We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for lots of children...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Edale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YHA Edale
Save
You added YHA Edale to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Rowland Cote, Nether Booth, Edale, Peak District National Park S33 7ZH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good choice for lots of children...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We took our son here with a group of his 9 year old friends, for his birthday. The room we were given wasn't great, but the beautiful landscape, space for outside play, grassy hills to climb up and roll down made up for it. The games room is big and has table tennis, table football and connect4. The interior of the hostel is grubby and needs refreshing....but the staff were very helpful and friendly, even lighting the birthday candles for us and dimming the lights for "Happy Birthday".

Room Tip: Guess the rooms in the new wing are better than those in the old..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
4
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Cracking location 2km from edale train station and town in secluded area with great well marked trails and catering on site. Helpful staff and activities gallor for all ages. Good value and good amount of rooms on site.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to peak district during Easter as a couple. Booked in Edale hostel for one night as this is the only one available in this area. We did read the reviews before the trip so were a bit worried and didn't expect too much. But luckily it turned out to be a very pleasant stay! The staff were very welcoming and helpful, especially the young gentleman Jamie at the front desk who helped us a lot and made some excellent suggestions. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in one of the family rooms which is warm, comfy, quiet and very clean. The view outside the hostel is just spectacular and the location perfect for walking. Dinner was basic but well cooked and tasty. Breakfast had a good range of choices. We are quite pleased with the portion as were about to do lots of walking through the snow. Certainly good value for the price. The hostel also has a game room and a spacious lounge with comfy sofas. The only thing that bothers me a bit is that somehow both hot and cold tap gives hot water. Will definitely come back when visiting this area again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor at the end of the corridor are very comfy and clean. The toilet/bathroom t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here one night. I walked from the YHA at Eyam which was superb (quiet and clean) to the YHA at Edale which is a different kind of place altogether. It's an outdoor centre and is probably brilliant for youngsters. Plenty of space to let of steam and no frills.

It wasn't my cup of tea and I wouldn't stay there again as I found it very noisy with the big groups of kids (who were having an amazing time) and the tour organisers who were also young and very noisy, especially late at night sitting round chatting and laughing loudly while the rest of us were trying to sleep.

It's very basic but on the plus side it's very cheap to stay there and the food is excellent. Home cooked, big portions and very tasty. If you want somewhere full of life and activity you'd love it. But if you're looking for somewhere where you can sit and read quietly or have an unbroken night's sleep, it's probably not the place for you.

Room Tip: Doubt they have 'good' rooms. Mine was basic and functional (no lockers) but was warm and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Spent a week here as part of and activity week run by NCS, the staff here are great; incredibly friendly and helpful. They have a good selection of outward bounds type activities on site such as a high ropes course and a Jacob's ladder, and they take you via minibus to various activities such as abseiling, caving and kayaking. The food was reasonably good and plentiful throughout the week and the rooms are OK if a little basic, but this is a youth hostel not the Ritz after all. The only issue to mention was the showers, the shared male wash room only only has three, which can be quite limited if you have 20 people cold and wet after jumping in a canal after raft building, and groups larger than 25 or so would definitely struggle to get everyone washed in the mornings!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Lincs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just spent a night here with a group. When we approached the deputy manager Ann, she was extremely helpful, made some excellent suggestions and was able to arrange a good deal.
When we arrived, I found all staff to be very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble, they all went out of there way to make sure our visit was a huge success.
The food was basic, nothing exotic but was well cooked and tasty and good value. The rooms were basic, but again, were clean, comfortable and warm.
People have criticised the hostel, but I have not experienced the same as them, this is a youth hostel and not a hotel, so this needs to be taken into consideration. I found it great to have no mobile signal, I got peace and quiet when I wanted it.
I would be more than happy to return again and look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hostel was the worst place I have been too. The food was uncooked and bland and also made me ill. All the cutlery and plates were not even cleaned properly. The beds were only a few metres apart and were not clean. There was no staff in sight and the place was constantly noisy. There was also an awful smell.There was was no positives and i was glad to get out of there the next morning.

Room Tip: Dont choose a room, they are exremely cramped and dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Edale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Edale

Address: Rowland Cote, Nether Booth, Edale, Peak District National Park S33 7ZH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Edale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Edale
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Edale 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exciting activity breaks for everyone are on tap at this beautifully located hostel and activity centre on the lower slopes of Kinder Scout. Courses are available for all levels in climbing, abseiling, kayaking, canoeing, caving, orienteering, high ropes, hill walking and archery. Ideal for school trips and great for caving holidays, climbing holidays... in fact any kind of activity holiday! After a challenging day, relax, enjoy a meal and a drink and enjoy the fabulous views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
YHA Edale England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Edale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.