We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Safari Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rippon's Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rippon's Safari Lodge
N2 Between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown | Eastern Cape, Sidbury, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Safari Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My family and I had the p,erasure of staying at Rippon's back in July this Texan and was a truly memorable experience. We travelled there with my 3 year old son and were concerned that as he was not allowed on the game drives he would be bored.

I made sure that I had enough games and movies for home to watch and to keep him occupied only to find a room full of toys, games, puzzle etc.

I will definitely recommend a stay there as couples, families or corporate getaways.

Brian, the GM is a treat too.

Game viewing very good, however never did get to see the leopard.

Stay at least three nights, arrive early, with a late flight out of Port Elizabeth to make the most of the morning and afternoon game drives.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Have plenty of battery life on the camera
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    24
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
161
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our 2 week holiday, and was definitely one of the highlights. Rhynhard was our tour guide, and from the moment we set of on the first drive, his enthusiasm & knowledge was second class. made the excitment all the more. the accommodation, food & staff were all excellent, and our evenings telling stories around the open fire were the perfect way to end the day

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

With two game drives a day, the highlight of any stay at Rippon's is seeing the amazing African fauna found within the nearby Shamwari reserve.

Our guide was Francis and we think it's fair to say that, what he doesn't know about his environment is not really worth knowing! Francis relayed information about all of the creatures seen and we came away with a greater understanding of how the African animals interact plus quite a few close-up photos of many of these creatures including the infamous Big 5.

Rippon's is located literally in the middle of nowhere at the end of unmade roads more suited to large 4x4s rather than the saloon hire car that we were assigned! On arriving, we were greeted and our bags were taken straight to our rooms while we checked-in. Barely a few minutes later and we were out on the safari vehicle enjoying the first of our game drives- brilliant!

Our room overlooked the pool area which itself is at the top of a bank above the watering hole where we were entertained by the resident hippo who seemed to want to pose for photos! The room was extremely comfortable, very large and fully appointed.

Meals were plentiful and included in the tariff. Drinks were extra but the prices charged were reasonable for international travellers.

We're glad to have been able to stay at Rippon's and perhaps will return one day- that'll certainly be a treat!

Room Tip: You'll have a great room whichever one is assigned to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redland City, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

As part of a group of 17 Auzzies, Rippon's was a two night stay and were extremely happy with the whole package the rooms, food ,attention to detail ,the game tours ,guides and mine host Brian Mullins. Our words do not do the location justice , it was a life memory experience,.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in Rippon's Safari Lodge in March 2013 for 3 nights on our Honeymoon. We loved every minute of our experence. Francis was our Ranger for our stay. He is very knowlable about the wild animals of Africa. The food was delicious and accomadation was comfortable and spacious. We enjoyed going out on the early game drives looking for Elephants etc. In march the temperatures are very hot during the day but temperatures drops over night. so remember to bring warm clothing for the early 5 am Game drives as the jeeps are open so the wind and mist makes it very cold when travelling. 5am until approx. 9.30 am you go out on your morning game drive. it normally takes approx. 30 minutes to get to the game drive from Rippons Lodge. 9.30am you eat a delicious cooked breakfast with the rest of your rangers group. You then have time for yourself to sun bath or rest until lunch time. then approx. at 3pm you go back out on your afternoon game drive. It gets very warm on the jeep. You stop at a safe place
in the Safari park for drinks to watch the Sun go Down. You return to your lodge about 7pm. You then have your dinner with the rest of your rangers group. There is a variety of unusal but very tasty foods. Make sure you don't need to be going to the shops as you are approx 45mins to an hour from a town.

Room Tip: We were in The Long Barn. it has the swimming pool out side your door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent two nights here recently and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We were well looked after from the minute we arrived until we left. The staff cannot do enough to help and advise and there was a wonderful atmosphere. The food was of excellent quality and there was plenty of it. Drinks were extra but very reasonably priced. We went on four game drives with Norfus and he was very passionate about the animals and went out of his way to make sure we saw the Big Five and loads more as well. We loved the hot chocolate on return from the drives, it was very much appreciated as it is quite chilly in September. Tip for future visitors to Rippons: when you approach the lodge you have to get get through a padlocked gate a mile or so down the road. If the security guy does not appear from his sentry box to greet you, he is probably having a nap! Don't panic and consider making a phone call to the lodge via your mobile, just aim a small stone at the tin roof on the sentry box and he will wake up and let you in! We hope to return to Rippons one day.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the pool was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Rippons and had the most amazing time. The place was beautiful and so peaceful. The staff were wonderful here and in particular our ranger Francis. The game drives were just amazing and his ability to track and spot these wonderful animals was fantastic. In one game drive we saw Elephants, a white rhino with her young calf, cheetahs who had just made a kill and many others.

The stay was so well organised and whilst back at the lodge, it was so relaxing. The evenings were very social all congregating round an open fire before heading through for dinner. We would definitely visit again.

Emma and Stewart, UK

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rippon's Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippon's Safari Lodge

Address: N2 Between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown | Eastern Cape, Sidbury, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Sidbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Sidbury
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rippon's Safari Lodge, a new and exciting landmark in the Eastern Cape, one of South Africa's top game viewing areas - a lodge where down-to-earth affordable luxury and a respect for the environment go hand in hand - right in the centre of some of the best game viewing regions around. Rippons Safari Lodge is situated ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rippon`s Safari Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve
Rippon's Safari Lodge South Africa/Sidbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rippon's Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rippon's Safari Lodge to your Saves list