We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem of a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nidderdale Museum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nidderdale Museum
King Street, Pateley Bridge HG3 5LE, England
01423 711225
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
yorkshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“a gem of a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have visited here many times now having been told about it by a friend. It is a hidden treasure and we have since taken other people who knew nothing about it. Great place that should be supported.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
176 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“A very interesting museum, a hidden treasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I popped in here when last in Pateley Bridge, when I had 40 minutes to spare. I could very easily have spent 2 hours in here as there was so much to look at.
A very interesting museum, a hidden treasure.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I went with my sister and 9 year old niece. there is so much to see we all enjoyed looking at the displays which brought back a lot of memories of times gone by. well worth a visit, will go back again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A wonderful, eclectic mix of dales antiquities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Despite the address and post code, the Nidderdale museum is in Pately Bridge. We picked up a museum leaflet from the B&B and followed the instructions on how toget there. For some reason the roads didn't seem to add up and we would have been better taking a simpler, wider route: travelling NE along the B6265 take the first left over the bridge (River Nidd) along Millfield Street, then bear to the right up the hill (King Street). The museum is at the top of King Street on your left.

There is a small (free) car park. If you are lucky you will find a place to park right outside the main entrance. There is a disabled parking bay and there is wheelchair access to the museum. If the car park is full tou will have to park way down the hill in Pately Bridge - a pay and display car park next to the bridge over the River Nidd. If you are taking elderly people, best to drop them off first then go and park.

The museum is on the first floor - although the ground floor corridor has photos of local people and views dating from the last century.

Entrance fee is £2 per person when we visited. Incredibly cheap.

The museum collection is built from acquisitions and bequests from local people - so it is unique and special to the area. From a schoolroom, to surgical instruments, from local trades to historical events - this museum has a bit of everything.

I suppose the die-hards and the hard to please will call the collection eclectic. It is - But what a fascinating mix there is. Every turn and corner has something new, something thaqt only your grandparaents are ever likely to remember - and only then if they belonged to the rural communities of the Dales.

There is too much to see and too much to take in in one trip so a visit to the museum as a whole is best undertaken with a return visit sometime later. There are toilets but no cafe. The museum is run by volunteers and at the end of the tour you can make a donation to help this gem of a museum to survive. The staff are extremely helpful.

Opening times are restricted mainly to afternoons but longer opening times are available in school holidays. Best check before you go.

Add this to your itinerary for touring the Dales - you will find something for everyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“So worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Whole family enjoyed this place - the grannies were reminiscing at things from their youth and our 7yr old was enthralled by the old type school desks and chalk slates. The staff were very kind and helpful and took time to point out things we might miss. The Victorian doll's house was magnificently furnished and is an ongoing project. Our daughter also loved the "secret passage" and wanted to go back the next day - so that's a good recommendation. Really a wonderful museum of days gone by - and as others have said, a very reasonable admission price.Checkout opening times ahead as we turned up too early and had to go off for a wander but so glad we went back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nidderdale Museum also viewed

Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Nidderdale Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nidderdale Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.