We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5000 Years ago!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bru na Boinne

Bru na Boinne
Stalleen Road, Donore, Ireland
353-41-9880300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Donore
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Space is limited each day to 650 people, but it is well-worth the visit. The site is 5,000 years old, which makes it older than the pyramids. Historians was once believed Newgrange was a passage tomb, but now is believed to be an ancient temple.
Greenville
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“5000 Years ago!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It is amazing to know that this was constructed that long ago and how the planing for the winter solstice for the sunlight to take the departed souls on their journey. This tomb is Neolithic and was done before the pyramids. The OPW Heritage Pass provides free admission to this site. The tour of Newgrange is not for claustrophobics as the path inside is low and narrow as well as the chamber is small for a large group of people. I would recommend the tour of Knowth for those people since the tomb is not open to visitors but there is a good exhibition there. Once again the tour books give a good history and embellishes what the tour guide shares

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    943
    242
    49
    15
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corydon, Iowa
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Fascinating historical site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The tour of the ancient burial mounds at Knowth was excellent. The tour guide did a great job. We learned a lot about the lives of the ancient people who lived there, and we enjoyed climbing the largest mound and enjoying the view. We were also able to go into a chamber, and explore other features of the site. We bought our tickets at the visitors centre where we boarded buses that took us to Knowth. Since the number of groups that can be accommodated each day is limited, it's recommended that visitors arrive early to purchase their tickets. If you're going to Knowth, plan to see Newgrange as well; it's worth it. Be aware that between the visitors centre and the two sites, there is a lot of walking. Also dress appropriately for the weather, since there are no shelters at the sites. This makes an excellent day trip if you're staying in Dublin.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Iowa
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Fascinating historical site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The tour of the ancient burial mound at Newgrange was excellent. Going into the burial chamber was a fascinating experience. Our group was quite large so we had to pack in there closely. We bought our tickets at the visitors centre where we boarded buses that took us to Newgrange. Since the number of groups that can be accommodated each day is limited, it's recommended that visitors arrive early to purchase their tickets. If you're going to Newgrange, plan to see Knowth as well; it's worth it. Be aware that between the visitors centre and the two sites, there is a lot of walking. Also dress appropriately for the weather, since there are no shelters at the sites. This makes an excellent day trip of you're staying in Dublin.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Must See Adventure For The Family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Enjoyed the informative AV presentation at the Center, the dining area and the bus tour to Newgrange. Was an informative pre-site presentation. At the site, an informative guide escorts you about 62' into the central passage and provides a Winter Solstice sunrise simulation that is beyond belief.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great experience, but don't go straight there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you drive to this attraction, DO NOT punch Newgrange into your GPS and follow those directions. It will take you straight to the monument - where they don't sell tickets for entry. Instead, once you get to downtown Slane, follow the signs follow the signs to the Newgrange Visitors Center. The Visitors Center seemed new, had some informative exhibits, and a nice cafe with a decent selection of food & drinks. If it's at all cold and windy, dress very warmly. The monument sits unprotected at the top of a hill, which magnifies whatever weather conditions exist. Your tour guide will give you some history of the area and the monument, which to me was not all that interesting and lasted a little too long. Perhaps it only felt long because we were all freezing! The tombs inside Newgrange were amazing, and well worth the trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bru na Boinne also viewed

County Meath, Province of Leinster
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Bru na Boinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bru na Boinne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.