We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet

Swiss Chalet
16715 Yonge Street, East Gwillimbury, Ontario L3X 1X4, Canada
(905) 895-1667
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love how our family of five can eat at Swiss Chalet for little more than what we'd pay at a fast-food restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland Landing, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Swiss Chalet in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This is the best Swiss Chalet in the Newmarket area. Better by far than the one at 404 Plaza. Service is consistent and the staff are friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good but a little stiff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Of the three locations in Newmarket, we prefer the one in the north end by the Famous Players theatre. This is a training location and, although it has excellent service and great food, it is a little stiff about substitutions and the staff don't always seem to be aware of obvious but minor problems

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had made reservations for a large group at another Swiss Chalet location but by mistake people started showing up at this location. They were not prepared for such a group but decided to accomodate us on the spot since most of the group had followed the others here. After a brief 20 minute wait we were seated.

Service was nothing short of excelent. Food was served hot and orders were served without errors. We also had a large children table and they got the same treatment as us. Special care was taken to answer questions they had and little extras they wanted (sauce, bread, crayons etc..etc..)

Very nice place, very clean, very good service, good food at a respectable price. Can't go wrong. We would go back without hesitations.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good chicken and ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

good value for the money limited menu average service

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Chalet also viewed

East Gwillimbury, Ontario
East Gwillimbury, Ontario
 
East Gwillimbury, Ontario
East Gwillimbury, Ontario
 

Been to Swiss Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.