We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely for a short break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany to your Saves list
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany
1.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Via Panoramica 20 | Borgo di Colleoli, 56036 Palaia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Palaia
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely for a short break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed courtesy of a friend who owns an appartment so can't comment on charges and prices.
The setting is outstanding and staff at reception very courteous, let me borrow a mountain bike for free.
The pool and grounds are very lovely and extremely well kept - water not heated, but I never mind that at all.
We did not eat in restaurant, which was deserted every evening. The local pizza place is excellent value for money however, and a stone's throw away.
you definitely need a car to get around, the nearest village has some restaurants (nice pub for lunch, and great icecream/ cafe type place) and simple grocers, but not much else.
Be aware of functions at night! These can be noisy - there was a karaoke party going on when we were there. Not the sort of thing I'd have expected in this resort.

Room Tip: you definitely need a room or suite with air conditioning in summer, not all have this
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    41
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
73
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a lovely fortnight in the apartments in July. Our apartment was spacious and very clean and the pools were beautiful and never too busy. We were a little concerned about the stairs in our apartment (we have an active toddler in tow) but arranged for stairgates to be fitted, all of which had been attended to before we arrived. The staff were very pleasant and efficient. When our DVD player did not work, a new one was brought and set up within an hour.

Food in the restaurant was good, with the exception of breakfast (not good) which we only had the first morning. We stocked up at the supermarket in Forcoli and ate in for breakfast after that. The pizzeria at the end of the drive is excellent and very good value, and full of locals.

This is an excellent location for visiting many of the beautiful sights of Italy - we enjoyed day trips to San Gimignano, Volterra, Florence, Lucca and Siena. We would thoroughly recommend the Borgo and have already booked for 2013!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is the type of resort you might think of as an all inclusive village. It is instead an apartment rental place. All the apartments are very well furnished, stylish and in an amazing position. The place is made for spring to fall and pools are available with the weather conditions in Italy, meaning no need to have them heated. The place offers as extra other services to compare it to a hotel, but as this is not a hotel they are all considered extras, and correctly I shall say. Food is very good if you eat at the restaurant, and I suggest to buy your own food for preparing a nice breakfast in your apartment or go to the near village of Palaia for a typical Italian Breakfast in the Bar (Brioche and Cappuccino).
I think this is a very relaxing stay for a nice week in Tuscany. Well positioned to visit the center of Tuscany and resting at night in a peaceful oasis!

Room Tip: Do not have breakfast included... they are not suited for that... go to the near Bar in Palaia or pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We got married here with 31 guests, because it just felt right, very informal and relaxed. We had a lovely room with a great view and will hopeful go again next year for our anniversary. The wedding breakfast was amazing with enough food left over for the next day to feed everyone again. The staff are lovely and very helpful. We could not fault the wedding food.

Negatives-The breakfast was terrible, I waited 15 minutes for a dry bread roll and a small sweet croissant. 1 person serving everyone. Had breakfast only once, unless they improve this, do not bother. Do a shop before you arrive, you need a car.
The hobs in the apartments are very slow so heat the water in your kettle 20 minutes before you need it, could do with a proper oven to cook in.

Suggestions-
Need bins and toilets by the top pool.
Could do with a little shop for basics like eggs, milk etc.
Sort out the breakfast, offer ham, cheese, fresh fruit and offer self service if not enough staff.
Lunch time-need more staff, again, 1 member to serve everyone.
Be nice to have a BBQ area to cook outside.
A welcome basket with basics, tea, milk, sugar, washing up liquid etc should be included on arrival.
Sort these things or lower the price and you will get 5 stars.
Change towels and bedding without an extra cost if staying for 5+ days.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely but we preferred ground level so we could sit outside our apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Had a studio in the main house in June. The area is so beautiful. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and had upgraded us because of stairs to original apartment (particularly Alessandro who was on duty when we arrived). Room was large and beautiful, huge bed, big bathroom, somewhere to make drinks but no cooking facilities. We enjoyed our 4 day stay immensely. Did not try restaurant or cafe - ate in "Tigli" outside main gate and at pub in Palaia.There are no prices on any food so we felt rather compromised or we may have tried it.
A few niggles, Sky advertised but not provided any more, neither pool is heated, we overlooked back of restaurant kitchen so some noise during evenings from restaurant staff. Would suggest prospective guests check about noise as they do weddings etc. Description of apartments is very limited on both Borgo site and Booking.com., so would suggest E Mail communication as accommodation has so many different layouts. Our studio was good value and the Borgo provided a holiday to be pleasantly remembered.

