We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise for real” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Veli Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Veli Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Veli Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Veligandu Huraa, 08190   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer up to 30%off!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
Ltraveler7
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Paradise for real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

A stunning resort: absolutely beautiful beaches, great walks around the islands. We also had a great time doing the activities available.
The place can only get better if there were a little more options for lunch and evening dining as well as a lounge area for drinks. That said the food in the resort was great.

Room Tip: All rooms above water are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, Manager at Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Ltraveler 7

It was a pleasure to have you with us at Anantara Veli and we appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.
The natural feel and the village style setting on the island makes the overall experience for our guests more unique and special. A walk around the pristine beaches on the island certainly gives you the calm and relaxing feel.

We would like to let you know that we have 7 restaurants and 2 bars at Anantara Maldives for our guests to enjoy. Our guest can indulge cuisines from Maldives, Italy, Thailand, Japan, Middle East and other international cuisine are part of our restaurant and theme night offerings.

We are also in the process of reviewing the theme nights of 73 degrees restaurant, to ensure a wide variety throughout the week.

Our Aqua and Dhoni bar are ideal places to chill out and enjoy an evening with the background of the waves clashing. Recently we introduced “Movie under the stars”, which represents another ideal lounge style set up to enjoy drinks & nibbles.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Anantara Veli in a not to distant future.

Sunny regards from Anantara Veli, your home away home...

Mohamed Ashraf
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    71
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
29
526
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Amazing place. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Unless you are heavy drinker, the a la carte option is definitely better value than the all-inclusive.
We stayed in an overwater villa. The top highlights of our trip were the live band beach dinner (they have it every saturday), the sunset fishing trip (you can have your catch cooked the next day!), and of course, snorkeling in the stunning coral reefs. If you go, make sure you don't miss those.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, Manager at Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear IvoDimi123,

Thank you for taking time to share you vacation experience with us at Anantara Veli.
Our weekly live band performance is a true highlight of our entertainment offerings and the sunset fishing and snorkelling expeditions offered by Aquafanatics team is a great way to explore the natural surrounding of the Maldives.

I would also like to share with you that we went through a refurbishment last year to even further enhance our product at Veli. The new idyllic romantic styled Ocean Pool Bungalows and the Deluxe Over water Pool bungalows are highly recommended for your next visit.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Anantara Veli soon.

Warm regards from Anantara Veli, your home away home

Mohamed Ashraf
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked 9 months ahead through booking.com. Three days before leaving on our trip with 2 weeks in Sri Lanka followed by 5 days in the Maldives, we received an email from booking.com.

We were advised that two of the islands, our island Veli where we had our reservation being one of them, had been booked completely by a party looking for privacy. Initially, we were upgraded to a larger water bungalow with sunset view. While I had researched Veli and had selected this island, we tried to be understanding. One day before our departure, we received another email saying the property was overbooked and we had been moved to the Sheraton and upgraded again to a beachfront ocean villa with pool.

The whole point of going to the Maldives was to be in a water bungalow and who wants to stay at the Sheraton. We were extremely disappointed and had to scramble 12 hours before departure to find another destination.

In the end, despite the stress, it worked out much better as we ended up at the Taj Exotica in a water bungalow with a plunge pool.

Booking.com was most helpful and was able to get our money back from the Anantara, who mistakenly assumed we would be pleased with an extremely unsatisfactory solution.

All this for a Saudi Prince so even if booked well ahead, the contract is meaningless!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, Manager at Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear monijoan
Thank you for your feedback on Anantara Veli.

Firstly I wanted to take a moment to apologize most sincerely; we are very sorry we could not welcome you to Anantara Veli on this occasion.

I completely understand your disappointment and the disruption to your holiday plans with regards to the last minute changes we were obliged to make through your agent booking.com.

If you will allow us to welcome you back at another time in the future, it would be my pleasure to assist personally in your booking and would ask that you contact me directly on trichter@anantara.com so that we could attempt to redeem ourselves to you.

Yours sincerely
Torsten Richter
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I had our honeymoon at the Anantara Veli resort from 30 Nov - 5 Dec 2013. We were exhausted after our wedding and arrived at the resort at 8am. We were greeted into paradise by the friendliest of faces. The check in process was wonderfully easy and while we filled out the required forms we were given fresh juice. Veli was the most peaceful resort we have every been to and exactly what we needed after a crazy wedding. We had an over the water bungalow and on our first night there was a leak in the bathroom. It was a common mishap and management ensure it was fixed right away. In addition they were so concerned about our experience that they upgraded us to a much larger and newer over the water bungalow. We did not expect that at all and were truly amazed by how considerate and wonderful the Anantara staff was. We would like to give a special thanks to Mr. Muruthala and Mr. Ashraf for their kindness and how special they made our honeymoon. They along with the other staff take great care in providing a great experience. In addition, everyone seemed to know our name. It was evident that they took the time to learn our names and no matter when you would run into someone on staff they would greet you by your name and say hello with a sincere smile.
Food: The breakfast buffet and all of the restaurants were amazing. Truly gourmet. Our favorite was the thai restaurant.
Activities: We did the beginner scuba diving class and had so much fun. We were taken out to the middle of the ocean and went 12 meters deep. We also did the couples massage. I would recommend using the spa on Dhigu as the over the water suites are amazing.
Also during one of the nights there was a honeymooner's event going on. We unfortunately did not sign up ahead of time, but Mr. Muruthala and Mr. Ashraf specially invited us to attend. They also allowed us to put a wooden heart on the wall (even though this was meant for couples who signed up in advance).
This was the Maldives so we had high expectations but the property, the beauty, the food, and most of all the service and kindness we were shown was unbelievable.
Thank you to Mr.'s Muruthala and Ashraf and the rest of the Anantara staff for making this a truly unforgettable experience.
- Vinay & Timsy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

