We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic position, nice, clean and excellent client support” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Katerina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Katerina to your Saves list
Hotel Katerina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Prokopios 84300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Imperia, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Strategic position, nice, clean and excellent client support”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

It has been a real pleasure to stay in Katerina Hotel
We were 4 (2 children) in apartment at the ground floor (that was ok since it was not hot in the night, never switched on the air conditioned).
Georgios and his wife were always present, very very kind and helpful. A familiar hotel with a hotel service.
The place was really beautiful, the apartment comfortable and very clean (every day cleaning service), the breakfast ok by the very nice and not small swimming pool.
A strategic location 50 meters from a caraibi-like beach and restaurants and facilities.
I say perfect, nothing less than it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    48
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
113
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a value for money hotel but you get what you pay for. The 3 star rating is accurate and it is a small hotel on a small island and has a certain charm. Family run, which has it's upside and down side, and the hotel has the usual amenities and is adequate for a short stay on Naxos. It depends on what you want and if you know what you can expect.

Katerina is well located at Agios Prokopios beach, actually 100 meters back from the beachfront, and was a good price at 40 Euro per night including breakfast. We booked easily through the hotel's website system and the email communication was followed through prior to arrival. There were no booking problems at all. The transfer from the port was arranged with the hotel at 10 Euros each way, not by a taxi but with a local arrangement by the hotel with a local driver. However, it worked for us.

If you are passing through Naxos whilst using ferries to island hop between islands, and your stay is to be short, this is not the place for you. We stayed for several days, not a week. Most guests seemed to be at the hotel for a longer period and were comfortable just to "chill out" by the pool or occasionally the beach. If you have a different holiday purpose and want to actively take in the main areas of the island and experience Naxos town over a few days then you are somewhat isolated. There is a good bus access to Naxos town but we would base ourselves in Naxos town next time. Nevertheless, on Naxos there was a fascination in the townscape, the delight of the waterfront cafes, the castle and the climb, the vibrant marina, and great crowds of holiday people. In comparison, however, we felt that Paros offered something more.

At Katerina, the room we were given simply served its purpose at the price. Our room needed renovation. It was rather dark but spacious enough. The bedding was good and the bed was comfortable. Having a balcony, with a partial pool view and to the side of the hotel, helped for the time spent in the room. The bathroom was small and the shower arrangement even smaller. The bathroom was difficult to manage and a detraction. I understand that some rooms are renovated with better bathrooms. The kitchenette would have been an asset if we were staying longer, but it was a strange arrangement and it needed to be better equipped to be used.

Our price included breakfast which is served by the pool, and there was an expectation, as Greek breakfasts can be great as we found on other islands. But despite what can be served this one was basic and limited. However, the most notable recollection was the intense scrutiny of the guests, whilst having breakfast, from the family's table. This became apparent, intrusive and annoying rather than attentive. The downside of a small family hotel.

The pool was adequate and well used, with sun loungers well occupied by longer term guests, but the pool was decidedly cool. We used the beach several days and had plenty space, in fact we were surprised how few people went to the beach area. The beach is a very short walk away from the hotel, there are several mini markets, an ATM and a beach front street with a number of taverna. So the small township served its purpose. We had one good evening meal but several that were disappointing, serving unremarkable Greek food. By late September the season was over, there was a tiredness about service and the places to eat were winding down. A shame as the tourists were still arriving and elsewhere in the Aegean there was still a vibrancy.

For us this was an average stay at Hotel Katerina that did not measure up to the accommodation we experienced in hotels with similar ratings elsewhere in the islands. Katerina's advantage perhaps is that this is not an expensive 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Despite an advance booking, ask to see the room before you check in. Check the bathroom is manageab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIVAT SHMUEL, ISRAEL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

this is small beautiful hotel big room with balcony. very close to the beach. the owners george and maria are very nice every thing we asked for they gave us, we wanted to find a tour so maria called the tour guide and went out of her way to find us what we were looking for.
the breakfast is like in europe not varied.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great location and staff; premises kept immaculately clean. They went out of their way to make us feel at home, including holding the baby so we could finish breakfast! We like that they varied the breakfast options from day to day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a very well situated hotel for the beach and local tavernas, with a level walk to both. The couple who run the hotel are a delight as is their young daughter Georgia. They were most attentive and helpful. The hotel has some amazing flowers and is well maintained. The pool is a good size and has a reasonable number of sunbeds. Breakfast was adequate. Our room was large with a balcony overlooking the pool, cleaned everyday with clean towels if you wanted them. I have two minor complaints, one the corner shower was very small and the bottom sheet on the bed was too small, I often woke up to find I had been sleeping on the bare mattress. I must say the couple we were travelling with had a different experience with a walk in shower and no problems with the bed sheet. It appears the owners are in the process of updating the rooms and we got unlucky. It certainly did not spoil our stay of 5 nights. This is a good place for families and couples, I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Based on our experience ask for a room that has been updated, if you go next year maybe you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

we took our 6 yr old to Agios Prokopios where i have been many times in last 15 years. i chose Hotel Katerina due to its location so very close to the best beach and local taverna's and other facilities. i wish i had stayed here every visit. the pool - deep and spotless was just great and the rooms are very private within a very pretty courtyard type set up. our room was perfect and the bathroom brand new and beautifully decorated with 2 types of shower head very very modern. the staff were so very lovely - a real family business which offers friendly 5 star service and great breakfast/lunch/cocktails - really whatever you need.
no negatives and i am fussy. if you want the beauty of a greek island with comfort and service then do choose this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are great- air con is super effective and silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our stay at Hotel Katarina was delightful mainly due to the lovely couple that run the hotel - George and Maria.

They were very warm, conversational and accommodating.

The hotel itself was very clean and well presented.

You couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay at such a great price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Katerina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katerina

Address: Agios Prokopios 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Katerina 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Katerina is located in the best and most famous beach in Naxos Island in Agios Prokopios, just 5 km. from Naxos Town and only 2 minutes (60 meter) walking from the sandy beach of Agios Prokopios with the crystal clear waters. The hotel is built according to the Cycladic architectural style with all the comforts, in a picturesque tranquil ambiance, for all types of vacation. The mild and breeze of the surrounding fields, among flowers and trees, offers your the opportunity, for real unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Katerina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Katerina Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Katerina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.