We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day pass at Saint John.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 626, Agios Ioannis Diakoftis 84600, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Transfer & Breakfast
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Day pass at Saint John.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited Saint John Hotel on the day pass from our cruise ship Regal Princess. We had a wonderful day. The massage was amazing and all the staff we met were very professional, the drive down to the pool was fun! My only quibble was that there wasn't enough waiting staff on at breakfast we waited some time for a pot of tea and used plates to be removed etc.
Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Saint John hotel is a very good hotel, the services are very good and the people that attend the clients are very attentive and friendly. The only problem, very serious in my opinion, was that we did not find us in room upon arrival, when the reservation was made and paid in full. This is unacceptable for a hotel of this category !!!!

Room Tip: Confirmar la reserva llamando directamente al hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at St John, we loved the room, the Spa (my partner), the private beach and the facilities and we also love Mykonos and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves while here. A car is a must and not good for those who would have difficult with the steep hill climb between levels of the hotel and the pool and beach. Thanks St John for the room upgrade too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintJohnHotel, Manager at Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mark,

Thank you so much for taking the time to pen such a lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed a wonderful stay in Mykonos!
We are especially thrilled your partner took a trip to our tranquil Spa, we hope she received a relaxing treatment and that you both had a fantastic day soaking up the rays on the beach.
The room upgrade was our pleasure, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Here's the good news - the drivers and housekeepers were great and the rooms/pool area are very pretty.
Here's the bad news - 1>hotel is built on a steep cliff so if you have any walking issues you're in trouble; 2>beach is 30 steps straight down and very rocky; 3>property is located in a very isolated part of the island so there are no restaurants or stores within walking distance; 4>transportation is a huge problem as a)bus service is difficult, b)hotel doesn't have enough mini-vans, and c)they are unable to secure taxis for their guests; 4>concierges are not trained to know how to get their guests taxi services and repeatedly gave us wrong information about boat services which resulted in us being stranded in various locations on the island wasting precious time. They certainly didn't go the extra mile and had a poor attitude. A 3 or 4 star resort in the port of Mykonos or on one of the nicer beaches would be a better value.

Room Tip: Everyone is different but I wouldn't stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintJohnHotel, Manager at Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear David,

Thank you very much for a thorough and informative review, here at Saint John we pride ourselves in taking into consideration all feedback from our guests.
We are delighted that you found our housekeepers and drivers to be welcoming, the well-being and happiness of our guests are a top priority for us at all times.
The facilities of the hotel are also of high importance to us, so thank you for your kind comments on the rooms and the pool, we are very humbled.
Saint John is located in a tranquil, peaceful part of the island, at a height to emphasise spectacular views.
We are saddened that you found the walking distance and the route down to the beach troublesome and that taxis were not secured for you and your family. The staff we have at the hotel are all trained with high knowledge of the island. Ensuring our customers are enjoying their stay is incredibly important to us. Thank you for bringing the above to our attention, we will make sure all staff warmly welcome you and your family on your next visit.

We hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family of four (couple and son and daughter) stayed at this resort after an overbooking problem with our first booking choice (Nissaki boutique hotel).
We had a very early booking (October 2013) at a nonrefundable rate at Nissaki boutique hotel, after reading the good reviews at tripadvisor,, but in April we received an email informing that a serious computer problem did occur and our room (an executive suite with two rooms, two bathrooms and Jacuzzi) was booked several times....). After several proposals (none of them meeting our goals) they offered a two bedroom suite at Saint John's resort at the same conditions and same price. So, we decided to accept.
In August 1, at our arrival, they put us in a small junior suite with two small rooms and just one bathroom. That wasn't expected, since Nissaki did propose a room with the same conditions,,,
After complain at the reception, the manager offers another room next to the first one...
So, we didn't had the same conditions, but it was ok. If seams that the problem was from the affiliate Nissaki that didn't inform correctly Saint John's resort...
For us, it was a form that Nissaki used to sell our room at a best price to others, after realize that we had a very low price for the room type, and tried to put us in an inferior room category.
We travel a lot, and had stayed in very good hotels, and really don't accept this kind of attitude..
Nissaki boutique hotel, is NOT recommended in our opinion, this cannot happen in a reference hotel.
Saint John's was lovely, very clean, wonderful breakfast, lovely private beach and pool.
Free WiFi was appreciated.
The restaurants were very good and the food great.
Apart from the reception staff, all the others were very kind.
We rented a car at the hotel and all worked perfectly.
They even offer a tasty birthday cake to our daughter, very kindly.
So, the start wasn't that nice but at the end we really enjoyed and certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the pool and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintJohnHotel, Manager at Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for a thorough and detailed review. Here at Saint John, we welcome all feedback and thoughts from our guests.
We are sorry about the confusion prior to your stay with us with Nissaki. We can assure you that this is a very rare case of a booking system malfunction, however, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at Saint John.
Our gastronomy is of high importance to us, along with our facilities and cleanliness, so thank you for mentioning these aspects and letting us know you experienced a ‘wonderful breakfast’.
We were all very pleased that you chose to celebrate your daughter’s birthday with us, and it was our pleasure to provide a birthday cake for the event!
All of the team here at the hotel are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the foreseeable future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been for a weeding at St John hotel and stayed for three days.
The check in was very pleasant and the girls were very helpful to explain us how we can get to the famous beaches in Mykonos (Psarou, super-paradise, gialos, kalo livadhi and panormos).
They have also helped us to rent a car and gave us map marked all the interesting places.
The rooms were spacious, clean and with outstanding view.
The only drawback was the breakfast room that you have to walk for fifteen minutes and the route that was uphill at very steep gradient.
The swimming pool was clean with fantastic view.
In view of the above, I have no hesitation to recommend the above hotel for family holidays.

Pashas Panayiotis CEng FICE FCIWEM

Room Tip: Rooms directly above the reception room have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintJohnHotel, Manager at Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Mr. Panayiotis,

We are so pleased that our hotel was chosen for a wedding which you attended and congratulations to the happy couple!

It's lovely to hear that you appreciated the service provided by our fantastic staff and got the opportunity to visit so many of the famous beaches of Mykonos. Your comment about the walk to the breakfast room is appreciated and we will look into making it more manageable.

We hope that you will return for a leisurely visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The resort
It is located on a slope down toward the sea. The view is very nice. It is quite hilly, but the hotel provide transportation if you ask for it. They have micro vans that drive the non-mountaineer guests up and down the hill. You might find it difficult finding your way around on the resort, but it will get easier after a few days. The resort is very well kept and clean. There is not much to see or do in the neighborhood.

The room
I think the rooms may differ a bit. There are regular rooms up to private villas. I stayed in a regular room. The room was alright. I have stayed in more fashionable rooms, but also in those a lot worse. This was average. The bathroom had a regular size jacuzzi-tub. Otherwise it was ordinary. Hair dryer, shaving kit, sewing kit, vanity kit and lots of different soaps and lotions. The room was well cleaned.

The bed in my first room consisted of two beds put together. The frame is so heavy the beds did not move apart, but there was a tiny gap between the beds. In my second room there was a single wide bed with one large cover. I found the beds very comfortable. There was also a sofa that could be made as an extra bed. There was also a flat screen tv, which I never used. In the minibar you will find the regular stuff; beer, wine, champagne, water, snacks, soft drinks and all kind of miniature liquor bottles. The minibar prices are what you could expect at a five star resort. The mineral water is not included. Not sure if you can drink the tap water. There was no iron or ironing board, but I bet you can have one sent to you if you really feel like doing some ironing. There is an efficient AC that kept the room cool. The AC was also quiet. Slept with it on 21 degrees every night without getting a soar ac-throat. There is also a safe which is bolted to the wall. The safe manage to fit my 13-inch laptop, but if it would have been 14-inches I am not sure that it would fit. There is no charge for the safe.

Electricity
Regular European sockets. 220volt. In the room things only charge as long as you have a card in the slot for electricity. Any card will do if you need to charge something while you out. Not sure if the hotel will provide you with an adapter, but I consider that a standard service for a five star hotel.

