We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so much potential....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Agios Stefanos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Agios Stefanos
midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“so much potential....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Upon arrival at this hotel we were impressed with the welcome we received from the staff and the welcome drink. Whilst we appreciate that photo's can be deceiving, there is a world of difference from the website photo's and the reality. We paid for a Jacuzzi on the balcony which did not work, at all and was more of a whirlpool bath than a Jacuzzi. The air conditioning didn't work however that was fixed within the day of us complaining. The toilet was another matter!. It ran constantly, the maintenance man pretty much made daily visits to our room but the darn thing just kept running! Only the handset on the shower worked... We could have forgiven the hotel a lot of this, as the staff were so friendly if it hadn't been for the fact that it marketed itself as 5 star and charged accordingly. We would have stayed around the pool for lunch if a plate of spaghetti hadn't been 19 euro's.
We appreciate that the hotel has recently been refurbished. Perhaps the money could have been spent on improving the basics rather than the soft furnishings (which are lovely). The setting for the breakfast area is lovely but the layout of the plates and food was very much 3 star rather than 5 and whilst we appreciate that it is al a carte, the limit of 2 eggs for breakfast was a little disappointing.
The location of the hotel was stunning with the sea view rooms having breath taking views. It was a problem with taxi's but the staff were more than accommodating when it came to the shuttle. We wanted to extend our room for 6 hours when leaving but were told that it would cost 120 euro's for the extra time. What a shame. The manager was very apologetic but we only wanted a shower!
Masses of potential at this hotel. We hope they keep up the good work but need to invest in the basics.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MykonianMare11, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with Mykonian Mare with the Trip Advisor community. We really appreciate the fact that you found certain aspects of our property remarkable. The ownership has spent a lot of money for renovation and it is rewarding that this has showed.

However, we feel very sad that some other aspects of our hotel did not meet your expectations and needs. As per your review, this year and with the new major renovation that we are doing, we are focusing on the basics, in order to become one of the top hotels in Mykonos Island.

On this occasion, we would like to welcome you again in Mykonian Mare, so that you are able to see our improvements and have a memorable holiday!!!

Best Regards,
Katerina Stamouli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    15
    6
    17
See reviews for
7
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has had a refurb but I think it is not yet finished.
That's how it feels anyway.
I did email them before arriving asking them if they had a gym and they said there will be one by the time we are here, when we asked about gyms they were helpful in helping us find others around so assumed they didn't do it here.

I don't want to be negative, as the hotel has a lot of potential, and the staff are very very good. But there is still room for improvement! Which there is anywhere right?

So,
The fridge didn't work in our room. We didn't want to moan about it but you'd think when they come to restock the fridge everyday they would notice?

The shower drain didn't really drain well so the shower would flood then flood the toilet beside,

We paid extra for the jacuzzi suite which worked for 10 mins then switched off which I know they do but surely restart which it did not.

The breakfast IS NOT al a carte, maybe small, but is buffet style unless you have cooked eggs etc..
The rest of the menu is nice and tasty but it is cheaper in town of course, the lunch and dinner menu is al a carte style.

Unfortunately a negative end was when we asked the hotel for a late checkout as we had an evening flight, they wanted 120 euros which we did decline as it worked out 20 euros an hour and we only wanted to shower so left that.

But I do want to say that we did enjoy our stay and that I would recommend myconian mare but if you get a deal maybe online as the standard prices they expect is a little high when the hotel is not yet there, a little more maintenance and refurb needed then it will be worth the price.

The pool area is very nice and of course the view.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MykonianMare11, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review for Mykonian Mare. We are very glad that you saw the potential of our property and I am very happy to announce you that from this summer we are expanding!!! We are already under renovation works and we are aiming to improve our level of quality and services.

On this occasion we would be glad to welcome you again in our beautiful property and offer you a refreshing cocktail to our pool while you gaze the magnificent scenery.

Best Regards,
Katerina Stamouli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Overall- great staff, courteous, patient and want to help, vas is very nice and the maintenance man to. The staf at the pool were perfect and Alexandro's to! The issue was the room, wifi and the air conditioner.
At first, the room with the "garden" view should be named "room with parking view" there was big problem with the air conditioner, we didnt feel any air condition... After 2 times that the maintenance
Tried to solve the problem vas removed as to a beter room, in fact, stunning room on the pool!
Unfortunately the bed wasnt double and the shower was with weak stream...
Cleanliness- relatively clean without something special.
Location- the hotel is far from the city , a taxi takes 5 min' and its very expensive!
Value- eventually we had a good time. There is more to improve and with a proper investment the hotel will be 4+ stars.
Again- all the staff was great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We are a couple from Athens, Greece that spent a weekend at this hotel in early June. The experience was terrible and we feel it's the worst advertisement for our tourism.
What should we start from? The room was dirty, the balcony was shared by the next room. There were no bath towels and when the only half-pack of toilet paper was used it took them 4 hours to replace it! It is hard to believe but we were given no door key and the staff were unlocking our room every time we wanted to enter!!!
We ordered an omelet at breakfast and it never came!!
We feel sorry for the disent staff and how frustrated they looked all the time!
We were seeing people at the front desk all the times complaining for everything!
All in all the hotel was a terrible experience and there is no way we would spend a single night more in this place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MykonianMare11, Front Office Manager at Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for spending time writing your feedback for the Mykonian Mare. However, let us be a little suspicious of all this that you claim that you lived with us.

