We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish agroturismo in the Tuscan countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Save Saved
You added Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany
Via Panoramica 20 | Borgo di Colleoli, 56036 Palaia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty lodging in Palaia
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Stylish agroturismo in the Tuscan countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Borgo di Colleoli in Palaia is a stylish agroturismo resort in the Tuscan countryside between the rolling hills and fields full of sunflowers. The old buildings of the Borgo like the stables and the barns are rebuilt into villas with apartments with their own kitchens and hotel rooms. It is a bit confusing because there are reviews of the apartments, of the Fattoria and of K2. These are all parts of the Borgo. The hotel building is often referred to as the Palazzo but that is also part of the Borgo. The grounds of the Borgo are traffic free. There are no cars allowed but there are golf cars available for transporting luggage or guests. There is a parking lot, just an open spaceIt in the woods next to the church opposite to the Borgo, but space is limited.

We had a wonderful two week stay in a one bedroom apartment in one of the villas. The apartment was nicely decorated and good enough for two adults. The air conditioning units were hidden in the walls. There is nothing on the outside that disturbs the appearance of the old Tuscan style of the Borgo. There were the regular guest amenities, like shampoo, soap, and coffee and tea for the first days. There is no coffee machine but a small perculator. And there is no dish washer. The television is rather small and not with many international channels. We received two midweek cleanings of our apartment. The staff was very nice and helpful if we needed anything.

There are two swimming pools at the Borgo. One pool is climate controlled which means the water is cool in summertime and warm in colder months. One of the pools is especially for children. The Borgo provided us with four pool towels.

In the main plaza of the Borgo there are two restaurants who are operated independently. We went to both a few times for lunch or dinner. The food was good but a bit expensive. One night we enjoyed a buffet with live music. Just outside the Borgo there is another independent restaurant where we had a very good pizza.

WiFi is only available at he reception office of the Borgo which is a very small room and when the office closes down at night you have to sit outside with the mosquitos to use the internet.

We made lots of day trips in the area. Pisa is very near. But all the other famous Tuscan cities are in easy reach by car: Luca, Florence, San Gimignano, Volterra. We often just drove around the country side to enjoy the views and have some lunch.

When we checked in on Saturday there was a wedding party in the restaurants of the Borgo and in restaurant next door there was a party as well. We didn't have a reservation for any of the restaurants. We could wait in line for the restaurant next door to the Borgo which was only able to serve us pizzas. The next Saturday there was a wedding again! Be advised that when there is a wedding the it is almost impossible to find a parking space or your car might be blocked by a car of the wedding guests. We heard from the restaurants that the weddings are mainly held in Spring and Summer but that's also when the Borgo is filled with tourists.

Room Tip: No tip for a room but be advised that parking space can be limited and that there are no cars allowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    26
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
52
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

I was here with my wife as part of a wedding party. The food on the first evening was good, but breakfast was awful and not worth paying for if not included. 2 pools, but neither heated, and no AC in the room. The worst thing was the money grabbing attitude of the place. Everything costs extra, this place is the Ryanair of hotels! Cleaning is extra, breakfast extra, even pool towels! We also had a further issue where the hotel tried to charge us e tea for something, this involved a 3 hour argument with management that was extremely unpleasant and distressing. Without it I would have probably not bothered writing the review, but they don't seem to care about customer service, so they need to be taught a lesson in it! Tuscany is a charming and lovely place to stay, just make sure you don't stay here...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The rooms we stayed in were lovely, they upgraded us for our honeymoon which was nice, lovely bed and jacuzzi tub. The TVs were a bit on the old side but not a major. The only downside to the room was its location directly above the restaurant, which was a bit noisy at times, but nothing after midnight so again not a big deal. the area was lovely, about an hours drive from Florence so great for some sightseeing while still getting that country feel. The pool was a bit chilly for swimming, not sure if it was heated but the weather wasnt fantastic so we would have passed anyway. the cafe for breakfast was quite reasonable, the coffee was excellent, the bread passable but convenient. The staff at reception were very helpful in organizing us a massage nearby and replacing our kettle when it broke. The only downside really was the restaurant. rather overpriced and the service left a lot to be desired. we also tried another one nearby (agriturismo colleoli) which had good food, but horrible service, and tried to charge us 4 euro for dry bread that we hadn't ordered or touched (partly because she hadn't bothered to provide us with any oil or butter), so avoid both perhaps and maybe try pizza tigli, we didn't but they have some great reviews.

Room Tip: mention so if it is your honeymoon and you might get lucky, or if you book a suite, request a second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed for a week at Borgo and had mixed impressions.

