We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelieveable experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Idwala Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Idwala Game Lodge to your Saves list
Idwala Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sidbury Grahamstown Eastern Cape | PO Box 6482, Sidbury 6141, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unbelieveable experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

An amazing place!!!!the accomodation was 5 star, with the most helpful staff-Morgan's cooking wowed us at every meal, and Frank was the BEST safari guide!!!we had a ball driving around searching for animals, and to see lion cubs, and a baby hippo was unreal!!!cant recommend Idwala lodge enough!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sheffield, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

Idwala far exceeded our expectations.
Game drives were amazing... saw all the big 5 and ranger was excellent- proper sense of adventure.
The lodge itself was immaculate. The tiny details made the stay a truly luxurious experience.. for example small package of sweets on the bed with a short bedtime story on the bed at night, someone waiting to meet you with a drink when you came back from game drives.
Also seems vey good value when compared with other lodges in the area.
Would thoroughly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ailmc2000
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

we stayed in the lodge for 4 nights which was a little too long.I felt 2/3 nights is plenty.The staff at the lodge were fantastic so helpful and as for the chef....What can I say but AMAZING....Well worth a visit ...Swimming pool not the best though! Not suitable for children

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

Amazing welcome by the manager and his wife and welcoming lunch which was much appreciated. Our room had the biggest bed I have ever seen with great views through the trees into the valley. The food was absolutely delicious, with fantastic presentation. Game drives with our guide Frank were such an experience and we were able to observe lions, cheetahs, elephants etc in their natural habitat. We even got caught up in the middle of a cheetah trying to hunt down a baby wart hog but the mammy wart hog saw the cheetah off no problem. I could not fault our time there, or the service we received. The staff there treat like you like family and are most kind and helpful. We stayed 3 nights and it was a real high to our 3 and a half weeks spent in South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Had a 2 night stay at Idwala, having spent many hours perusing lots of different game lodges on the Eastern Cape. Finally decided on Idwala, & was the best decision I could have made. The whole experience was a complete treat from start to finish. All the staff were great, our room was lovely, the food was fab & the animals did not let us down! We saw everything (except Leopard of course), including a teeny baby giraffe, 5 month old cheetahs feasting on a bushbuk, as well as elephants, buffalo, rhino, zebra etc.

If you are thinking of splashing out on Shamwari or similar- DON'T DO IT. Save your money & stay at Idwala, which I believe is roughly half the price. You get to see the same animals & you get really personal attention as there are only ever a maximum of 8 guests staying. I honestly cannot fault it & find it hard to believe any other game lodge can be any better.

  • Liked — everything was great
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We spent two nights at Idwala and absolutely loved it. The service was impeccable, the food gormet, the rooms adorable, and the game drives incredible.

It's a small lodge, only four rooms, so you get lots of individual attention. It's not inexpensive, but worth it. I wish we had stayed longer!

  • Liked — the game drives were great
  • Disliked — it was quite cold - but they did their best to keep you warm
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

Idwala is a very small lodge but has a very big heart.

Arriving at reception is a little daunting. A few scattered buildings which looked nothing like what we expected but then we were transported by landrover for 15 minutes to a magical oasis where the restaurant and chalets are. The scenery is stunning.

From the time we were met we were made to feel like friends and not guests. Everything was great, from the chalets (we were in 'Elephant 'which overlooked the waterhole) to all of the staff, the food was wicked - have still not ventured onto the scales!!

Our ranger, Frank, was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to find animals for us on our last morning after the previous evenings drive was cancelled due to torrential rain.

After two fantastic days it was very hard to leave Idwala.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Going Home
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Idwala Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idwala Game Lodge

Address: Sidbury Grahamstown Eastern Cape | PO Box 6482, Sidbury 6141, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Sidbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sidbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Idwala Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking setting on a dramatic ridge, overlooking a lush green valley, Idwala is a stylish family run lodge in the malaria-free Eastern Cape. With only 4 thatched chalets, privacy is ensured and each is spacious, air-conditioned and has a private patio. Game drives to spot the big 5 and offer excellent birding. Relax at the pool and enjoy sweeping views and spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Idwala Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idwala Game Lodge South Africa/Sidbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idwala Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.