We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to celebrate a big birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Veli Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Veli Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Veli Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Veligandu Huraa, 08190   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off Honeymoon Offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
Midlothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate a big birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Veli in the deluxe overwater bungalows. The bungalows at the end of the jetty have the nicest views but the ones at the other end are closer to the hotel's reef. We snorkelled every day in the turquoise water around the bungalows and saw new fish each time. Wonderful. We also took a couple of trips to the reefs further out – a very different experience in beautiful deep blue water along cliffs of coral - well worth it.
From the moment the staff meet you at the airport, the service is excellent and attentive. Veli is beautifully quiet and blissfully free of children. The kids are all on Dhigu :) The food was excellent and the breakfast buffet was the best we have ever had. We really enjoyed the Thai restaurant for dinner. Such an amazing setting by the edge of the reef with crashing waves and where you can watch the rays and fish as you dine. The staff at this restaurant were particularly good and remembered our room number and what we had for dinner the last time we were there….. You won't want to leave.

Room Tip: Deluxe bungalows at the end of the jetty have the nicest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    85
    18
    4
    9
See reviews for
34
636
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in March and this resort, and the Maldives, lived up to and exceeded all expectations.

We were swimming outisde our over water bungalow within an hour of touching down in Male, thanks to a speedy boat ride from the airport pier and an in-room check-in. The resort's lagoon (shared with sister resorts Dhigu and one other, high-end resort) was perfect turquoise, warm and filled with tropical fish, coral and small sharks and rays.

The bungalow itself was very comfortable - showing is age a bit but still very nice and with good facilities and well designed for privacy. On our final night we were upgraded to a deluxe bungalow - which was very nice and had a better deck space, but on balance not worth paying extra - the standard bungalow was excellent and all you needed. Features included a pod coffee machine, free wifi, a large day bed on the deck and a generous bathroom. I understand Veli will soon be closed temporarily for refurbishment, so I imagine the bungalows will be even better after that.

The food was excellent. The sister Dhigu resort's restaurants (and the resort itself) were easily accessible from Veli by pontoon boat, so added to the choice. Our package included the generous and delicious buffet breakfast, but we paid for other food. Not cheap - US$30-40+ for mains - but we didn't mind because it was very good, fresh, gourmet food. We mainly ate fresh fish at the Fuddan grill at Dhigu, and lunch at the Dhoni bar/restaurant on Veli.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were positive and proactive, but not too in your face either. A huge plus.

I went scuba diving (approx US$100 per dive) at sites close to the resort, which was superb, but the snorkelling in the hotel's lagoon was also very good. Coral grows directly under the bungalows, with all sorts of tropical fish as well as the odd juvenile shark and rays.

My wife used the spa and was very complimentary.

Very hard to fault this resort at all! Thoroughly recommended - the quienessential tropical escape!

Room Tip: A standard bungalow is enough but the further from the beach the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for five nights in a water bungalow and really loved it here. Very relaxing. Big enough to go for a wander but not too big to lose it's peacefulness.

A la carte food was really excellent and bizarrely deserted as everyone seemed to have room service instead. The buffet restaurants were a bit average for the price. If you are from the UK the alcohol is very expensive, we're from Dubai so for us it was very cheap!

In terms of activities, there were various watersports, good snorkelling right next to the room and diving was great.

It's a great location, only 40 mins by boat from the airport so transfers don't take too long.

My only (big) complaint was that there was a great spa but the prices were utterly ridiculous (from memory USD 200+ for a one hour massage) so we didn't use it at all which was a big disappointment. Had prices been a bit more reasonable we would have each had a massage every day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I just came back from a trip to Anantara Veli. It was absolutely magnificent. My goal was to relax and enjoy the Maldives and I definitely accomplished that. I booked a deluxe bungalow and that was well worth it. We had double decks and I used them both extensively! Slipping into the beautiful ocean from your deck was a huge plus. The island itself is a bit small, but very beautiful has a number of restaurants, a gym (which I used), a spa (which I also used!), beach volleyball and a beach. You can also use the facilities of the next resort (Dhigu) However Dhigu resort had a million children on it and it felt chaotic so I only went once. There is so much I can comment on, but thought I'd put a quick list together:

