We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coldstones Cut

The Coldstones Cut
Pateley Bridge, England
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“unexpected find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had no idea this was on our route. We were travelling on bikes and the route is not for the faint-hearted so wouldn't risk life and limb on a bike just to see this but if you want to tackle a big hill with scarey descent then this is the place for you. The art installation is fun to vitsit and nearly ripped my shirt out in the wind and I was there on a lovely summer's day! It is an uphill walk but quite a wide track. There are no toilet or eating facilites - it would just be a short visit really - but hthere is a rest bench part way up the hill.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    21
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My mum told me about this place a while back, just visited last night at around 8pm.not a sole up there.we were treated with amazing views and a stunning sunset. I'm not sure what it is like in the day but I can imagine it to be full of kids running around and tourists. Much preferred visiting in the evening.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go see it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Visited this because it had good reviews on Trip Advisor and am so glad we did. Absolutely loved it!

Without spoiling it for anyone make sure you visit both "sides" as the experience is different. I'd suggest going on a week day when the quarry is active as that adds to the experience.

It's different to anything else, really well done and informative.

Be prepared for it to be windy when you get to the top!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Can't really describe this place. Technically, it's an 'art installation', but don't let that put you off! It's just an unexpected and amazing place. You'll have to see for yourself. It's free, so what's not to like?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

You could drive straight past it....we did....twice...looking for it. It's between Patley bridge and Stump cross caverns and not visible from the main road. But take the time to find it. Look for a small unassuming car park on the left coming out of Patley bridge about 1.5 miles short of Stump cross Caverns.
It's a short, ten minute, steep walk from the car park up a rough track to the top of the hill.
Its really hard to describe what you find there. It's a 21st century folly. Architecturally it's more reminiscent of the back alley's of 19th century terraced streets in Leeds but cut from wonderful stone. It has a maze like quality that kids will love to explore and views of the surrounding countryside and working quarry that can't be bettered unless you're in a helicopter. A great place to visit and a great place to explore. There are no amenities (no shop, toilet, tearoom) its just plonked at the top of a hill.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coldstones Cut also viewed

Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Coldstones Cut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coldstones Cut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.