We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High End HOSTEL (not hotel) in amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newgrange Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newgrange Lodge to your Saves list
Newgrange Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Staleen Road | Newgrange, Donore, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Kerry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High End HOSTEL (not hotel) in amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Great Hostel great location. Somewhere between a hostel and a hotel - expensive for a hostel, cheap for a hotel. Clean rooms and public areas, nice atmosphere, helpful staff. Very Comfortable. The public kitchen was very small, but never seemed crowded, lots of eating space in bright areas.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    43
    27
    15
    12
See reviews for
42
50
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

The room itself was tiny and dorm-like. However, it was clean and very convenient to the Bru na Boinne visitor center. Breakfast was weak and the greeting we received less than welcoming. Several tour groups were staying at the facility and the teen were loud and could be heard readily through the doors and walls.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

The owner is really polite and helpful. It is right across from Brun na Boinne, which is a must see attraction. It's not as great as it looks on the website. Wifi didn't reach our room-that was frustrating because it is our only mode of communication and planning.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Clean, underfloor heating, wonderful atmosphere and really, really friendly and helpful people. Most economical stopover we had. Not a hostel, much too smart, but also not a hotel either. Interesting combination of both, and very clever idea, which I am sure will catch on internationally. Highly recommend both the location (in heart of Irish cultural treasure-trove) and destination facilities. Free internet by the way, which is always welcome. We would return here gladly.

  • Liked — Cook own food, clean, talkative staff & guests, litte dog, free internet, location
  • Disliked — finding it
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We chose Newgrange Lodge purely for its proximity to Newgrange and we were pleasantly surprised with all aspects of the accommodation. For the price we paid, it was great value.

The room was not large but we did have a queen and single bed for the 2 of us, so could spread out a little. I also had a bath, which was a bonus. As we really only slept in the room, the size was not an issue, and there were plenty of places to sit, both inside and out, if you wanted to relax.

There was free internet access, on 2 computers, and I only had to wait once for a short period of time, to access it.

The continental breakfast provided more than enough food to set you up for the day and realistically, as you served yourself, you could eat as much as you wanted. We had juice, cereal and toast, as well as tea, which is more than I eat at home. There was also yoghurt, fresh fruit and continental offerings.

There was ample free parking, and Newgrange was about 200 metres down the road. This meant that we were able to go on the first tour of the day. The receptionist rang from the lodge to book the tour for us, and when we paid, we were charged group/senior rates, so that was a saving.

The best thing of all was the very friendly and helpful receptionist/manager, Tina. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She even drove some guests down to the pub and offered to pick them up, to have an evening meal. That does go above and beyond the call of duty. The other receptionists/managers were also very obliging.

For the price we paid, we were very happy with Newgrange Lodge. Yes, we had better accommodations and better breakfasts in other places in Ireland, but no better location, and there was really nothing about which to complain.

  • Liked — Tina, value for money, free internet
  • Disliked — Noise from other guests
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Only if you like cramped, unclean, noisy (Very thin walls), and hard spring beds. I could hear the people next door to us urinating if that gives you an idea how thin the walls are. Decent breakfast but there was an odd sign that read, "...please wash your own cutlery and crockery..." which i was shocked to see. Its supposed to be a B&B not a hostel. I don't think we ever totally knew if we were supposed to wash our dishes as many people didn't. We were a little irked that anyone could be handwashing dishes. I have seen a wide range of how well people wash dishes.

They had 2 computers for public use and they advertise wireless internet access yet the public computers were not connected to the internet. Why have public computers..to play solitair? The computers did have wireless internet cards in them but either they were not configured or broken. We asked about them and were told they were not connected.

On the plus side the staff seemed fairly friendly and they place looked nice from the outside. Nice patio areas and 2 large lounge rooms.

We won't be staying there again though.

  • Liked — Location to the Newgrange and the Meath heritage trail
  • Disliked — Being in it.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

The website presented a lovely picture of what was not reality. The two good things were 1- a strong shower & 2- that it was so near to Newgrange- 200 yards or so- we could beat the lines. Everything else was dirty: the carpet- the lovely sofas in the pictures- the dishes. Also the rooms were like shoe boxes with extremely thin walls. People ran up and down the halls making noise and you could hear them laughing and talking in to the wee hours. If you stay here- bring several pairs of earplugs and some lysol.

  • Liked — proximity to Newgrange Visitors Center
  • Disliked — It was dirty.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newgrange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Lodge

Address: Staleen Road | Newgrange, Donore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Donore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Donore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Newgrange Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly an old farmhouse, Newgrange Lodge provides a unique venue the offer hotel accommodation and traditional Irish hospitality at bed and breakfast rates to both groups and the independent traveler alike. We are located opposite the world famous Heritage site of Newgrange, a tomb pre-dating the pyramids and Stonehenge by 400 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Newgrange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Lodge Ireland/Donore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newgrange Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.