House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lose Hill Lane, | Edale Road, Hope Valley, Derbyshire, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Spa Treatments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Certificate of Excellence 2014
eastbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfection - end of!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We are fussy travellers. The staff (without exception) were superb as were the Spa treatments, the rooms, the facilities, the location, the ambience and the restaurant was splendid. We have eaten in some very nice restaurants but the food and wine choices were second to none.
Perfection - end of - would not change a thing. Please keep it up!!!
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    186
    45
    25
    14
See reviews for
107
442
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed the weekend for my daughter's wedding here. The restaurant staff and manager went out of their way to be helpful, cheery and polite, even working a 23 hour shift on the wedding day! And still smiling, going well beyond the call of duty to really look after people. Unbelievable but true! The beds were supremely comfortable, and the view from most bedrooms was truly beautiful. As for the food - everything was top quality, bursting with flavour and well-presented, even for the wedding, where so many people were to be served.
Having also visited the hotel before the wedding, I saw it as a peaceful retreat in a very quiet and beautiful area, with good walks, where guests may pad around in towelling robes drinking fresh orange juice and being pampered in a welcoming and very relaxed atmosphere. Staff make you feel valued and cared for without being overly intrusive.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I booked this hotel as a weekend treat for myself and my partner at the last minute and was not disappointed. The hotel is beautifully located in the heart of the peaks and the views from it are outstanding. It is a haven of peace and calm. Check in to the hotel was swift and efficient and reception staff were friendly and informative. The public areas of the hotel are well kept and tastefully decorated. We ate breakfast twice and a meal in the evening twice and all the food we had was delicious, well cooked and clearly made from high quality ingredients. I cannot comment on the spa facilities as we didn't make use of them but others seemed to be enjoying the pool. The staff we dealt with all had good customer care skills striking the right balance between interest and professionalism. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would have given it the highest rating except for a few small niggles. Parking at the hotel was a problem for us as we came back twice to find no room in the car park and had to leave our vehicle rather precariously parked on the very narrow lane. Also the decor in the room in which we stayed was in need of touching up here and there. However, overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thank the team for their service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend, especially the comments about the restaurant. You will have noticed that we are increasing the number of car parking spaces to cater for our day spa and lunch visitors along with our residents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We had our wedding reception at Losehill House Hotel and Spa on Easter Monday. I can't speak highly enough of the hotel and it's staff.

Jules - the Wedding Co-ordinator - was friendly, effiecient and very helpful from the moment we went to view the property, throughout the whole planning process and up to the day itself. Paul the Ownder was equally helpful and friendly, and, in Jules' absence on the day made sure the whole thing went off without a hitch. Anyone wanting to get married in the Peak District can't do better than Losehill House.

The location is stunning, the hotel building and grounds are beautiful, and the staff are great. My family, some my friends and I all stayed the night before the wedding. The food was as excellent then as it was on the wedding day. I know I'm probably a little biased, but it was the best food I've had at a wedding ever. I was delighted that the wedding breakfast was the same high standard as the a la carte food the evening before. All credit to the chef and his staff. It can't be an easy feat to pull off. Especially as we had a few of our 80 guests specifically wanting their lamb well done. The waiting staff were also great on both occasions.

In addition, both the Receptionists that I met were very helpful and friendly. And a special thank you to Rob who kept the Residence Bar open until we were ready to call it a night.

Thank You,

David & Claire

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Thank-you - Im so pleased that you enjoyed your special day - its great for the team to receive such possitive feedback.

We all really enjoy hosting exclusive weddings whereby the hotel is taken over by the wedding party - its great fun and creates a perfect house party setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

The staff were very helpful and obliging. Our room (a King room) was clean, well appointed and had a very impressive bathroom. The hotel couldn't be better situated for walkers, between Win and Lose hills, and near the River Noe.

The food was excellent and if you opt for the Derbyshire breakfast you'll need to go up one of the hills to work off a few calories.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would be happy to repeat the experience when we have another birthday to celebrate.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Booked family suite for 40th birthday with my husband and two young children. We loved our stay here, staff were helpful, knowledgeable about things to do in local area, professional and pleasant especially Rob the duty manager.

The food was excellent a different locally sourced menu every night and the breakfast menu had a great selection, we loved the oatcakes and the freshly squeezed orange juice.

The guest rooms and all public areas had stunning views of the high peaks. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Games, magazines and books in lounge were a nice personal touch. Eveerywhere was quite peaceful despite being fully booked.

Pool was perfect size for swim and peaceful. We also enjoyed hot tub and sauna.

Beds were super king and comfortable rooms clean and family suite really spacious we had a living room, and two bedrooms all had stunning views.

Would and have recommended both hotel and restaurant to family and friends and would like to return for future stay.

Would have given 5 stars only downside was had booked family suite expecting own access as advertised on website which would have been great with kids as one is baby and needs pram, but on arrival found that Mews 4 is situated in hotel itself needed both lift and then stairs to access, and has a bathroom with stairs leading down to it not great for small kids be fine for older family, so would check in advance infuture. Tv/DVD/video a bit tired think these days and could do with upgrade to a flat screen as this is what is expected as they are in the other rooms and families deserve them too. Otherwise everything was just perfect and would like to say thanks to the hardworking staff for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Thank-you for the positive feedback and the constructive comments - all of our rooms are unique so it is difficult to reflect each one individually on the website. So you offer good advice to ask reception- we are more than happy to give full details on the rooms especially the family suites which are more like apartments in size and all very different.
The nudge on the TV was timely as we have our final couple of new flat screens arriving in the next few days to complete the set!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

My Girlfriend and i booked a weekend staying here. On arrival the check-in was first class and nothing was too much trouble. The Hotel itself was well presented, clean and you would not think its only a 3 star hotel.
The room we booked was the Edale Suite, Although it was £250 a night i thought it was well worth the money, the bathroom was simply excellent and the decor, living space and bedroom were first class.
The next morning my Girlfriend did not feel too well, although she was not well on the travel up to the hotel we thought it would pass. Breakfast was brought to the room for her and they even went back to fetch her some more toast! Thankyou Rob!.
In the late afternoon on the second day we decided to cut the trip short due to my partner not being well. As i went to check out to my suprise i was only charged for one nights stay. If this was a chain hotel i would of been charged for the full stay. It's service and understanding like this that makes a visit/stay here a must. Nothing is too much trouble and a lesson to other hotel owners on how to run a decent hotel. I shall be re-booking as soon as i have a clear weekend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
We really appreciate your kind comments and very much look forward to welcoming you both back to Losehill House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Losehill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Losehill House Hotel & Spa

Address: Lose Hill Lane, | Edale Road, Hope Valley, Derbyshire, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Losehill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest Hotel & Spa in the Peak District National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and T4B so you can book your Losehill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losehill House Hotel And Spa
Losehill House Hotel Hope
Losehill Hotel Hope
Losehill House Hotel & Spa Hope, Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Losehill House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.