We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel with friendly staff and an excellent restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo La Rocca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo La Rocca to your Saves list
Albergo La Rocca
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Volte 10, 48013 Brisighella, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ristrutturazione
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brisighella
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel with friendly staff and an excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at La Rocca for two nights. The hotel is right in the heart of picturesque Brisighella. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was excellent and uses the freshest local ingredients which the chef explained to us as he talked us through the menu. The beef fillet with truffles, the fresh Porcini salad and the asparagus flan were exceptional!

The hotel also makes a good base for visiting nearby Faenza and Ravenna. All round a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    163
    34
    9
    0
See reviews for
51
183
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is my second review of Albergo La Rocca in stupendous Brisighella. I just returned from there! What can I say - perfect hotel, marvellous food in the restaurant, very kind Daniele and all the other staff! I have been all over Italy, stayed and eaten anywhere, but whenever I think of a PLACE, this is La Rocca, its restaurant and Brisighella. Would definitely return a third time. Thank you ever so much again for making me feel special!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Friendly and welcoming staff and owners, great restaurant, pretty and characterful village; ideal if you want a change of pace during a trip through the region's towns or cities, or a base to explore the local countryside. Have a glass of wine on the hotel's rooftop terrace while looking at the full moon rising over the valley hills and the castle on the peak above ...

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights on a weeklong trip to Italy. It was the best vacation I've ever had. I have stayed in hotels on 5 different contents and this by far was the best. We got there after driving from Pisa and were met by the owner. He took us to our rooms and waiting for us was welcome packet and a bottle of wine. He also moved his car so we could park next to the hotel with our luggage. We booked two rooms the first one was a large double the other was a quad room with a balcony. My in-laws and son stayed in the quad leaving my wife and me in the double. After a walk in the town we went to dinner at the hotel. The chef (who was also the owner) met us and talked us thru the entire menu. The food was amazing. The chef/owner is a great cook and the food was homemade, nothing frozen here. The next morning we got up and went to breakfast at the hotel (included). Our first night there was a festival there and we walked around and shopped with the locals. Buying wine/food/ antiques. The chef/owner was there again and made us fresh croissants and coffee (espresso and cappuccinos). We then went on a tour of the town. There is so much to see in the town we spent the entire day walking and seeing the sights. We didn't eat in the restaurant the second night and the food was still good. We did go up to the roof top terrace and had some wine. The view up and down is amazing. Our last night we were treated to a wonderful dinner, and when we left the chef gave us a bottle of the local wine to go. We left early and weren't able to get to the store.

There is a train station here if you want to go to one of the big cities. We took a day trip to Florence. It was nice, but it was also great to go back to the town. Now a word of advice, if you have only stayed in a big chain hotel in the US this is a very different place. There is no aconditioning, however we did have a fan and at night with the window open it was pleasnt to sleep. So don't expect US style AC, but you are in a place that AC is not normal, however the hotel and the town is truly a place that makes you feel welcome. If we get to go back to Italy we wil stay there. This was by far the favorite part of our trip and by far the most welcomeing. I would say stay here and base if you are going to travel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for three nights at this wonderful small and simple hotel. They family who ran it were helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely large room with a small balcony overlooking a square. We dined at the hotel all three nights and the food was great - traditional Italian fare at its best.
We loved Brisighella too. The village and the surrounding area were delightful, and not crowded with tourists like Tuscany and Umbria.

Room Tip: It was nice to have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We loved Brisighella! It's a very peaceful and friendly little town.

The terrace on the rooftop of this hotel was very nice for looking at stars and the lit fortress and clock tower at night, and enjoying the view of the town rooftops and rolling countryside in the day. The breakfast was typical of Italian hotels (bread, pastries, yogurt, juice, cereal, etc.) The walnuts and cappuccino were very good. The rooms were clean with simple, older decor. The restaurant is excellent and open every night except for Monday. The family that runs the place is very kind and helpful and the son speaks good English.

My only hesitation in recommending Albergo La Rocca is that it was HOT when we stayed there in late June and a the temperature was a bit uncomfortable without AC, regardless of the breeze from the open windows and the nice fan.

Room Tip: Room 319 has a fantastic view of both the clock tower and the town! (No AC, though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We booked a three night stay here for a country experience on our first trip to Italy, between Rome and Venice, Mainly just going on reviews and a shot in the dark, but after the first night we did not want to leave, wished for a longer stay, and will definitely return for a longer stay. The hotel takes you back to simpler days and is very comfortable and welcoming...being from Texas, the lack of air conditioning took a little adjusting for us, but being able to open the windows wide and take in the fantastic views and fresh air made it worth it. Be sure to check out the rooftop patio for even more amazing views of the hills, fortress, and clock towers... The family welcomed us warmly and tolerated our language barrier very well, even came out and translated the menu for us...and the food was the best we had anywhere in Italy, maybe anywhere ever, lol. Reasonably priced and a lovely outdoor setting. We even got to experience an Italian futbol win and celebration! Viva Italy! I can't say enough that would accurately describe this hotel and restaurant and village...completely safe and worthy of being the centerpiece to any Italian trip.

Room Tip: Just open the window and any room should be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo La Rocca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo La Rocca

Address: Via delle Volte 10, 48013 Brisighella, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Brisighella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brisighella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo La Rocca 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated twelve kilometers from Faenza, Brisighella lies in the direction of Florence. La Rocca is situated in the beautiful historic centre of the town, with parking at the front of the restaurant. The restaurant is managed by the family that owns it, who offer guests a warm and friendly welcome. L'Hotel Ristorante La Rocca, gestito dai propietari, offre ai suoi ospiti un ambiente accogliente e familiare. Ristorante con cucina tipica regionale, possibilita di pranzo all'aperto, camere con servizi, TV, telefono wifi gratuito. Ascensore. Sala TV e bar. Il tutto nel centro storico della vecchia Brisighella. Aperto tutto l'anno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo La Rocca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo La Rocca Brisighella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo La Rocca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.