We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was happy, I knew that.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellissimo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bellissimo Resort to your Saves list
Bellissimo Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Ioannis Diakoftis 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“I was happy, I knew that.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I spent a week at the Bellissimo with my sister and could not have picked a better place for some much needed rest and relaxation. Our room was very spacious, light and airy. The beds were comfortable and the room was cleaned daily, with fresh towels provided. We only needed to ask and an extra pillow appeared. Our room looked straight out onto the pool area which also had comfortable sun loungers and fresh towels. Parasols were avaliable for those who wanted to stay out of the sun and the staff were quite happy to deliver your drinks for you to enjoy around the pool.

The taverna was a relaxed and friendly place to eat and has a great view of the sea and Delos beyond. Breakfast is also served here and is buffet style, the highlight of which is the greek yogurt. There is plenty of choice on the lunch and dinner menu, all at reasonable prices. I particularly liked the salads. There is a large bar area as well, so you can spend plenty of time enjoying a drink or two both before and after dinner. They serve some lovely local white wines and are more than up for the challenge of making a cocktail. A speciality is something involving rum and peace juice. They also serve great coffee and a decent cup of tea!

There were plenty of other extras we enjoyed, including the free wifi, the lovely glass of wine when we arrived, the transfers to and from the airport and the huge bowl of sweets in reception!

Above all though is the quality of the team who run the hotel. I cannot speak highly enough about Theo and Michael and their wonderful staff who looked after us so well. They demanded and ensured we had plenty of fun as well as rest. The brothers enjoy a good chat with their guests and are more than capable of some friendly teasing when the occasion arises. They will always go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and special. There are very few places I would consider revisiting, since there are so many wonderful places to explore, but I am already looking to see if I can squeeze in another trip at the end of the season. Many many thanks to all.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
107
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I have previously reviewed the resort based on its restaurant, as I hadn't at the time had the pleasure to be an accommodation guest there.

This year I was welcomed by Theo, Michael and their family and staff. I stayed in a lovely room with a divine "traditional" stone shower (I want one at home!). My room was spacious, impeccably clean and right next to the pool as most rooms are.

Mornings provided a pleasant breakfast with many options for all: cold meats and cheese, Greek yoghurt, pain au chocolat, a selection of breads for toasting, boiled eggs, two varieties of cereal, orange juice, a selection of teas and coffee. Condiments at every table overlooking Agios Ioannis.

The restaurants Vasilikos and Bellissimo Pizzeria are fabulous. You've got the Mini Market to utilise as well on the site. A two minute walk from where the famous Shirley Valentine spent her time, not to mention the gorgeous Kapari about ten minutes away.

Regular buses for most of the summer.

A real gem. You won't get friendly service quite like this anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have just returned from our relaxing Greek holiday and if anyone is looking for the perfect place to stay in Mykonos then look no further. From being picked up personally at the airport by Michael to the service in the taverna by Theo and Pellagia we cannot fault every effort provided by the resort.

The accomodation is first class and looked after wonderfully well by Sophia, cleaned every day with new towels left for you as you return from a hard day at the beach or pool. The meals served within the taverna are first class, plenty of choice especially combined with the pizza and pasta menu.

Overall I would recommend a stay here for all the fantastic points mentioned and many more that you can discover yourself when you arrive. We would both like to thank Michael, Theo, Pellagia and Sophia for taking special care of us while on holiday and would have no hesitation in recommending or returning here again for another relaxing greek holiday.

Room Tip: We had room 122 with a balcony overlooking the pool and the bay, fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Michael, Theo, Spirios and mum, hey what can i say, you really go the extra mile! i have never bothered to write a review before, and believe me we have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world. but you guys deserve it. from the welcome, to the excellent food, to the great cheeky banter, its hard to recall staying anywhere overall as satisfying. the room was clean, with a great big balcony, and a view of the pool and the sea. the sunbeds were comfortable, and the pool was bloody freezing. sorry, i had to think of something, hey, it was the first week of the season. we booked b &b, thinking we would eat out a lot, but the food was so good that we only ate out once. the resort is very quiet, which suited us, but near enough to other resorts, and only 10 mins to airport. the hotel is situated 5 mins walk from the famous Shirley Valentine beach, which is is ok on the way down the hill, but not much fun on the way up. Mykonos is a lovely island and the locals seem very proud of it. all the businesses we came across were family run, ie hotel, restaurant, bars, car hire etc. Its quite reassuring when dealing with the young people, and then mum or dad pops their head round and checks everything is going ok. i wont bore you any more, but if you want a great hotel, on a lovely island, with good food and lots of smiley welcoming people, this is the place! ps see you soon guys

