We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coldstones Cut

The Coldstones Cut
Pateley Bridge, England
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Attraction Details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This structure was to good for words and well worth the hike to the top The 360 degree legend was fantastic the views were breathtaking , the mountain rescue need a bigger donation box because on our visit it was so full money was falling out ?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Something really different. Wonderful piece of architecture. What a surprise when you arrive at top. Lovely views of surrounding countryside and working quarry. Well worth the short walk.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east england
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“An amazing find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We drove to Pately Bridge for a day out.
We first visited the sweet shop and then parked up the car.
Instead of driving upto the cut, we decided to walk to the cut.

When i say walk, I mean climb. The ascent was steep and there were a lot of blind bends. We had to hug the side of the road many times and he sheep werent friendly.
There is a free car park up there, so I would recommend this.
Upon arriving at the cut, it was another climb.
However, it was definately worth it. It was a rather cold day when we did it, but it was so good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had driven past it a few times on the way to Patley but one day decided to stop and when we got there it was busy but the views were fantastic and it is free and well worth seeing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
151 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Breath-taking in more ways than one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I visited Coldstones Cut when it first opened in September 2010 and the climb up was a strain as it was cold and there was a breeze. The climb over the views are breath-taking across Nidderdale and beyond. The structure itself has a full 360degree legend complete with distance information to lots of well known ans some obscure destinations. I will return in better weather. A photograpghers dream on a clear day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coldstones Cut also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Coldstones Cut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coldstones Cut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Coldstones Cut to your Saves list