We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roughgrange Farm B&B

Roughgrange Farm B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roughgrange Farm B&B
Save
You added Roughgrange Farm B&B to your Saves list
Drogheda, Donore, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

On our recent trip to Ireland we spent our first night at Roughgrange Farm. Unfortunately, I had injured myself shortly after arriving in Ireland but Irene was so helpful in finding an emergency room and finding a rental wheelchair. She even had a ground floor room so I didn't have to climb the stairs. The farm is very near New Grange and the rest of my party was very impressed with it. Her rooms are very comfortable and her breakfast delicious. Irene was so kind and concerned about my difficulties AND so very helpful. Even if you don't need a hospital, your stay at Roughgrange will be lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

An absolute gem with superb hospitality. We opted for a tour of the Boyne Valley with a difference. We travelled on the river with Boyne Valley Activities who have their own archaeologist guide who filled us in on all the history and sites along the river. As the guys running the trip said "it is the only real Boyne Valley Tour" It was great to be staying so close to all of this wonderful history and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

With a great sense of Irish hospitality, Irene welcomed us warmly upon our arrival. If one wishes an experience of an old Irish farmhouse, make this bed & breakfast farm your choice. Even better, the views from the house overlooking the pretty countryside and Newgrange are wonderful. Irene's breakfast and the choices she provided were among the best we had in the Bed & Breakfasts where we stayed during our two week trip in Ireland. Breakfast included tasty breads, yogurt, juices, fruit, cereals and your choice of eggs and a traditional Irish breakfast. The room was comfortable, albeit a bit cold when we awoke in the morning. But, the bed had an electric blanket underneath the bottom sheet that kept us toasty warm through the night.

Roughgrange Farm is a bit hard to find. So, here are some directions to help: when exiting the motorway, follow the signs to Donore. In Donore, follow the main road, passing the church on the left and Daley's Pub on the right. Keep driving until passing the main entrance for Newgrange; you will see a sign for Roughgrange Farm opposite the entrance of Newgrange. Keep straight for about 2 kms and look for a sign for Roughgrange Farm on the left. Turn left into the driveway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This home is old with ambiance. Irene is a gracious hostess, and her help with tickets and directions was appreciated. We felt welcomed. Irene cooks an amazing breakfast. I recommend this B&B stay to anyone wanting comfort and peace and quiet. We could see Newgrange from our bedroom window and from the front yard. Lovely home with very gracious hostess.

Room Tip: We had room off the dining room. It was two separate rooms with one bathroom. Warm and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

What do you remember after your holiday if everything was great - the B&B lady - and you will remember Irene, who is helpful, friendly, jolly, good humoured and very welcoming. B&B in great location (nearly in Newgrange) clean, tidy, homely. Breakfasts nice. If you are in this area booked here and you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Arriving the evening before our visit to Newgrange was ideal. Irene phoned and arranged for an early tour of Newgrange with a discount. The Newgrange room had a double and twin bed in the main room and a twin in a small adjoining room, which linked to the bathroom. Looked like she spent a lot of time ironing the sheets and tablecloth! The great view of Newgrange from our room made up for the fuzzy TV reception. Look carefully at the outside of Roughgrange so you can spot it from Newgrange when on the tour. Irene was friendly, sent good directions, recommended a good, closeby pub/restaurant, and provided a route to avoid another fee on the M1 heading north.

Room Tip: The "Newgrange" room was large with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very nice accommodations in an 18th century farmhouse. The view across the Boyne valley up to Newgrange was spectacular! Breakfast was great and the hosts were very friendly. Irene can arrange a discount for you if you are going to visit Newgrange or Knowth. She also recommended Monasterboice, a site that we had not included on our itinerary that is close by and a must see - a 100' round tower, and 3 beautiful high crosses (including the tallest in Ireland at 21'). Easy access to the motorway from Monasterboice, and the site has not been taken over by the OPW yet (it is still a functioning cemetary for the parish!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roughgrange Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roughgrange Farm B&B

Address: Drogheda, Donore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Donore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Donore
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Roughgrange Farm B&B Ireland/Donore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roughgrange Farm B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.