To begin with, I would like to inform you that all of our rooms are being cleaned on a daily basis and towels and toilet paper are being renewed on a daily basis. I realize that you might have been distressed by your key, but as far as we are concerned, this issue was fixed within the day.

Regarding the breakfast now, please note that this year is our breakfast year! We have a very special buffet that is being supported by a very well trained staff and it is quite strange to hear something like that. Please note that omelet is not included in the buffet breakfast that we offer to our guests. We offer our guests scrambled and boiled eggs and the omelet is upon order and has an extra cost.

Did our staff notify you for the extra cost? Did you accept the extra cost? Were you given the option of the scrambled and boiled eggs instead, which are inclusive in the room rate? We have investigated closely this matter and our staff informed us that they notified you for the extra cost, and furthermore they gave you the option of scrambled and boiled eggs and were not notified, if you still wanted to have the omelet.

Overall we believe that this feedback was exaggerating and perhaps mean towards us. We do not take it personally, but when it comes to support our team of professionals, that are running this property we will definitely do.

Kindly inform us if you wish to have our reply in Greek as well. You realize that we replied in English since you used the same language.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've been there twice and I have to assure you, that it is a very nice place to stay in. In fact, it is impossible to complain at least you have booked the Garden-view suite which is...disappointing. Other rooms, however, are nice and clean. Comments about wifi are ridiculous as far as I had no problems with Skype-calls nor with other applications. The price is fair and the quality is adequate.

Room Tip: only sea view!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MykonianMare11, Front Office Manager at Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for sharing your positive feedback, with the Trip advisor community. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us.

It is very rewarding for our team the fact that our property met your expectations.

We appreciate your loyalty and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future!


Regards,
Katerina Stamouli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

First off, the staff at the hotel was very accommodating which was extremely important due to all the hotel issues. The hotel needs major renovations. Most oft he guests had issues with their rooms. Wifi did not work which caused me to go to the city every day. Lights, air conditioning, hot water, jacuzzis, and many other things did not function properly for all guests. This is not a 5 star hotel. Be careful of how this hotel markets itself and its amenities. The owner should invest in this property to ease the stress of the staff being consumed with customer complaints. I will not stay here again which is unfortunate since I thoroughly enjoyed the staff, especially the day shift pool bartenders. It is also sometimes difficult to get a taxi at the hotel to get to town. The hotel should have paid me to stay there. Be careful when booking online and getting the room you want. Pictures can be deceiving. There was no spa or fitness center there during my stay.

Room Tip: There are some great hotels and apartments in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MykonianMare11, Front Office Manager at Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your reviews about your stay in the Mykonian Mare. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. However, we are a bit surprised to see that we were characterized overall as a “nightmare”. To be more specific, I would like to inform you that the last renovation of our property has been made shortly before our property opened its doors for the season of 2013. Therefore, it comes as a surprise to hear that we need renovation.

Furthermore, due to the recent renovation that we made, a few technical problems came up with your room and I completely understand that this might have annoyed you. However, we believe that there is no way that you may know if other guests had problems with their rooms. This is only your personal opinion and we do not share it. To end with this point, I would like to notify you, that the technical issues that came up, as far as we are concerned were solved by our qualified team at no time.

Regarding the wi-fi connection now, I would like to inform you that we have one of the best networks among other properties in Mykonos. It is something that we do not accept, since none of our guests has ever complained. To continue with, I would also like to notify that our property has never advertized a gym in the hotel, so it is strange to be marked for something that we do not claim to have. On the other hand, our Spa room is near our pool area and furthermore we offer Spa therapies to each guest individually inside the room. If perhaps we were notified that you wished to have a treatment we would be able to give you information and take you to our Spa room and service you.

Overall, Mykonian Mare, from the quality of standards and services is considered a 5* property and indeed one of the best in Mykonos.

As a conclusion, and since our main aim is to please our guests and share the philosophy of Greek hospitality, we would like to welcome you again in the Mykonian Mare to enjoy the magnificent view and our services.

Regards,
Katerina Stamouli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I visited the hotel at the end of May 2013 and I had an unique experience . This hotel compines everything . The excellent location benefits twice because is very near to the chora and to the port and it also have an amaging view to town of Mykonos and to the sunset !!!!!!The staff was very polite and helpful.The hotel was very organized ,very clean and well decorated based on the mykonian architecture !!!!! I certainly had a great time !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa

Address: Agios Stefanos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Agios Stefanos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Agios Stefanos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms and suites of Mykonian Mare combine the amazing view of the Aegean and Tinos & Delos islands, with fine Cycladic architecture and modern technology.Among the luxurious facilities one can find in the rooms are the private pools, the Coco –Mat mattresses, the Jacuzzi and the Spa cabins, suitable for In-Suite spa treatments, such as aromatherapy and colortherapy.Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa is one of the few hotels worldwide that is equipped with a high technology lighting system, that creates scenarios and awakes senses.The restaurant of Mykonian Mare serves traditional & Mediterranean cuisine in a peaceful atmosphere, while gazing the magnificent view.The stylish pool bar is equipped with sun beds, where a guest can relax by having a cocktail or a snack.Mykonian Mare offers a variety of services such as a welcome desk where someone can find information about the town and famous beaches, arrange a car rental or a tour to the surrounding islands. The property offers to all guests complimentary transfer from/to the airport & port of Mykonos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonian Mare The Art Resort n` Hotel Agios Stefanos
Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa Mykonos/Agios Stefanos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonian Mare Boutique & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.