We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ayios Yiannis, Agios Ioannis Diakoftis 84600, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Resort Credit
DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the Mykonos Grand for three nights during our honeymoon. The experience was so lovely that we felt spoiled for our subsequent stay on Santorini.

Staff: Extremely gracious, staff members are always easy to find and incredibly happy to help make your stay as pleasant as possible. From restaurant recommendations to arranging car rentals, I could not have asked for better or more friendly service.

Amenities: The hotel is beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The beds aren't what I'm used to from American hotels (not as soft), and you could hear some noise from the hallway and adjoining rooms; but I didn't find this particularly off-putting. The gym is sufficient for basic cardio and light weights. The private beach on site is a definite draw, and I wish I had taken advantage of the gorgeous spa while we were there. The breakfast spread is fabulous and includes everything from fresh fruit to made-to-order eggs, meats, cheeses, pastries, and even champagne and a selection of juices for mimosas or bellinis.

Location: The hotel is maybe a ten minute drive from Mykonos Town. It has a nice secluded feel, since it is not in the middle of everything; but you can't walk to much from it. Fortunately, the hotel provides a free shuttle to and from town at night, and they can arrange relatively inexpensive car rentals on site.

I agree that the level of perceived privacy in the room might not be the best, but especially after moving to a different hotel on a different island, I was overall very impressed with the Mykonos Grand and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    97
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
114
573
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

A beautiful hotel. All the staff take a very good care of you. They are so helpful and friendly.
They do all their best to make you happy.
The location is perfect. The beach is the most beautiful of the island.
An extraodinary choice to spend vacation with so good memories to share and enjoy the rest of our life.

Room Tip: Rooms with view on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I left the Mykonos Grand Hotel and Resort disappointed. After six nights in a Premium Sea View room, I wouldn't go back. There may be other rooms that we're much better but ours was noisy (noise from the corridors, feet of people above and little privacy on our balcony) and uncomfortable (two single beds held together with a mattress topper). There is so little to say about the restaurants and bars mostly because they were so standard. No dishes stood out. No drinks or wines that were interesting.
The saving grace of the resort was the people. The staff were so helpful, kind and warm. We got great advice on where to dine out. The service by the pool was excellent as well.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos-Grand-GM, General Manager at Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Ms. Imho_478
We are most grateful to you for having taken the time and trouble to write us about your recent stay, especially since your traveling companion Critique-ByCharlie with whom you had shared the room has also posted a review and we have expressed our sincerest apologies for the unpleasant inconveniences occurred.
We feel that your comments are similar and therefore already answered.
Should you give our resort another chance someday, I am confident you will have the same great experience that so many guests have had through the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Overall we were quite disappointed and our 6 night stay was not at all what we expected from a 5 star resort. We do not recommend this resort and encourage you to look elsewhere.

First there are some positives, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the view from our room was Stunning (careful there weren't too many rooms with our view), the extra service by the pool was excellent (cold towels, ice cream etc), the spa was good and the advice on where to eat/see was perfect.
Second, however is why we would not return or recommend, our bed was two twins poorly made into a double and quite uncomfortable, our room was far from sound proof or private (we could hear people talking in adjacent rooms and hallway and people walking around in room above), the restaurant and bars were very disappointing and the grounds of the resort had not been prepared for the season (lots of empty flowers beds and weeds). Unfortunately this resort is not worth the time or cost.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos-Grand-GM, General Manager at Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Mr. Critique-ByCharlie
We thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort
We are pleased to read that you have found our hotel staff incredible friendly and helpful. We always try to meet our guests ‘expectations and your comment is a real reward for all of us. We are also pleased to read that you found the view from your room stunning. Many guests comment on the glorious sunsets behind the sacred island of Delos which is visible from almost every angle of our resort.
We were glad to hear that you have enjoyed our pool service with all the free amenities we offer to sunbathers for relief from the hot sun rays, the treatments at our Althea Spa center and all advice given by our guest relations team concerning dining options. Please note that our guest relation team has detailed info on most Mykonos restaurants and their recommendations are based on their own experience and not just references.
However, we have taken to heart your comment regarding the bed situation and the poor preparation of it. It is most disappointing that you had 2 twin beds prepared as a double bed and I wish to apologize for the inconvenience caused. We have also sent our maintenance team to inspect the insulation of your accommodation, especially the door and windows and we found out that they were not properly insulated as per our architects specifications during the renovation of this specific wing that took place during last winter. Action has been immediately taken.
As for our restaurants quality, it is difficult to follow up on generic statements. More precise information on where you felt that our restaurants were not satisfactory would be helpful to assist us on improvements according to your opinion.
Finally, the stronger-than-normal winds that were blowing during certain days in May had delayed the gardening of certain areas of the resort which is now completed.
We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to show you that your comments have not been expressed in vain and enable you to change your opinion about the standard of our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Room 127, premium seaview. OK decor, very small balcony and no privacy. Could hear noise from other rooms, walls thin and music from hippie fish bar kept us awake. Air con good.

