We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the salads” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 18 Cafe

18 Cafe
Powder Mill Road, Pamplemousses, Mauritius
(230) 243 7340
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best of the salads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

A small cafe by roadside, we were brought in by our tour guide for lunch after a hefty walk and shopping in Port Louis. we requested light lunch preparations like salad as we were still full with breakfast back in the hotel. we were greeted by warm smiles and greetings from the cafe staff and the Chef himself. barely after minutes, we were served with the best lunch we ever had on vacation in Mauritius. thanks to the Chef for the hospitality and food prepared :) will come back for next holiday

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“3 times in one week! 'Nuff said!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

What a charming little place in Pamplemousse. The manager was one of the most charming people we've met in a restaurant. He took interest in us, cooked us things to try that weren't on the menu, told us wonderful stories and made us feel like we were the most important customers he's ever had.

The food was not bad - not exceptional, but the host and overall experience is one to remember

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAURITIUS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wow fresh, juices..and care for client”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

wow well done chef hat off to u ! I & my wife was looking a resto to eat for lunch ! the way we were wellcome we feel happy there was a lady who wellcome very polite ,we ordered to the chef kebab ,grill fish,mix salade that was fresh, juices,crispy& tasty ! you will not regret if you are looking for a fresh food and ofcourse well wellcome !!!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good service, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 via mobile

Good service, good choice of Mauritian food and many other options. Quality of food is top notch! Nice place to go after visiting the botanical gardens

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

After having read all the positive reviews on 18 Cafe, we gave it a try and were a bit disappointed. Food was ok but nothing special and service was rather efficient and friendly but nothing more.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 18 Cafe also viewed

Pamplemousses, Pamplemousses District
Pointe aux Canonniers, Pamplemousses District
 
Moka, Moka District
 

Been to 18 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 18 Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.