We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 626, Agios Ioannis Diakoftis 84600, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited Mykonos in August 2012. The hotel is big and as such does not have a very personal feel. The staff were friendly but they were too busy all the time and they were unable to add any personal tones. At the reception there were queues most of the time.

The breakfast was absolutely enormous. There was whatever one wanted from continental, English and greek breakfast selection ! Not very impressed by the dinner though.

The rooms (we had a villa with a pool) were very spacious with arealy big terrace. The flowers and plants were very looked after in our villa but also in all the hotel areas. Very clean rooms, the pool was cleaned daily, and the room service was prompt and obliging.

Very good experience overall!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    77
    31
    14
    23
See reviews for
63
249
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights in a lovely room with a large terrace (and small balcony) in November. We enjoyed fabulous views of the sea and the sunset. The hotel is positioned on a sloping site beside the sea, and we were in a double room on the highest level. There were lovely stone stairs and paths leading to the restaurant at the lower level – and if we had not been able to walk the distance a hotel vehicle would have taken us. The breakfast was very good, with coffee from the espresso machine available on request.

The hotel is situated out of town and we caught the local bus each time we went into Mykonos to shop and dine. It was a cheery way to travel, and on our return trip the bus driver would let us off beside the street to the hotel – and not at the official bus stop. So nice and much appreciated! I’d happily return to Mykonos and to this hotel.

One night we accepted the hotel’s offer of a complimentary ride to a seaside restaurant in a small town not far away. The food was not particularly good, so I would not recommend taking up the offer. There are far better restaurants on the island.

Room Tip: Our double room on the top level appeared to be one of the few with a large, private side terrace (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Fab holiday at the St John’s Hotel on Mykonos! The hotel is located only 4 kilometers from the town so we were near the pubs and the clubs and also in walking distance of the Agios Ioannis beach which although was quite small had lots of bathing beauties lying around in the sun.
Me and my mates from the rugby club booked a luxury three bedroom villa for the week and it was very posh indeed! Not only did it have its own Jacuzzi and steam shower, but the pool was just outside too. Two of the lads actually spent more time in the Jacuzzi than the sea. As a 5 star hotel, it was spot on. We could watch cable TV, play our CDs and had free internet too.
We did have a slight hitch as we arrived late evening instead of around lunchtime due to transport strikes in Athens. But, the receptionist; a lovely Greek girl offered us a welcome drink and suggested some places in town that we could hit later. So that’s what we did on our first night and every other night after that, walked into town and did some pub and club crawling.
We had an amazing time at the trendy Destijl celebrities’ bar. Ken who was with us reckoned he saw John Travolta walk past, but that was after quite a bit of ouzo. Funnily enough though, we read later when we got home that him and his wife were holidaying on Mykonos at the same time as us…… so you never know!
Anyway, we had a great week on Mykonos and everyone at the hotel was warm and friendly. They must be used to boozy guys like us who sleep all day and party all night. Anyhow, our stay there was superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I arrived on Mykonos at the end of beginning of September with my brother who is a contemporary artist. We had been to Santorini for a couple of days but Mykonos held a special interest for us as we wanted to see the work of Luis Orazco, a Mexican painter who lives on the island. Our mother is Spanish and she often talks about this talented artist who, she told us has a positive outlook on life and paints Mykonian landscapes.
We made reservations at St John’s Hotel as my parents had stayed there before and it is also well-known for its unique location and remarkable views. So as expected, everything was breathtaking. From the deluxe furnishings to the haute cuisine, I don’t think anyone can fault it. I think, it’s the most luxurious hotel that I’ve ever stayed in. The receptionist kindly arranged a taxi for us whenever we wanted to travel further afield and gave us all the information that we needed on art galleries and churches; ideal places for photos. He even arranged our boat trip from Ornos to Elia on the East coast where we walked to Kalo Livadi. There were some great taverns along the stretch of the sandy beach and less hotels and villas in the area meaning it was much quieter.
On the last day of our holiday, we sought out the Orama Art Gallery in Fournakia where Luis Orazco has his artwork. His paintings were very impressive and vibrant like my mother had said. Surprisingly, some of his exhibits included portraits and still life too which we were allowed to photograph.
So with our goal accomplished we had to say goodbye to Mykonos and all the kind staff at St John’s Hotel with the promise that we would return next time with our mother.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Why choose St John’s Hotel Mykonos? Because it’s the best hotel in the world! I’m a photographer and I go there pretty regularly as there are beauty pageants and fashion shows held on their private beach. It’s a photographer’s paradise! The location and scenery are amazing. Apart from shooting outside, the interior of the hotel is just as extravagant and the spacious rooms and suites make excellent backdrops.
I just love the place! St John’s is also a short distance from the town and beaches where I’ve snapped dozens of celebrities. Many of you don’t probably spot them but after years of visiting Mykonos, they stand out like a sore thumb to me. This summer I caught a glimpse of the singer Natali Thanou who was shooting her new video at Super Paradise. The only problem was, I didn’t have my camera with me as I was going for a swim!
I’ve done my fair share of traveling around the Greek islands and stayed at some of the largest hotels, but nothing compares with St John’s. There’s a warm and relaxing atmosphere and all the amenities are superior to anywhere else. Everything is taken care of and your only obligation is to enjoy yourself.
If I have the time, I visit the hotel’s Aphrodite Spa & Beauty Center to have a massage and steam bath after working out in their gym. At St John’s, you never know who’ll be walking through the door so it’s one of the best places to hang round.
I recommend anyone who wants to organize a beauty or fashion event on St John’s private beach to do so in May or June or then in September or October. It may be a bit breezy at these times but it’s not scorching hot for the models.

