We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Rippons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rippon's Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rippon's Safari Lodge
Save
You added Rippon's Safari Lodge to your Saves list
N2 Between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown | Eastern Cape, Sidbury, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thank you Rippons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Rippons for a couple of nights at the end of our Garden Route tour, this was our first Safari so we were unsure of what to expect, but we were delighted on every aspect of Rippons. The rooms are quite large and comfy with patios that lead out to the garden and pool with a view of the valley. In the valley bottom is a lake where if your luck you may get to see the local hippo. The food was good and plentiful and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The game drives were amazing, it does take about 25 minutes to get to the Shamwari Reserve but the drive is enjoyable. Our guide was fantastic and all the rangers are in touch by radio, details of game are passed between rangers so you get to see all of the big 5. As this was our first safari I was surprised at how close the vehicles got to the game, especially the lions. One of my lasting memories of Rippons will be Brian’s stories each night when we returned from the game drive, in fact Brian has inspired me to return to South Africa again this year to visit the battlesite at Spioenkop. I have wonderful memory’s and amazing photo of our visit to Rippons and would be happy to recommend Rippons to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    25
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
56
163
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Rippons in May at the start of my South African tour. I travelled with a small group of 10 Australian women and we all had luxurious rooms with everything provided. The bath on the first night was sensational after spending 2 weeks volunteering at Shamwari Game Reserve prior to my tour. The food was amazing and the staff and our Ranger Anthony were fantastic. The game drives far exceeded my expectations and I was amazed at their knowledge of where to track the animals. I tried local meats like Blesbuck and ostrich and everything was laid on in style. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Any room would be perfect, mine looked out over the swimming pool where I could sit on the balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at Rippons for 2 nights in May and had an incredible time. It really exceeded expectations.

Firstly the rooms are spacious and well equipped and have patios that lead on to the pool with a view of the valley – where you are likely to see the local hippo sunbathing!

Brian and his staff are incredibly helpful and attentive, nothing is too much hassle. It’s the small touches like remembering everyone’s name that makes you feel at home and the endless stories also keep you entertained around dinner! Brian also arranged for us to eat at another lodge one evening as he had a big tour group staying and he didn’t want our experience spoilt, something that was greatly appreciated.

The food at breakfast and dinner is also very good and drinks are very reasonable. The ability to order a picnic for lunch was also a very nice touch.

Now onto the safari which was just incredible. We managed to see the big 5 plus many more thanks to our terrific guides Norfius and Mino. Shamwari is not a reserve where the animals are all lined up for the tourists, the guides use and happily share their vast knowledge on how they track animals, which is fascinating. Everyone on the game viewer is encouraged to help find the animals and the guides are happy to stop and explain anything, from plants to animals – you really do get a vast understanding of how everything on the reserve interacts. I would recommend Rippons and Shamwari to anyone, it was our first safari and definitely not our last there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at here for 3 nights in middle of May as part of our honeymoon and we could not fault it! The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was out of this world - they even catered for my gluten free requirements.
Our game drives were great. Our guide was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we saw all we could on our excursions.
When we returned after our first game drive, our room & bed was covered in red rose petals and a bottle of Champagne on ice was waiting for us - our honeymoon surprise!

Would 100% recommend Ribbon's to anyone thinking of doing safari.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at RIppon's for 3 nights at the beginning of May as part of our honeymoon and we couldn't have hoped for a better experience. The lodge has a beautiful setting, the food and hospitality were excellent and the game drives were well beyond our expectations.

We chose a great week to visit, with beautiful weather and the reserve was very quiet, so we barely saw another truck. Francis, our guide, was friendly and very knowledgable. We also enjoyed the evenings spent with our fellow guests and Brian the lodge manager, who kept us entertained with his stories of life in the African bush.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Rippon's Safari Lodge on May 1st and 2nd 2013. We arrived after a long and dusty journey to a friendly welcome that set the tone for our stay. There was scrumptious and plentiful grub at all meals, especially the excellent picnic. Our room in the long barn was of a high standard. Our very knowledgeable guide, Francis, deliverered excellent game drives with a sense of humour.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We travelled to Rippon's in a large family group - 10 adults plus 6 kids ranging from 15 months to 13 years. What a wonderful weekend! The highlight was the game drives - our rangers Reynard and Anthony were friendly and knowledgeable and we had wonderful sightings of lions (even killing a warthog!) and Cape Mountain Leopard, as well as numerous antelope, elephants and giraffe. But it didn't feel too commercial - at most sightings it was just our vehicle so we could enjoy sitting still and watching, without having to take turns with other vehicles.
The lodge itself was lovely - large and very comfortable rooms. Lots of delicious food and extremely friendly, warm and helpful staff. There was special food for the kids and the lodge worked around our needs rather than dictating when we should do everything They even baked a birthday cake for my 8 year old son who had his birthday there.
I highly recommend Rippons for anyone wanting a luxury safari experience with limited time. The Eastern Cape is also ideal as it is Malaria-free, Shamwari is really close to Port Elizabeth so there are no long drives to get there, and it is close to the beautiful beaches and attractions of the garden route.
Remember to take lots of layers for the game drives as it gets chilly, but they also sell reasonably priced gloves, scarves, beanies and jackets at the lodge if you forget.

Room Tip: We were in suite 1 which was huge and it was nice to be attached to the dining and lounge area - esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rippon's Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippon's Safari Lodge

Address: N2 Between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown | Eastern Cape, Sidbury, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Sidbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sidbury
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rippon's Safari Lodge, a new and exciting landmark in the Eastern Cape, one of South Africa's top game viewing areas - a lodge where down-to-earth affordable luxury and a respect for the environment go hand in hand - right in the centre of some of the best game viewing regions around. Rippons Safari Lodge is situated ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rippon`s Safari Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve
Rippon's Safari Lodge South Africa/Sidbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rippon's Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.