Room Tip: first floor sea view roomss are worth extra if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

we both had a realy great holiday Micheal and Theo the 2 brothers who run the hotel are so friendly from the time you arrive till you leave so are all the rest of the family
they go that extra mile to make sure your stay is a happy and enjoyable one if you dont see what you want on the menu you only have to ask and if they have it they will do it for you the rooms are cleaned every day with clean towels every day nothing is too much trouble for them if you need any thing they will go out of their way to get it for you they are never without a smile and they treat every one as if they have known you for ages
we will definatley go back and we would recommend it to any one who is wanting to stay in warm and happy hotel

Room Tip: all the rooms face the same way if you want a sea view have a room on the top floor but all rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay last October in this special hotel on a very special island.There are some very chic,swanky & expensive hotels in mykonos but I can honestly say having visited the island that we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.We all left the island feeling quite smug with ourselves,like we had discovered a hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me & my husband have stayed in Bellissimo Hotel in Sept.

If you are looking for friendly, homely & professional place to stay in Mykonos no need to look ny further. This hotel is run by two brothers (Michael & Theo). They took over from their parents who are not retired but still actively involve.

Hotel is about 15min by car from the airport and app 15min bus ride to Mykonos town.

Position of this hotel couldn’t be any better. Hotel is located in the most expensive part of the island. This part of the island is not a windy as the rest of Mykonos due to mountains which protect this area from strong blasts. There is a local shop which belong to the hotel where you can buy water & other bits.

Room- standard room are located on the ground floor and superior (with sea view) are on the first floor. They are basic but very clean and what you need. Shows are very powerful which is great especially if you ladies have got long hair. There is a small fridge in each room which come very handy.

Restaurant / Tavern - belongs to the hotel where your food will be prepared daily. Everything is fresh, all local produce and the most important all food taste great. There are two menus - one for HB basis and one for locals & tourists who would like to eat in the tavern. If you are getting bored with Set HB menu you can always pay a little extra and choose from standard menu. You must try fish from the grill- delicious!!

Another plus of being on HB is you can have either lunch or dinner just let Mike & Theo (brothers who run the business) know before hand.

B/fast is typical Greek, toast, hams, cheese, jams, some cakes, tea &coffee.

Beach - 5min walk down the hill. Lovely sandy beach with 2 restaurants which are open all day long. To hire 2 sun beds with umbrella will cost you €12 per day. This charge may change depending on the season. By paying for the sun beds you can use restaurant facilities such as toilets. Both restaurant are lovely – modern seaside feel through out. Sea water is not to warm but do get in as the water is very clean and jodyn in the water is perfect for your skin to replenish & dehydrate.

Mykonos Town - there is a bus which stops outside the hotel - direct link to Mykonos 15min ride and you there. it will cost you €1.60 per person. Busses run till very late for you can take time in town. There are many many shops in town. Few very nice boutiques and many restaurants & bars which will suit any tastes.

I would highly recommend AVRA restaurant in town. This place is set in home garden which is stunning. Food & service is excellent. Make sure you book beforehand as this place is mega busy or turn up before 7.30pm and they will have some tables as it’s quite early to eat in Greece so all locals will come later on.

There are 3 VIP on the island which you can’t miss. There are Pelicans who are being treated with special care. There are the icons of the island.

Island overall – great place to relax, fab sunsets , great food and great local people who are friendly and welcoming.

Huge thank you to Michael & Theo for their hospitality and friendly welcome. We love it so much we will already planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellissimo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellissimo Resort

Address: Agios Ioannis Diakoftis 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellissimo Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellissimo Resort is a newly – built holiday complex, a perfect sample of the traditional Cycladic architecture. Owned and run by people dedicated to provide genuine Greek hospitality, plus all the modern services that will make your holiday as relaxed and laid back as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Bellissimo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellissimo Hotel Agios Ioannis
Bellissimo Resort Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellissimo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.