We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place ever...The place is falling apart...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar & Spice Patisserie

Sugar & Spice Patisserie
3 189 Lakeside Drive, Joondalup, Western Australia 6027, Australia
08 9301 2209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 202 Restaurants in Joondalup
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst place ever...The place is falling apart...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Worst customer service ever. Waited more than 15 minutes to get my coffee made, the place was not even busy. The staff were too busy chatting around with only one girl trying to manage everything herself. The "owner" walked in front, ignoring the fact that customers are waiting, just looked around and walked away. This place is not was it used to be. The shop has lost its vibe, the cakes are not same anymore. I am sure I would not be walking through that door anymore.
The place is slowly sinking. I have seen this place for almost 5 years now, and I can tell they are slowly down down. Feel sorry for the business.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

The pastries and cakes look delicious and are in the main well presented,they tend to sell out of some items very quickly so get there early or you face disappointment.
Even by Perths standards costs are rather pricey and the service is hit and miss

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great pastries and cakes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The pastries and cakes here are to die for but the service is quite poor. You can wait for ages for coffee to be delivered but the staff are friendly. Their special order cakes are something to behold.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sweetness and light”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Visited here for coffee and cake it was excellent, all cakes homemade and too atractive, the outside seating was shaded and although on the side of the road it did not feel like it

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Not as delicious as it once was....au revior”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

How disappointing that this once favourite patisserie has lost its groove?
The chicken pies that we used to drive from Perth to Joondalup to indulge in are no longer the same, and are certainly not worth the drive. What used to be buttery pastry and chunks of chicken have been reduced to a standard bakery pie.
The inviting warm French vibe of the shop has vanished, and the cakes no longer have that "wow" factor for your taste buds that transported you back to your holiday in France.
I couldn't work out why one of my favourite patisseries in Perth had changed so much until I read the other reviews of the change of ownership and everything fell into place. If you desperate to relive your Parisian indulgences best try Pierre Sancho's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar & Spice Patisserie also viewed

 

Been to Sugar & Spice Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar & Spice Patisserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.