Internet slow and intermittent.

Pool unheated so unusable. Could never sit around pool as people are allowed to reserve sunloungers for hours without sitting on them. On the beach, easier to get a lounger. One day 3 loungers were reserved for 6 hours until beach attendant took towels away. Beach is stoney and gritty,difficult to get into the sea so not good for young children.

Breakfast mediocre. Long wait for eggs and even longer to wait for coffee. Made the mistake of booking half board. Menu very limited , just 2 choices and then they ran out of a main course one day. Had lunch at pool bar instead, not much better so make sure you eat in town.

Shuttle bus to town only runs in evening and every hour.

Overall, not a 5 Star hotel.not

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos-Grand-GM, General Manager at Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Ms. Kld 771
Thank you for your recent review however we were concerned to read your remarks regarding your recent experience at our resort. All of us had hoped to be able to create a wonderful experience for you during your stay and we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us.
At Mykonos Grand we offer many room categories from standard rooms to luxurious suites suiting various budgets. The outdoor area of each accommodation (balcony/terrace) is not connected to the room type, but to the local architecture, on which we are obliged to follow. If guests find our balconies small (2.20X4.50m) we are glad to propose another room with a terrace instead as soon as we are informed and especially this time of year that the resort is not running on its maximum capacity.
Concerning our complimentary internet service we are in the process of upgrading the service and the internet speed should increase soon, as we see most our guests carry 2 wifi devices.
Referring to your comments about the sunchairs reservation, we do allow our guests to reserve their preferred sunchairs till 11:15. After that time, all unattended items are removed by our pool and beach service team.
We were sorry to hear that you found our Champagne American buffet breakfast mediocre, especially as this year we have enriched it with more hot and cold dishes and we emphasize on locally sourced products. Concerning the eggs, we do provide daily an egg dish at the buffet in addition to the egg station with our chef Eva to prepare your eggs on the spot according to your preferences. Even a dedicated waiter is assigned to deliver the egg orders so our guests do not need to wait while their preferred eggs are being prepared. We have also passed your comments about the slow coffee service to our F&B manager to review timings.
Concerning the meal supplement (half board) when promoting this service we clarify that this is a 4-course dinner with 2 choices per course which you were not informed by your travel agent as you explained to us. Since this menu is different every day, our executive chef plans and orders on a daily basis the menu ingredients to ensure their freshness and high quality. Numerous times hotel guests order the half board of the day on the spot due to its quality and value. Apart from the fixed menu, our wait staff is trained to offer options in case one of the courses is not available any more, just as it happened with you and your were given other choices which was not mentioned in your review. Another option we offer to our guests is to order from our a la carte menu and offer an allowance.
Finally your comment about the Hippie Fish noise, kindly note that this is not a bar, but a local tavern that belongs to a very hospitable Mykonian family. It is the same place where Shirley Valentine was filmed. Indeed on Hippie Fish tavern there was an event to celebrate the Christening of a local family and that night was the exception and not the rule.
We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to show you that your comments have not been expressed for nothing and to enable you to change your opinion about the standard of our resort.
We would therefore be honored to welcome you again among our valued guests, should you consider to give us the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for a week to attend a wedding.
Hotel was lovely and the staff so friendly.
Would love to return there in the future!
Great little restaurants off the beach for lunches.
Mykonos is an island that just grows on you by the minute!
Shirley Valentine- No wonder you stayed!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice place. Excellent & secluded from Chora. Quiet. "Decent" Breakfast. Dining with Sea view. Actually quite nice ......................................................................................!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort

Address: Ayios Yiannis, Agios Ioannis Diakoftis 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#2 Family Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Grand is a unique resort on Mykonos, on one of the island’s most famous beaches Ayios Yiannis known for the glorious sunsets. The resort’s Cycladic architecture of cube shaped whitewashed buildings linked by pathways and terraces is combined with classic interior ambience. The hotel offers 100 bedrooms and suites including Superior rooms and luxurious Suites with private pools. The resort’s facilities include an outstanding spa, tennis and squash courts, an impressive stone-built amphitheatre for inspiring yoga sessions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Grand Hotel And Resort
Mykonos Grand Hotel Agios Ioannis
Mykonos Grand Resort
Grand Hotel Mykonos
Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.