Breakfast
Had an amazing variety. You will defiantly find something you like and you will most likely get your daily need of calories in one meal. Breakfast is served from 8 until 11 o'clock. If you on your first day arrive to the hotel early you can buy breakfast for 20 euros per person. With a glass or two of sparkling wine, I would say it is worth it.

On my departure day I had to sneak down at 07:30 due to an early pick-up. The staff was considerate and helpful although I was there too early. Everything was not available, but enough to get a good start of the day.

The pool
The pool is a saltwater pool. The salinity is higher than in the ocean. The great thing about it is that you can float without moving anything. The bad thing is that it might sting a little in your eyes, throat and where you are freshly shaved. Goggles could be an idea to bring if you travel with kids. There are freshwater showers by the pool so you can get rid of the salt. The main pools depth varies from 1 cm up to approximately 190 cm. There are two smaller round pools which are shallow.

The beach
The beach is about five meters wide and consist of sand that I consider coarse. When you enter the sea you might have to walk over some rocks. They are big, round and do not hurt. I do not see a need for bathing shoes. It get one meter deep pretty fast and then gradually to about five meters 100 meters from the beach. The water is clear and has a good visibility. I would say more than 30 meters. I did not feel any current. There are no disturbing water scooters or motorboats. The bottom consists of sand, some rocks and seaweed. If you are used to tropical water you will not be so exited. There are a few fish, but not really that much to see. If you are lucky you might find someone's Prada sunglasses that were lost in a wave or a 50 euro bill that fell out from a Vilebrequin pocket. There are plenty of sunbeds on the beach. There are waiters that patrol the beach regularly in case you need to eat or drink something. Remember that there is no life guard on duty and no floatation devices in case of an emergency. If you forgot to bring your swimsuit I believe there is a small beach just south of the hotel beach just for you.

Sunbeds
There are sunbeds around the main pool, the small round pool and on the beach. If you would like to have a sunbed around the main pool you have to rise early. The guests here tend to put their belongings on a sunbed and then have breakfast. Count on that all the sunbeds around the main pool are taken before 10 am. But do not worry, around 12 o'clock you might have luck since some guests probably have to check out.

Beach towels
You get your beach towels from a small shed by the main pool. You have to sign for them. When you return the towels at the same place the staff make a note that they are returned.

The pool bar
This is where I had lunch everyday. I think their salads were really good, especially their Caesar salad and their green salad with Mykonian pork loin, grapes, figs and gruyere cheese. The kebap was also good. Saw someone consuming a pizza that looked great too. You can of course put the cost on your room.

The other restaurants
Never had a meal at the other restaurants, but they are probably pretty good. I prefered to take the shuttle to Mykonos and eat there.

The gym
Two thread mills for running and enough equipment to make all your muscles soar if you know how to work out in a gym. It is not like your 100 euro per month gym at home, but good enough. You can get a towel and water in the spa reception if you say please. I wish the ventilation would be a little bit better.

Wifi
Wifi is free. You have to login all the time. You will get the username and password when you check in. The wifi network is far from a five star network. You might have to do several attempts to connect and once connected you will find it slow. You can read your national news and check your email, but forget all about making video calls. I did not manage to send iMessages with photos. Regular iMessages worked. I made several speed test. Most of them around the pool failed with pingtimes around 2000ms. Of my successful speedtest the average was about 0.3 Mbps upload and 0.5 Mbps download. I wish I had brought a wifi repeater to use in the room. I manage to connect to the wifi network SJCORP at the beach. It was a lot faster. 0.22 upload and 2.23 download.

Mini-market
The mini-market on the hotel is open from 9.30 am to 2.30 pm and 5.30 pm to 8.30 pm. It does not sell beer or wine. If you would like to take a glass of wine on your balcony as the sun sets your will have to buy wine from the minibar. Or you can walk to the closest mini market outside the hotel. The walk will take you about 10 minutes one way. To get there walk out through the hotel gate, continue out to the main road and make a left. The road goes down hill and right after the Greek Italian restaurant you will find the mini market. It is open until 9pm and is cash only.

