We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Adriana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Adriana to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Adriana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Prokopios 84300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Adriana for 9 days in August and had a great time. Yiannis and his family are very friendly and will do all they can to make your stay pleasurable without being 'in your face'. The entire place is absolutely spotless and a lot of pride is taken in keeping everywhere clean. The pool area is lovely and hardly used. The only downside was that the pool was quite deep for our 5 year old and she couldn't put her feet down - but that is hardly the hotel's fault and she managed very well!

All in all a great place to stay at a very reasonable price.

The location is on the outskirts of Agios Prokopios and there are 2 routes into town. The first is down a fairly busy road where you do need to keep your wits about you, the second is down a dusty track which takes you past the red lake and various animals to the further end of the beach.

Agios Prokopios itself is a really lovely place, a good variety of restaurants on the front and various snack bars. The beach itself has coarse sand in the main and the sea is so very clear - it is shallow enough to allow children to play.

The bus to Naxos town comes every 30 mins or so and costs 1.60 euros and runs until 2am in the morning.

All in all a really pleasurable stay and we would definitely return if we decided to visit Naxos again.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 which had a private balcony overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    22
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
60
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our family for 3 nights in August. Pick-up from the port was complimentary and upon arrival we were welcomed on the terrace with a drink and some lovely olives that Yiannis' mother prepared. They have done everything they can to give the hotel a warm and welcome feeling. The rooms were small, but functional and comfortable. Every room has a balcony or terrace. Everything was very clean (which is something we found nearly everywhere we went around the Cyclades).
The pool is large and clean. Breakfast is very good considering it is only 6 euros.
Only the location was slightly disappointing as far as I was concerned. It is located at the outer side of Agios Prokopios, a little off the road. Of course you can walk into "town" along the road, but it there is quite a lot of traffic and in the evening it just is very dark. Right at the end of the road is a bus stop for the bus to Naxos town, which is convenient.

You can walk to the beach in about 10 to 15 minutes, but you have to walk along a trail that does indeed pass some goats, but it is a dirty trail to travel. Lots of junk and debris you have to pass and the worst of it is that you have to walk along the so-called "Red Lake", which has nothing to do with a lake, but is a large pool of shallow water that literally stinks so badly that it wouldn't surprise me if there were several dead bodies in there in advanced stages of putrefaction. Really, that bad. Good thing: in Villa Adriana you don't smell a thing, also upwind: same story. But if you choose to relax on the beach downwind from this lake, go really a little further until the smell is gone. When the wind is strong you even smell it on the terraces of the first few restaurants.

My advice is to rent a car ( they bring the car to Villa Adriana) and check out some of the other beaches (Agios Anna) or Plaka. Also drive around the island, because we thought it was one of the most beautiful and unspoiled of the islands we visited. With a car staying in Adriana will be a treat ( with good value for money as well).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Very warm and accommodating. They make you feel welcome. The entire staff is amazing. They pick you up from the port and take you back. Their recommendations for places to visit were great. The hotel is 5-10 minute walk from the beach. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Villa Adriana. Yannis was easy to communicate with prior to our visit and arranged to pick us up at the port. We are a family of 6, so this was no easy task. The hotel itself is wonderful. Extremely clean and comfortable. The rooms are not large, but appropriate for spending more time in Naxos as opposed to your hotel room. The walk from the hotel to beach was about 10 minutes down a path with a farm on one side. We enjoyed the walk as the kids got to know the goats and chickens. For 6 euro, we could rent two beach chairs and an umbrella for the day, so that was easy and worth it. A nice older gentlemen comes by about once an hour, selling donuts. The town is close by, so walking was fairly easy, although the traffic comes by pretty fast. Yannis helped us to rent 4-wheel motorbikes twice, which we used to travel to another beach and to Naxos City. Overall, a fabulous vacation thanks to Yannis and all of the folks at Hotel Villa Adriana.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed a few nights and one of the highlights of the stay was the friendly hospitality of the owners - it was like were we guests at their house. At the start of our stay we were collected from the port, then over a welcoming drink provided information about the island, tips on the beach, tips on local food and the hotel. It is a bit of a walk to the beach (the red lake stinks so it is best to pick a spot on the beach up wind) but there is a good supermarket pretty close (bigger than the mini marts near the beach).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had booked Villa Adriana before arriving into Naxos and weren't disappointed. From the location to the prices and the service the whole stay was excellent. We arrived into the port in the evening and Yiannis was there to meet us and take us and some other new arrivals to the hotel. When we got there we were warmly greeted by the staff and treated to a glass of Yiannis' homemade wine with some fresh olives. After our journey from Santorini it was lovely to relax and chat with other guests as the sun set over the long stretch of beach in front of us. Some of the guests we spoke to had been to Villa Adriana many years before and had returned several times. The level of service from the hotel staff continued throughout our stay, and we were given lifts into Naxos city, to the airport, advised on local activities and days out. All the staff worked hard to make sure every guest had an enjoyable stay, something that we didn't expect considering the price of our room. Overall a great trip and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my husband were planning a brief visit to Naxos en route to our final destination. When we arrived at Naxos port luckily for Yannis persuaded us to stay and see his family run hotel, in fact we stayed longer than we intended . It was located a short distance outside the main town of Naxos but close to another beach and restaurants with a regular bus service into Naxos itself. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean with pleasant rooms and a good sized, immaculately maintained swimming pool. Nothing was too much trouble and Yannis and family, together with Helen in reception , ensured all our needs were catered for. I cannot recommend it highly enough for people who want a relaxing stay in a peaceful location although still close enough to all the amenities. We will be returning when we visit the area next year! Peter & Rosie N

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Adriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Adriana

Address: Agios Prokopios 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#7 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Adriana 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Adriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriana Hotel Agios Prokopios
Hotel Villa Adriana Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Adriana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.