Room Tip: The accommodation is very varied and different - do not go entirely by Web Site descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Borgo di Colleoli in Palaia is a stylish agroturismo resort in the Tuscan countryside between the rolling hills and fields full of sunflowers. The old buildings of the Borgo like the stables and the barns are rebuilt into villas with apartments with their own kitchens and hotel rooms. It is a bit confusing because there are reviews of the apartments, of the Fattoria and of K2. These are all parts of the Borgo. The hotel building is often referred to as the Palazzo but that is also part of the Borgo. The grounds of the Borgo are traffic free. There are no cars allowed but there are golf cars available for transporting luggage or guests. There is a parking lot, just an open spaceIt in the woods next to the church opposite to the Borgo, but space is limited.

We had a wonderful two week stay in a one bedroom apartment in one of the villas. The apartment was nicely decorated and good enough for two adults. The air conditioning units were hidden in the walls. There is nothing on the outside that disturbs the appearance of the old Tuscan style of the Borgo. There were the regular guest amenities, like shampoo, soap, and coffee and tea for the first days. There is no coffee machine but a small perculator. And there is no dish washer. The television is rather small and not with many international channels. We received two midweek cleanings of our apartment. The staff was very nice and helpful if we needed anything.

There are two swimming pools at the Borgo. One pool is climate controlled which means the water is cool in summertime and warm in colder months. One of the pools is especially for children. The Borgo provided us with four pool towels.

In the main plaza of the Borgo there are two restaurants who are operated independently. We went to both a few times for lunch or dinner. The food was good but a bit expensive. One night we enjoyed a buffet with live music. Just outside the Borgo there is another independent restaurant where we had a very good pizza.

WiFi is only available at he reception office of the Borgo which is a very small room and when the office closes down at night you have to sit outside with the mosquitos to use the internet.

We made lots of day trips in the area. Pisa is very near. But all the other famous Tuscan cities are in easy reach by car: Luca, Florence, San Gimignano, Volterra. We often just drove around the country side to enjoy the views and have some lunch.

When we checked in on Saturday there was a wedding party in the restaurants of the Borgo and in restaurant next door there was a party as well. We didn't have a reservation for any of the restaurants. We could wait in line for the restaurant next door to the Borgo which was only able to serve us pizzas. The next Saturday there was a wedding again! Be advised that when there is a wedding the it is almost impossible to find a parking space or your car might be blocked by a car of the wedding guests. We heard from the restaurants that the weddings are mainly held in Spring and Summer but that's also when the Borgo is filled with tourists.

Room Tip: No tip for a room but be advised that parking space can be limited and that there are no cars allowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

I was here with my wife as part of a wedding party. The food on the first evening was good, but breakfast was awful and not worth paying for if not included. 2 pools, but neither heated, and no AC in the room. The worst thing was the money grabbing attitude of the place. Everything costs extra, this place is the Ryanair of hotels! Cleaning is extra, breakfast extra, even pool towels! We also had a further issue where the hotel tried to charge us e tea for something, this involved a 3 hour argument with management that was extremely unpleasant and distressing. Without it I would have probably not bothered writing the review, but they don't seem to care about customer service, so they need to be taught a lesson in it! Tuscany is a charming and lovely place to stay, just make sure you don't stay here...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaia
0.1 mi away
Fattoria di Colleoli
Fattoria di Colleoli
#1 of 2 in Palaia
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
5.0 mi away
Agriturismo Santo Pietro
Agriturismo Santo Pietro
#1 of 2 in Capannoli
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Agriturismo La Palazzina e Orchidea Bed&Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Azienda Agricola San Gervasio
1.7 mi away
Agriturismo Tenuta Chiudendone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Address: Via Panoramica 20 | Borgo di Colleoli, 56036 Palaia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Palaia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Palaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany 1.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borgo di Colleoli Resort, is an exclusive historical house, today an holiday estate offering more than 50 beautiful apartments located in the heart of Tuscany. This typical Tuscan hamlet with its individually furnished apartments ensconced amidst the famous Tuscan hillsides is close to Florence, Pisa, Siena and Lucca. Two splendid panoramic swimming pools, are exclusively available for the guests of the Borgo di Colleoli Resort. The Borgo di Colleoli apartments are located in a strategical position in Tuscany since all the best tourist destinations are within easy reach: whether you want to visit the cities of Arts, Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Pisa and Florence, or just want to play golf in Tuscany or perhaps go to the seaside, the Borgo di Colleoli Resort is just a few km far away from the renowned beaches of Forte dei Marmi, Pietrasanta, Viareggio, Cecina and its enchanted surroundigs Bolgheri and Castagneto Carducci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apartments At Borgo Di Colleoli Hotel Palaia
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany Palaia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.