When you're on honeymoon, the only you don't want to do is get mixed up with the crowd!!!. And Anantara Veli is just the place for a serene and calm vacation away from all the hustle and nestled away in the ocean.
Our water villa served the ultimate view of the indian ocean with all the beautiful sea creatures just swimming below our villa, making it seem so surreal.
The 3 restaurants gave us an opportunity to try out various cuisines with themed nights such as tepenyaki night, dining under the stars and not forgetting Maldivian night which showcased an array of Maldivian cuisine right from tender coconut water as a welcome drink to fish curry and culminating in coconut ice-cream. In addition the Thai restaurant on the banks of the coral reef conjured some ultimate and authentic Thai cuisine.
And for adventurers like my husband and me, the activity hut had a string of activities to choose from like kayakking, snorkelling, diving, deep sea fishing, etc.Not to forget the spa, which was truly a place to relax and rejuvenate

Room Tip: The Water villa is your best bet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We're a couple from Sydney Australia who honeymooned at Anantara Veli in January 2014.

We loved our stay and everything was either perfect or close to it!

From the moment we stepped onto the island, we felt very well looked after.

Prashrit was our host and a thorough gentlemen who really went out of his way to look after us. Thank you Prashrit!

We loved the wide array of options for meals and activities at Veli and Dighu - it's like two for the price of one. Our favourite meal was at Terrazzo - awesome pasta and very good value for money. Terrific views from upstairs there too.

Breakfast each morning was phenomenal! So much variety. They even had vegemite. I hope next time they might have BBQ sauce for my bacon and egg roll too!

Something that Veli does not seem to advertise but which we thoroughly recommend is the photographer service. Michelle looked after us beautifully and we had some amazing couple photos.

We think resort website undersells it. We mentioned this to management. This place is more beautiful, diverse and impressive than the site suggests.

Thanks very much to Prashrit and all the staff. We loved our stay and we dream of returning in the future.

Tim and Nikki James

Room Tip: It's worth the stretch to the Deluxe Overwater Bungalow if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Anantara Veli on February 2014, during our honeymoon trip. Personally I always perform a thorough research before I book a hotel, so in most cases, I am not disappointed about my choice.
Anantara Veli has it all.

a) Do you need mostly privacy, while being able to swim right under your bungalow? Then try one of the 10 newly built Deluxe Over Water Pool Bungalows. They are situated apart from the other bungalows, and you will be facing nothing but the beautiful waters. For snorkeling you will have to swim further, towards the sandy beaches, as the corals and all the exotic fish are situated near the shore.

b) You need more affortable privacy? You try the 17 Deluxe Over Water Bungalows. They are quite private also, closer to the coast, and you can also swim right infront of them. We stayed at 177, and it was lovely. There are no corals underneath to make it difficult for you to swim, just sand, which I prefered. For snorkeling, just swim towards the shore.

c) You don't care much about privacy, you don't care about swimming right below your bungalow, but you are interested mostly in snorkeling? Then book one of the 36 Over Water Bungalows, which will meet these needs better. You will feel like being above an aquarium, so get your equipment ready ;-)

d) I cannot comment on the Ocean Pool Bungalows as I didn't personaly see any of them. But I guess they are also a solution for a private stay, but consult with the hotel about the possibility of swimming in front of them, as they face the ocean and i couldnt see what the beach infront of them looks like.

There are no family rooms in Veli, as the Veli bungalows are for couples only, so if you have kids, you will book at Dhigu, which is 2' by boat :-)
You may see children around at the restaurants though, during the day, as they are allowed to travel between islands.

The hotel was renovated recently, so all the areas where in a very good condition. The rooms are lovely and spatious, they are equiped with all small things that can make your stay more comfortable. The rooms are cleaned twice a day, and you have all the bottled water you may need..

The breakfast met our expectations, you have a variety of things to chose from, and the muffins where just yummi...!

There were NO flies at the island, which was such a pleasant fact, and we only saw 2-3 wasps during our stay. I had read in other islands that they had proplems with sand flies, but this was not the case in Anantara Veli.

My favorite restaurant was the Thai, "Baan Huraa", with a big selection of Delicious dishes (even for someone who isn't familiar with the thai cuisine) and such amazing service, and our least favorite was the Italian in Dhigu, "Terazzo". The food in the Italian wasn't anything special, the quantities were small, and the service poor. There is definitely room for improvement.
For a 5-night stay as ours, there are just enough restaurants to try. "Origami" and "Fuddan" were also ok.

There is also a variety of activities you can chose from. Book them in time and try something that would suit you. We weren't so active and we only chose the fishing sunset trip, but it was quite funny and relaxing :-)

The Dhigu Spa is also a must-visit. I chose it over the garden Veli Spa, as i loved its over-water location.

All the stuff in Veli was really polite and friendly.
You can sit back and relax and enjoy all the beauties that this atoll in Maldives has to offer :-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Veli Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Veli Resort & Spa

Address: Veligandu Huraa, 08190
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Veligandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Veli Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat hand-in-hand to one of the most naturally stunning destinations on earth, a romantic paradise enveloped in soft white sands and turquoise waters. Just 20 km by speedboat from the airport in Male, delight in the private luxury of your own over-water bungalow, with all the comforts of home and then some. Unwind in your room, either over water in the crystal lagoon, or from your Ocean Pool Bungalow, with private pool and ocean views offering beach and lagoon access a few minutes stroll from your room, or admire the kaleidoscope of exotic fish and corals just steps from your over water and deluxe over water bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Minor Hotel Group Limited, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Veli Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Veli Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Veli Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.