We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent a must if your in the area for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sportsman's Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Save
You added The Sportsman's Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Wath-in-Nidderdale | Pateley Bridge, Pateley Bridge HG3 5PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent a must if your in the area for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

After a beautiful walk in the surrounding area of the soortmans we turned up for lunch in the bar. With a roaring fire, fantastic food and great service it was a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. The second time I have been but I will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mid england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

dropped in for lunch with my wife when we were in the area. Wet and cold day but the Sportsman had a warm and friendly atmosphere and great food much of it locally sourced. No hesitation in recommending it .

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Good food, excellent staff. However our bedroom was in the annex and it felt as though we were in a converted garage. It also smelt rather damp. Overall the restaurant is good but our room and the residents lounge were disappointing. Both very old fashioned and tired. All needs brightening up. Great peaceful location

Room Tip: Check rooms in main building. Do not use the barn/annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here, and we had a meal this time in the Private Dining Room for a friends birthday dinner.

The food was absolutely fantastic and everyone in our party commented on how good their meal was. I had scallops, and lobster followed by sticky toffee pudding, which was divine. However the delicious food, this was also backed up by first class service, which really makes a difference. It was a busy night in the restaurant, but you would not have know it, and the service could not be faulted in anyway.

The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean - very traditional, but is in keeping with the countryside setting.

And although we were still stuffed from dinner the night before, we managed a full English breakfast in the morning which was again, excellent.

A great night, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just come back from our second wedding celebration at The Sportsmans Arms. Such a gorgeous spot, delicious food and excellent service. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is outside the village and set in the countryside. We had a room which overlooked nothing but scenery and the local rabbit warren.It was very comfortable, even for the cheapest room. The restaurant is in the good food guide and so it should be. The list of specials is a menu in itself and then the a la carte lies in the background. The staff were all friendly and helpful. the food was all served in the bar as they were not expecting many in, with it being early mid week. Breakfast is served between 9 and ten, which we found a bit late, but the chef was quite happy to come in a bit earlier for us, and it was just us on the first night. It is certainly a hotel that I would return to, and that is good as you may see from my experiences elsewhere. we could easily have spent a bit longer here.

Room Tip: As for a top floor room in the annex. There are the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent a rainy bank holiday weekend in the area which put a literal dampener on the experience but the location was awesome even in the drizzle.

We had a really big room which was very comfy with complimentary Molton Brown toiletries which came home with us. Our room had windows front and back and we loved watching the rabbits in the meadow behind. We didn't eat there in the evening but it looked nice. Breakfast is only served 9-9.30 even on a Sunday which seemed a bit restrictive to us but it was a super breakfast!

My only gripe was that it was a little expensive for what is a pub with rooms (£120 per night B and B)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sportsman's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman's Arms Hotel

Address: Wath-in-Nidderdale | Pateley Bridge, Pateley Bridge HG3 5PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sportsman's Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.