We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not family friendly - good food but terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Poachers Arms

The Poachers Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poachers Arms
Save
You added The Poachers Arms to your Saves list
95 Castleton Rd, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hope B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not family friendly - good food but terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010 via mobile

Despite phoning ahead and booking for 4 and a child , we arrived to find ourselves under pressure to order before 19.15! As restaurant was closing- according to the owner , season was over and they had had a great year! Anyway, clearly didn't need the business as were not in the least bit interested in accomodating 4 weary hikers - anyway we were asked to leave for baby running round reception!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    24
    3
    3
    8
See reviews for
19
61
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Have just enjoyed a second stay at The Poachers Arms in Hope. The room was very comfortable and prettily done out. We ate at the inn on both nights we stayed and the food was extremely tasty; the portions are very generous so make sure you've worked up an appetite!
The hosts are really nice and friendly, a stay here certainly won't disappoint.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We travelled to the Peak District for the first time this week. We toured as 2 couples on motorbikes staying at the Poacher's Arms. I can highly recommend this excellent pub accommodation. The pub is ideally located for touring the Peaks whether walking, driving/riding or visiting the beautiful towns and villages. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming and all will go out of their way to recommend sights according to your needs. The rooms are clean, bright and decorated to a high standard and the bed was very comfortable. The food is delightful especially the fish and a fine array of beers, wines and speciality whiskies. The breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked with local ingredients, I especially enjoyed the oat cakes. Thanks for your hospitality, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at The Poachers Arms for two nights, our first visit to the Peak District and it certainly won't be our last. The decoration in both the public areas and bedrooms were very much to my taste and I would go as far as saying that the room we had was the nicest I have ever slept in. We ate out on the first night but stayed in on the second and the meal was first class, a delicious and very tasty pasta dish with a wonderful bakewell tart for dessert that I would have happily had for breakfast too ! The menu was very good and I am sure everyone would find something to suit them. Husband was a little shocked when we got home and he looked at the final bill (this was about 2 weeks later !!) My small glass of rose wine was £5.50 !! Good job I'm a lightweight !
Can recommend if you like peace and quiet, access to good walking country, delicious food and friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

The Poachers Arms is a twenty drive from our house but I wanted to suprise my partner for our anniversary. We went for one night and dined in the restaurant. We were greated by a young man who went through the check in with us, he was super friendly, polite but professional.
the place itself is somewhere I often drive past but hadnt thought to go in until a work collegue said they had been for a meal there and the steak and ale were legendary! so had to give it a go!
The rooms are delightfully decorated in tasteful style. There is plenty of room in them and we had a great nights sleep.
We dined in the resturant below which had a wide variety of food on the menu, most was home made and lovely.
Also helped that there was a great wine selection and draft ales
All in all a great place to go !
clean, value for money and family run! its a personal service which made our aniversary special, especially as i had mentioned this on the telephone and we had a special table set up for it! attention to detail was next to none! fantastic
The breakfast in the morning was also wonderful home made and filled us for the day! The chef knows his/her stuff! my partner is a poached egg expert but even she said they were cooked to perfection!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Enjoyed a 2 night short break at the Poachers Arms in Hope, just outside Castleton. The location was ideally suited for the High Peak & its many attractions. We enjoyed beautiful (even though rainy) walks in Edale & a scenic bike ride around the picturesque Derwent reservoir from Fairholmes, all within a few minutes car journey. The hospitality was unobtrusive & very friendly; the food was a gastronomic delight - especially the fish dishes; all being freshly sourced that morning from Grimsby. (Port to plate in 24hours)! The rooms were finished to a high standard, clean & very comfortable. The breakfast was hugh & kept us going almost all day. I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Just returned from a two night stay, staff were very friendly but professional. The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished and the beds are very comfortable. We could not fault the food, large portions and good value for money. We had a relaxing stay and found it a good location for exploring the Peak District. Would come back and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Poachers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poachers Arms

Address: 95 Castleton Rd, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Poachers Arms Hotel Hope
The Poachers Arms Hope, Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poachers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.