We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot House

Talbot House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talbot House
Save
You added Talbot House to your Saves list
27 High Street, Pateley Bridge HG3 5AL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Break with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Jill and Julie both helpful. Nice breakfast cooked to order. Lovely coffee and cakes available during the day, which we enjoyed sampling. Would certainly visit again. Room was clean, not huge but ok.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Home made cake here was lovely, very friendly owners where nothing was too much trouble, will go back as I'd like to sample more of the cake as I chose the apple which was served warm with cream, but also wanted the coffee cake and bakewell tart!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stopped at Talbot House for a cup of tea and a slice of cake. Owners were helpful and friendly and the homemade apple cake with cream was delicious. All the cakes and desserts looked good and were homemade - would recommend as a great refreshment stop.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frizington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

just stayed 3 nights at the talbot the owners were very friendly and welcoming the room was lovely and clean and the breakfast was beautiful nothing was to much trouble would def recommend

Room Tip: all rooms were just as lovely as the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here with a group last year when cycling the way of the roses. Lovely owners. Room was big enough and very clean. Nice bathroom, comfortable bed and fantastic breakfast. It is on the main road / high street but this was not an issue for me. Excellent value for money. I will be back. Remember this is a B&B and not a hotel chain. If you don't look for character, a home from home and friendly and genuine service then don't stay here...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My friends and I spent a Saturday night there after the first day of our Way of the Roses ride. It poured rain on us all day so when we arrived we were soaking wet. We could not have received a warmer welcome. The proprietor's dried our clothes for us while we warmed our bodies with tea in their lovely tea room. The rooms well very nice and well appointed. Higher quality beds and linens etc. than the majority of English B&B's you come across which is why the prices may be a bit higher but well worth it. The breakfast was superb as well and it was great to have secure storage for the bikes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I wanted a room for the night to walk in Nidderdale. It is ideally placed in the centre of Pateley Bridge.My room was on the top floor which, as they say on the website, is up two flights of stairs. The room was spotlessly clean and well furnished. The bedding was very comfortable and the bed was a large single. Usual coffee, tea etc. Breakfast was good, well cooked local produce and a few cereals. Talbot House is nothing outstanding but it does everything well and served my needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talbot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot House

Address: 27 High Street, Pateley Bridge HG3 5AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Talbot House Hotel Pateley Bridge
Talbot House Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talbot House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.