Book-exchange
You will find the bookshelf for book exchange in a room next to where breakfast is served. Leave your old and take a new one. It had a great variety of languages.

Shuttle to Mykonos
Every evening you can take a free shuttle from the hotel to Mykonos old harbor. It leaves from right outside the entrance to the reception. You can not make a reservation for a seat, there is no queue and their large bus will take 17 passengers, their small bus 14 passengers and their van 7 passengers. If the first bus fills up, do not worry, they will pull up another. But beware, they might leave a minute or so a head of schedule so be there a head of time. You take the shuttle back to the hotel from the same place they let you off. The last one go back at 22:45. When the bus was filled and there were guest that did not get a seat, they sent another bus. You can also take a regular local bus back to the proximity of the hotel if you wish to stay out later. It leaves from a different place. You then have to walk 50 meters back to the hotel. Of course you can take the local bus to Mykonos too. The bus stop is out through the hotel gate, continue to the main street and turn right. You will see the bus stop after 50 meters. The fare is 1.60 euros to Mykonos. I think the fare was 2 euros later in the evening. When I took the bus it was so crowded I had to stand. The trip with the local bus took just over ten minutes.

Language skills
There is no problem getting by with English at the hotel. All staff speaks excellent. Not sure about other foreign languages.

The weather
I visited in the end of July. The temperature was around 30 Celsius and I did not see a cloud for the whole stay. Leave your sweater at home. It was windy almost every day.

Pesticides
I was amazed. Nothing at all, besides a few ants outside. No cockroaches, no mosquitoes. I wonder what they use.

Fire safety
The room had a smoke detector and alarm. My first room did not have an evacuation plan at the door with directions as stated in the guest information directory. The fire extinguisher outside my room was also missing. There was just an empty hook. I told the front desk about the missing extinguisher and they said they would look in to it, but nothing happened. I changed room during the week and my new room had an evacuation plan on the door. I informed my travel agency about the missing evacuation plan and the missing fire extinguishers and I hope this will be an issue much longer, but be safe and check yourself. Guest safty does not seem to be the hotels highest priority

Life guards
As stated by the hotel, there are no life guards on the beach or at the pool. There is just one life ring at the main pool and none by the beach, where it most likely would do most use. The only one by the pool looks as if it once was found on the beach. I suggest the management invest in a few life saving floatation devices at the beach. It will cost so little, might do a great difference.

Defibrillator
I could not find any information about the hotel having a defibrillator, so they most likely don't. If you are having a heart attack, you might be better off at another hotel. I think there should be at least one around the pool and one at the front desk.

Emergency
In case of emergency you can call the general European emergency number: 112
I did not find that information in my room.

Hospital
The closest emergency hospital is 4.8 kilometer or 15 minutes away (legal speed) from the hotel. In the guest information directory at the room there was nothing about medical services at the hotel, so I guess there is none.

Checking-out
I checked out the evening before departure. The bill was correct. Tip was not included.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above ground level and you might get a nice view over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintJohnHotel, Manager at Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Mr. Franchell,

Thank you for such an organised and extremely informative review of the hotel, which will definitely be helpful to other guests!

Your comments have been noted, especially about the ventilation in the gym and the missing fire extinguisher. Guest safety is our up most priority, so we will ensure that a thorough check of all equipment is carried out and information on medical services is made available to all guests.

It's great to see that you had such a memorable stay with us and we hope you'll return again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa

Address: PO Box 626, Agios Ioannis Diakoftis 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Saint John Hotel Resort is located on one of the finest spots on Mykonos Island, in the picturesque area of Agios Ioannis and spans across 20,000 sq. m of land. The resort has been specially created for travelers who demand only the best for their vacation or business trip. Catering to the comfort, convenience and leisure of its guests, the Saint John Mykonos Hotel Resort offers a wide variety of exceptional hotel facilities and services, including a 200-meter long private beach, a spa, a tennis court, swimming pools, restaurants, bars, conference halls and outdoor reception areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint John Hotel Villas And Spa
Saint John Hotel Villas Agios Ioannis
Saint John Resort
Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.