We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but a lack of comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany to your Saves list
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via Panoramica 20 | Borgo di Colleoli, 56036 Palaia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Palaia
Soestdijk, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful, but a lack of comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The estate is beautiful, the reception was good, but we had to climb 35 steep steps to reach our apartment on the 2nd floor, facing the North.
The apartment was well equiped but to small for a cupboard to hang your clothes, for that we had to climb another steep stair, to reach the entresol with a height of 1.55m, good for midgets but to low to walk.
So for us as an elderly couple, also the distance to our car of more than 500m, outside the borgio, made the stay less comfortable than we expected and in this case the Toscan beauty
was not matched by Borgo Colleoli.

Room Tip: Tell them your age in advance, maybe it helps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    29
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Visited 13 - 16th September - We were so excited to be back at the Borgo and found that not much had changed. We had a lovely suite in the main villa for 3 nights on the special Autumn offer and enjoyed the breakfasts in the Enoteca and Tuscan food and wine in the I Seccoli ristorante. All of the staff at the Borgo were very helpful, friendly and fun! The setting is just beautiful, so tranquil at this time of year and the surrounding area is so easy to get around by car! There are so many places to visit and we will definately return again sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed courtesy of a friend who owns an appartment so can't comment on charges and prices.
The setting is outstanding and staff at reception very courteous, let me borrow a mountain bike for free.
The pool and grounds are very lovely and extremely well kept - water not heated, but I never mind that at all.
We did not eat in restaurant, which was deserted every evening. The local pizza place is excellent value for money however, and a stone's throw away.
you definitely need a car to get around, the nearest village has some restaurants (nice pub for lunch, and great icecream/ cafe type place) and simple grocers, but not much else.
Be aware of functions at night! These can be noisy - there was a karaoke party going on when we were there. Not the sort of thing I'd have expected in this resort.

Room Tip: you definitely need a room or suite with air conditioning in summer, not all have this
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a lovely fortnight in the apartments in July. Our apartment was spacious and very clean and the pools were beautiful and never too busy. We were a little concerned about the stairs in our apartment (we have an active toddler in tow) but arranged for stairgates to be fitted, all of which had been attended to before we arrived. The staff were very pleasant and efficient. When our DVD player did not work, a new one was brought and set up within an hour.

Food in the restaurant was good, with the exception of breakfast (not good) which we only had the first morning. We stocked up at the supermarket in Forcoli and ate in for breakfast after that. The pizzeria at the end of the drive is excellent and very good value, and full of locals.

This is an excellent location for visiting many of the beautiful sights of Italy - we enjoyed day trips to San Gimignano, Volterra, Florence, Lucca and Siena. We would thoroughly recommend the Borgo and have already booked for 2013!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is the type of resort you might think of as an all inclusive village. It is instead an apartment rental place. All the apartments are very well furnished, stylish and in an amazing position. The place is made for spring to fall and pools are available with the weather conditions in Italy, meaning no need to have them heated. The place offers as extra other services to compare it to a hotel, but as this is not a hotel they are all considered extras, and correctly I shall say. Food is very good if you eat at the restaurant, and I suggest to buy your own food for preparing a nice breakfast in your apartment or go to the near village of Palaia for a typical Italian Breakfast in the Bar (Brioche and Cappuccino).
I think this is a very relaxing stay for a nice week in Tuscany. Well positioned to visit the center of Tuscany and resting at night in a peaceful oasis!

Room Tip: Do not have breakfast included... they are not suited for that... go to the near Bar in Palaia or pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We got married here with 31 guests, because it just felt right, very informal and relaxed. We had a lovely room with a great view and will hopeful go again next year for our anniversary. The wedding breakfast was amazing with enough food left over for the next day to feed everyone again. The staff are lovely and very helpful. We could not fault the wedding food.

Negatives-The breakfast was terrible, I waited 15 minutes for a dry bread roll and a small sweet croissant. 1 person serving everyone. Had breakfast only once, unless they improve this, do not bother. Do a shop before you arrive, you need a car.
The hobs in the apartments are very slow so heat the water in your kettle 20 minutes before you need it, could do with a proper oven to cook in.

Suggestions-
Need bins and toilets by the top pool.
Could do with a little shop for basics like eggs, milk etc.
Sort out the breakfast, offer ham, cheese, fresh fruit and offer self service if not enough staff.
Lunch time-need more staff, again, 1 member to serve everyone.
Be nice to have a BBQ area to cook outside.
A welcome basket with basics, tea, milk, sugar, washing up liquid etc should be included on arrival.
Sort these things or lower the price and you will get 5 stars.
Change towels and bedding without an extra cost if staying for 5+ days.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely but we preferred ground level so we could sit outside our apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Had a studio in the main house in June. The area is so beautiful. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and had upgraded us because of stairs to original apartment (particularly Alessandro who was on duty when we arrived). Room was large and beautiful, huge bed, big bathroom, somewhere to make drinks but no cooking facilities. We enjoyed our 4 day stay immensely. Did not try restaurant or cafe - ate in "Tigli" outside main gate and at pub in Palaia.There are no prices on any food so we felt rather compromised or we may have tried it.
A few niggles, Sky advertised but not provided any more, neither pool is heated, we overlooked back of restaurant kitchen so some noise during evenings from restaurant staff. Would suggest prospective guests check about noise as they do weddings etc. Description of apartments is very limited on both Borgo site and Booking.com., so would suggest E Mail communication as accommodation has so many different layouts. Our studio was good value and the Borgo provided a holiday to be pleasantly remembered.

Room Tip: The accommodation is very varied and different - do not go entirely by Web Site descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Address: Via Panoramica 20 | Borgo di Colleoli, 56036 Palaia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Palaia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Palaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borgo di Colleoli Resort, is an exclusive historical house, today an holiday estate offering more than 50 beautiful apartments located in the heart of Tuscany. This typical Tuscan hamlet with its individually furnished apartments ensconced amidst the famous Tuscan hillsides is close to Florence, Pisa, Siena and Lucca. Two splendid panoramic swimming pools, are exclusively available for the guests of the Borgo di Colleoli Resort. The Borgo di Colleoli apartments are located in a strategical position in Tuscany since all the best tourist destinations are within easy reach: whether you want to visit the cities of Arts, Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Pisa and Florence, or just want to play golf in Tuscany or perhaps go to the seaside, the Borgo di Colleoli Resort is just a few km far away from the renowned beaches of Forte dei Marmi, Pietrasanta, Viareggio, Cecina and its enchanted surroundigs Bolgheri and Castagneto Carducci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apartments At Borgo Di Colleoli Hotel Palaia
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany Palaia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.