Room Tip: Book the executive suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Saint John in early September with our two young children and the hotel met our expectations on every level. We were greeted during check - in with drinks (apple juice for the kids) and met Joanna the bar tender who became fast friends with the kids. There are several pools so our children were able to splash around without bothering other guests. We have traveled extensively and found the breakfast to be top notch, with many choices you would not find at a standard european hotel. As we left the hotel driver gave us a personal recommendation for a driver to use in Athens who could show us local shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Loved pretty much everything about the hotel. The Staff were friendly, helpful & efficient from Reception, Spa, Poolside service and in the Restaurant. Our room was serviced daily and towels changed twice a day. The food at the hotel was excellent, we dined in Symposium on one evening (best lamb chops ever!) and in the Poolside bar on a few days (best stuffed tomatoes ever!) You were spoilt for choice at breakfast - freshly squeezed orange juice, a selection of meats, cheeses, olives, fresh tomatoes & cucumber, omlettes made to order, fresh fruit, selection of cakes & crepes and a great selection of hot food including fried & scrambled eggs, bacon, small hot dog sausages, spinach pie, dauphinoise potatoes, frittata, grilled tomatoes topped with cheese amongst others, a variety of fresh loaves and preserves. The pool area is just lovely, with great views of the bay and bar service to your lounger. The hotel is one of the best places on the island to view the sunset. We'd return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa

Also Known As:
Saint John Hotel Villas And Spa
Saint John Hotel Villas Agios Ioannis
Saint John Hotel Villas
Saint John Hotel
Saint John Resort
Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa Mykonos, Greece
Address: PO Box 626, Agios Ioannis Diakoftis 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Saint John Hotel Resort is located on one of the finest spots on Mykonos Island, in the picturesque area of Agios Ioannis and spans across 20,000 sq. m of land. The resort has been specially created for travelers who demand only the best for their vacation or business trip. Catering to the comfort, convenience and leisure of its guests, the Saint John Mykonos Hotel Resort offers a wide variety of exceptional hotel facilities and services, including a 200-meter long private beach, a spa, a tennis court, swimming pools, restaurants, bars, conference halls and outdoor reception areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint John Hotel Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.