Pro
- it's an amazing part of Tuscany, really quite, great nature, amazing sights
- really close to Pisa and Florence, lots to explore
- we had the superior room which was huge and had a full kitchen
- most rooms have a small part of the garden they can claim their terrace
- the rooms have a great climate control

Con
- no cleaning included, you need to pay extra for that (there's a long list of truly ridiculous extras you need to pay for)
- at checkout they tried to charge me for a wine at the restaurant we did not have, it took them about an hour to figure out there's no signed receipt and it was their mistake
- the heating in the pool is not working and it seems there are no plans to fix it
- guests are not allowed to use the golf carts and you can't drive inside the premises, hence you need to ask them to bring in your stuff with the cart (can be challenging at popular check-in or check-out times)
- the internet is not working, hence it's for free at the common areas, but it's sometimes painfully slow
- we had a neighbor for 2 nights with 4 kids, it was really noisy at times
- really bad cell phone coverage - if you need to make business calls, you might actually miss them
- it took reception 15 minutes to figure out how to connect an incoming call directly to the room
- the 9 EUR breakfast at the 'wine bar' is not worth it: you get a coffee, 1 croissant and 1 pastry with some jam - you can drive 5 minutes to Palaia and get a much better deal

Room Tip: Go for the 1 BR and 2 BR options, they are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have just been for a fantastic 2 day stay with a group of 5 couples. We had an amazing time and all fell in love the Borgo Di Colleoli. The views all around the resort are stunning and it really is in the depth of the Tuscan countryside - it was really quiet and tranquil. The staff were always attentive and friendly

Our apartments were spacious and all individual - we booked 2 ground floor apartments which had a lovely terrace to sit out on. We stayed in a first floor apartment (huge comfy beds!) but we had no balcony so we were pleased to join our friends down below us for drinks and lunch outside. We had free Wifi in each apartment which was a bonus.

The 2 pools were lovely and there were plenty of sunbeds - my only wish would be for toilets to be at the pool - you needed to walk back to your apartment or go to the restaurant.

We used the resort bar, which was very reasonable but unfortunately did close at 6pm so we went to the local supermarket to stock up on wine and beer.
For meals we used the local Pizza place just outside the gates of the complex and Agriturismo Colleoli which was a 10 minute walk down the local lane (worth the short walk - the views were stunning) where we had a fantastic meal with really good prices - well recommended.

Having never been to Italy before, and a tendancy to book holidays near the beach, I would fully recommend this place and really look forward to booking our next trip there - hopefully for a bit longer so we can explore the area

Room Tip: book ground floor or with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonn
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for a short week (too short to visit everything ion the area we wanted to- oh well, we'll have to come back!) and really enjoyed our stay. It was the end of the season so very quiet. We ate in both the pizzeria and the restaurant (both fine) and can recommend buying a bottle of their own olive oil. Half an hours dirve to San Gimignano, Pisa, Livorno and of course Volterra.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes, east sussex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We have stayed at the Borgo de Colleoli a few times.

The setting is truly beautiful.

The apartment we stayed in had all the mod cons, there is a supermarket nearby in Forcoli to stock up on food and local wines.

It is about half an hour drive from Pisa airport, hiring a car is advisable.

There are two swimming pools, a restaurant and a number of other restaurants and the village, Palaia, nearby.

For great local food and service the Agriturismo Colleoli at the end of the road is well worth a visit and just across the road is a small local cafe/pub.

There are not many facilities on site but it was a very enjoyable and relaxing stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Address: Via Panoramica 20 | Borgo di Colleoli, 56036 Palaia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Palaia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty lodging in Palaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borgo di Colleoli Resort, is an exclusive historical house, today an holiday estate offering more than 50 beautiful apartments located in the heart of Tuscany. This typical Tuscan hamlet with its individually furnished apartments ensconced amidst the famous Tuscan hillsides is close to Florence, Pisa, Siena and Lucca. Two splendid panoramic swimming pools, are exclusively available for the guests of the Borgo di Colleoli Resort. The Borgo di Colleoli apartments are located in a strategical position in Tuscany since all the best tourist destinations are within easy reach: whether you want to visit the cities of Arts, Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Pisa and Florence, or just want to play golf in Tuscany or perhaps go to the seaside, the Borgo di Colleoli Resort is just a few km far away from the renowned beaches of Forte dei Marmi, Pietrasanta, Viareggio, Cecina and its enchanted surroundigs Bolgheri and Castagneto Carducci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apartments At Borgo Di Colleoli Hotel Palaia
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany Palaia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.