We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany to your Saves list
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany
Via Panoramica 20 | Borgo di Colleoli, 56036 Palaia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Palaia
Bergen, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at Borgo last year and immediately fell in love with this beautiful resort. Our vacation plan for this summer was an easy choice. The history, buildings and surroundings are astounding. It's a perfect getaway and a good alternative to a standard hotel in a city centre.

The resort consists of several apartments, all or many are owned by private persons. The size, prizes and style of the apartments therefore differs. As this is an apartment resort, you get the feeling that you're on vacation in your own apartment, which adds to the peace feeling.

There are cleaning and laundry services provided by the resort, but if you don't mind doing it yourself, there are washing machines available.

There is a restaurant on the resort which serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks/beverages. Nearby there also is a pizza restaurant. As we are used to Norwegian breakfasts, we made our own in the apartment, which in my opinion was a big advantage.

The resort has two pools, one smaller with a childrens pool and a bigger one with several sun beds. Both pools have a strict policy, which prohibits shouting and game playing which can disturb others, diving, inflatable toys. Unfortunately not everyone respects this, especially families with children. This year three families who traveled together made a huge disturbance to several other guests, and they seemed not to care at all. We spoke to other couples who had stayed at Borgo many times, and it seemed that noisy families are increasing. I hope that the management can prioritize couples with few or without children in the future. I also hope that guests reading this can prevent these disturbances to happen in the future.

If you're looking for a peaceful vacation, beautiful sceneries, great food and architecture, Borgo i Colleoli is the best place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Beautiful Tuscan farm stay in picturesque hills clean, rustic apartments are well appointed and are located in the old farm outbuilding with the option of luxury rooms in the main house. Pools, food, wine all great

Room Tip: Apartments are roomy with views, kitchen is ok if you use the restaurant instead. Main house may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Gorgeous location great as a stay inbetween busy city visits. The drive up to the resort is a little scary if you are afraid of heights.
Nearby to beaches, Pisa, Lucca and Florence.
Great for couples or families.
Site seeing hope on the FI-PI-LI.
Park at the Scandinicci commuter train to get to venice.

Room Tip: We had an effiency apartement with a fantastic view of the tuscan hills from our bedrooms and kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norge, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great place to stay with or without children. ( we are a family of 4) The pool area is perfect, and the garden is nice. A place to relax completly... The restaurant is quite good, but the breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Borgo is a very special place. Having visited for the last 8 years, I really look forward to starting my year in such a peaceful/tranquil place. If you want a lively/family oriented place with loads to do for the kids & a jumping night life - this ISN'T for you. But if you want peace, quite and tranquillity then it is. It has 2 beautifully kept pools and tranquil gardens. A small enotecca on site and a nice Pizzeria at the end of the lane where locals go to eat. I hope 18-30's & large noisy groups pass it by as I want it to retain it's gentle, quiet calm. Great for couples and those work frazzled people who just want to laze by the pool, eat & sleep. Wonderful. Please don't change.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la fortuna, cr
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

excellent and quiet Resort for low Budget travellers. clean and friendly. especially the Food in their Restaurant was a Revelation. pls do your breakfast yourself (fully equipped kitchen is provided) as the one offered is pretty poor but cheap as well.

Room Tip: we were in a 1-bedroom appt upstairs und we'd suggest other travellers to ask for a 2-, or even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We travelled here for a short break during the recent bank holiday weekend. As reported by other reviewers it really is a beautiful setting and very peaceful.

It rained quite heavily during our time in Colleoli which prohibited us from travelling too far as we had arrived by train via Pisa Airport. We walked to the nearest town, Palaia, which was a nice walk (although risky as we had to walk along the road). The town is quaint and pretty and there is a great spot offering panoramic views of the area. We had planned to return in the evening to a restaurant we liked the look of but unfortunatly there is no taxi service from the resort and walking back along the road in the dark was unappealing. We ate at the restaurant just outside the grounds which was casual, comfortable and good value. There is another restaurant within walking distance but this was closed for a wedding.

I would recommend visitors to this location hire a car to be able to take full advantage of the surrounding areas - if we return we definitely will hire a car!

The service and staff at the resort were always friendly and helpful. It was a lovely break away from the rat race!

Room Tip: Hire a car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Address: Via Panoramica 20 | Borgo di Colleoli, 56036 Palaia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Palaia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Palaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borgo di Colleoli Resort, is an exclusive historical house, today an holiday estate offering more than 50 beautiful apartments located in the heart of Tuscany. This typical Tuscan hamlet with its individually furnished apartments ensconced amidst the famous Tuscan hillsides is close to Florence, Pisa, Siena and Lucca. Two splendid panoramic swimming pools, are exclusively available for the guests of the Borgo di Colleoli Resort. The Borgo di Colleoli apartments are located in a strategical position in Tuscany since all the best tourist destinations are within easy reach: whether you want to visit the cities of Arts, Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Pisa and Florence, or just want to play golf in Tuscany or perhaps go to the seaside, the Borgo di Colleoli Resort is just a few km far away from the renowned beaches of Forte dei Marmi, Pietrasanta, Viareggio, Cecina and its enchanted surroundigs Bolgheri and Castagneto Carducci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apartments At Borgo Di Colleoli Hotel Palaia
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany Palaia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.