We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kwantu Private Game Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kwantu Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
Kwantu Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Daniel Street, Sidbury 6000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful family safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

What a wonderful experience we had at Kwantu. The staff were all polite, friendly and well spoken. They took a personal interest in us and especially our small children which was wonderful and made us feel at ease. The game ranger was very imformative and experienced which made this an absolutely lovely game viewing experience. The rooms were spacious, bathrooms modern and public areas all very impressive. The food was most enjoyable and flavoursome. An overall stunning experience for the whole family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushloverSouthAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Madam

Many thanks for your post on TripAdvisor.

At Kwantu, we strive to ensure that there is something for everyone to do, including the younger travelers. Therefore, we are glad to hear of your experience with your family.

Subsequent to your visit, we have also increased the number of facilities for adults and children alike as this will further enhance the experience received.

We hope to have you back at the "place of gathering" in the near future.

Sincerely
Kwantu Private Game Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    5
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
17
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The one day trip to Kwantu was very nice. We had chosen the morning tour which starts at 10am. On reaching there is a intro and quick tour of the place and light refreshments with tea and coffee are served.
The drive starts and continues for 3 hours. The guide (Lucas) had a sharp eye and could spot animals from far distances. In the land rover there is water, nuts, many blankets (it gets very cold in this season) and ponchos to protect from rain.
On reaching back, we were served authentic indian lunch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushloverSouthAfrica, Food and Beverage Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your post on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you had enjoyed your experience and have also commented about the good food received.

We try to ensure that while we offer various types of food, we also cater for various international cuisine types (such as Indian) as we understand that customers enjoy home food after being a few days in a new country.

Many thanks once again

Kind regards
F&B Manager
Kwantu Private Game Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I've spent 7 weeks on Kwantu, the 7 most amazing weeks of my life! I've enjoyed every single minute, I can't even think of moments I didn't enjoy. It's such a peaceful, quiet, beautiful place. The only thing you hear and see is the beautiful nature with its beautiful animals. You won't be bothered by traffic, buildings, people or even planes. For that reason you really get the chance to relax and enjoy nature!The longer you stay, the bigger the chance to see more of Kwantu's wildlife!The lions and monkeys will wake you up every morning, which is a fantastic experience! The staff is absolutely amazing and very friendly, they will do anything to make your stay unforgettable! Thanks for giving me the time of my life, I'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushloverSouthAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Barbara

We appreciate your comments and hope to have you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards
Kwantu Private Game Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

The food was plentiful and very tasty.
There was an abundance of wildlife to see. The rangers gave us a fantastic game viewing experience and are very knowledgeable on the various species.
The rooms are well trimmed and spacious, catering for singles, couples and families, all for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This place is magnificent! The rooms are huge, the service is excellent! The food it out of this world! YOu get to interact with baby tigers and see the lion in the sanctuary as well as the big 5 in the game reserve!

Room Tip: The lodges are closer to the eating area and have jacuzzis
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I took my boyfriend on a day trip to Kwantu Game Reserve and what a loving day it was. The staff was friendly, the animals beautiful and the food delicious! Such a stunning place that we are even concidering it for a wedding venue... Can just imagine what a beautiful day I can have there!

Room Tip: Cutest baby tigers ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I joined the Kwantu Volunteer Program in December 2011 and was there until January 2012..Our various attempts at conservation included repairing pot holes in the roads, cutting down alien vegetation,brush packing the ruts in the road to aid regrowth, training the elephants, making elephant beds, food etc, tracking lions and game spotting so the rangers know which direction to take the guests on their game drives...and much much more....
Altho we started early at 7.30...and started immediately with heavy work, as the day went on it got easier, to finish with a game drive..or lion spotting ..After afew weeks we began to think of these animals as OURS...our ZULU...Our Thor and Bianca, the Rhino....and of course..our Bangles...the youngest Tiger cub...
If you are interested in conservation I would recommend this program to get an insight into the workings of a game reserve...but be prepared to work!
Accomodation is in dorms, a girls, and a boys dorm..We had a man who kept everything tidy, did dishes etc...
Food is prepared and served in one of the restuarants
I have been back now for a week and am already missing the roar of the lions at night and the monkeys scampering across the roof....
You will love it!

Room Tip: Dorm living isn't too bad when you get used to it..altho wouldn't like to do it forever.. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kwantu Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwantu Private Game Reserve

Address: 1 Daniel Street, Sidbury 6000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Sidbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sidbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kwantu Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kwantu is situated near Port Elizabeth with its offering spanning everything from the big 5 to Kwantu's own elephant sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Kwantu Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwantu Private Game Reserve Hotel Sidbury
Kwantu Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sidbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kwantu Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.