We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ollerbrook Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ollerbrook Cottages
Save
You added Ollerbrook Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Ollerbrook, Edale, Peak District National Park S33 7ZG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Wagtail really does offer 5-star accommodation. The owners have made amazing use of the space and supply everthing and more than you need (the generous welcome basket included beautiful white roses!). The cottage was spotlessly clean and the linen and crockery etc were all beautiful. It was lovely to have a private garden and even though we don't usually go back to the same place we're very tempted to return.
We've stayed in over 30 holiday cottages in the UK and Wagtail really was one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
It was lovely to see you again recently for an entire week - and thank you for your kind comments. Hope the second week was as good as the first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed with our children (9 and 3) and had a wonderful break in Plover Cottage. The location is quite remote and as mobile telephones didn't work it was comforting to know that the owners also live on site (although there is free wifi).

The cottage was presented in immaculate condition with a nice welcome tray of cake, tea, coffee, eggs and milk. There is lots of literature in the cottage and books previous guests have completed with tips and suggestions - to that I would add avoid the local pub (The Nags Head) for food. Although a nice pub with games and local beer, the food was expensive and poor quality; paying £9 for a burger and chips you would expect more than a Birds Eye burger; other local pubs are more worthy of your custom! Plenty of lovely walks from the cottage front door. The whole family had a great time and we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. So glad that you enjoyed your visit. Since your visit we have been working on a secure play area for children. This is situated in our woodland garden and has a play house, with table, chairs and a tea set. More items planned as the good weather improves, but we have lots of new games for children to use in our large field.

Guests can also order breakfast packs to be in the cottage on arrival (see our website for more details), and Ocado and Tesco deliveries can be ordered online, so no need to worry about shopping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celle, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

A fantastic hiking trip to the Peaks, the icing on the cake was Curlew cottage. A perfect romantic getaway, great location, felt like I was at home the whole time. Neither of us wanted to leave. The homemade banana cake waiting for us on arrival was a nice touch, nd disappeared very quickly after the long drive.

Thanks Paula.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. Edale is indeed a stunning location for walkers or simply for those wishing to get away from it all and do nothing but read by the fire or in our garden. Glad you liked the cake, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Stayed in the cottage on B+B basis. Absolutely stunning, a charming very romantic cottage ideal for a romantic break. We both loved it, the facilities in the cottage where exactly what we needed, no fuss but enough to ensure a perfect break. The short five mins walk to the Nags Head (always seemed much longer on the way back!) then a stroll up Grindsbrook or down to the Ramblers was just right for us both. We are both very fit but the whole stay exudes a romantic charm that made anything more than bimbling about totally unwarranted! The weather really isn't an issue here, the cottage brightens any dull rainy day and the short work into the village is worth getting a tad damp if needs be, before sitting in front of the open fire in the Nags. Each time we went out it was an absolute joy to look forward to getting back to the cottage and snuggling down on the sofa with a glass of champagne or enjoying the deepest most restful sleep imaginable in the very comfy bedroom. Brilliant cottage, very nice hosts and all in Edale...it doesnt get any better!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for a such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you! We no longer offer B&B in this cottage. It has been refurbished recently with a super new kitchen and living area, and the garden is more private - still a perfect romantic hideaway at any time of the year and set in an idyllic location.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I've stayed at Ollerbrook Cottages several times, but they've only just got a Tripadvisor listing. The location is picture-perfect, down a private lane and a short walk over a charming stone bridge from the nearest village. The cottages are furnished to a very standard, designed with style and the little homely touches that really make a difference.

Ideal for walkers and romantics, but children can have fun here too - and there are board games, puzzles and DVDs to make sure they don't get bored if it rains.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and all the lovely comments. It was lovely to see you again at Easter time. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Everytime I come here, I feel just as though I'm coming to a home away from home. Every need is catered for, the view is just stunning and the cottages are always clean. The owners couldn't be more helpful, whatever the problem, and there is so much to do around here, not just walking!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you and do so hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

This was our fourth visit to Ollerbrook Cottage! We always feel like we are coming home. The Cottage is beautifully decorated. The kitchen/dining area is light and bright and well equipt. There is a great area near the door for your boots and coats etc. The lounge is perfect! We love the open fire place, the comfy couches and the great stock of board games that we use when the weather is not so good. The bedrooms are pretty and comfy. The bathrooms are warm and nicely done, one has a bath and over bath shower, the other has a shower. Everything is kept clean and nicely maitained.

Paula and John are lovely. Paula always pops in after we are settled to make sure that everything is ok. We love the tea and coffee tray and especially the Tea loaf that was waiting for us this time. There were also eggs and milk in the fridge.

The area is spectacular. I think we could go for years and years and never do the same walk twice. We bought a little booklet with walks in the Edale area which is really good, with varying lengths of walks. However, there is a copy in the cottage along with loads of other maps and walk booklets and other leaflets for attractions in the area. Also a folder with sample menus for various pubs and eating places near by.

We really enjoy our relaxing times at Ollerbrook Cottages (we stay in Plover). Our sons will not let us book a holiday in Derbyshire if we can't go to Ollerbrook.

Thanks for our Home from Home Paula and John.

PS Hi to Max the dog!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJG1, Owner at Ollerbrook Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do indeed try to ensure that the cottages are homes from home or our guests with all the little necessities and luxuries that go to make a perfect holiday. I agree, the area is stunning and you could walk and walk every day and see something different.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ollerbrook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ollerbrook Cottages

Address: Ollerbrook, Edale, Peak District National Park S33 7ZG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Edale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Edale
Hotel Class:4 star — Ollerbrook Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have three luxury self-catering holiday cottages set in the heart of the stunning Edale Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ollerbrook Cottages Edale, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ollerbrook Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.