Top Things I liked
- Scenery. Gorgeous scenery and location.
- 35 minutes by speedboat to the island from Male. This was great. Otherwise I would have had to spend the night in Male and take a seaplane the next day.
- Service. Unbelievable service. I'm allergic to scallops and I told the Teppanyaki chef (Ahmed) at Geckos. He cleaned the grill and all his kitchen tools before he cooked my meal. So nice!
- Beaches - absolutely beautiful and not crowded. It was perfect for swimming or laying out.
- Snorkeling trip 20 minutes out. Only $50 and we saw turtles and octopus and lots of fish. Well worth it. (snorkeling gear was free for your time on the island!)
- Massage. Aoy was a fabulous masseuse and definitely made my back feel better.
- Yoga in the morning. Great way to get the day started overlooking blue water and doing yoga.

Top Things that could be improved

- I made my dinner reservations late and they told me everything was booked and my only option was Fushi Cafe on Dhigu. I went and it was the worst meal I've had in my 3 months in Asia. It also cost USD $111 (ouch!). The food was not good - mainly Indian, but not good Indian. There was hardly any protein available - mainly breads and rices. I had to fight someone for a piece of fish. Children were left at tables unattended and were screaming. It was all around a bad experience - enough that I would stay away from Dhigu.
- Facial. I got a facial at the spa and when I went to dinner (right after the facial), my friends were asking me when I was going to go get my facial. I didn't get that "after facial" glow and I'm not sure how much good it actually did.
- Prices. It is very pricey and easy to go over budget. The food is what costs the most - Hamburger and a diet Coke for lunch - USD$35. Dinner buffet - USD$111
- Families from Dhigu. Families come over to Veli to the beach and the restaurants. As someone who specifically looked for an island without children, this was disappointing. I ended up using my deck to avoid and this was a great solution.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This place made me feel right at home even though I was halfway around the world. I loves the free Internet. I felt isolated, but at the same time able to connect with my family and friends.

Once we arrived at the airport, we were promptly excorted to the boat that will take us to our destination. It was a very well equipped boat. We were greeted with cool towels and cold water. Took 30min. 

Check in was a little slow, but we were also greeted with cool towels and cold tea. 

Room: We got the deluxe over water bungalow. The bed was comfortable. The lighting inside the main room was poor, but adequate. The restroom was big and separated by a small closet from the room. Restroom has no AC. Restroom and shower are separate and both have one wall made out of glass to see the lagoon floor. There's a big bath tub, that we did not used. We had direct access to the lagoon from our bungalow. 

Location: great! 30min away from airport by boat ride. This was awesome because after flying 23hrs, the last thing we wanted was another plane ride. 

Excursions: cheap in price compared to other locations around the world. Parasailing (<$200 for two)  was awesome, except that it was a little physically demanding. Snorkeling  ($50 per person) was the best. We saw everything from sharks, to sting rays to colorful fish. The snorkeling in the resort is ok, but snorkeling in the ocean should not be skipped. 

Food: lots of options. There's a buffet night every night. Not worth the $217 per couple if you do not eat a lot. The a la carte restaurants seem to work better and are much cheaper.  The Thai restaurant is a must.  We loved everything about it. The Tom kha soup was delicious. Breakfast was the best. They had all kinds of tropical fruits. They will make you crepes, waffles, pancakes, eggs on English muffins, etc. 

Pros: location; friendly staff, privacy; a variety of activities; weather; awesome infinity pool; free water bottles daily; plenty of restaurant options; free snorkeling gear rental; free shuttle to other resort. 

Cons: travel time from the US; you have to wear water socks due to sharp coral debris/shells; children from anantara dhingu are allowed to come to anantara veli.

Tips: buy your souvenirs at the airport. They have a big selection and much cheaper. 

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iran
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We were in over water bungalow and it was fantastic . Very nice view to lagoon and very clean and comfortable bed .
We did snorkeling by free and also canoeing in lagoon .
I recommend tooth brush and sewing kit and shaving kit in bath room .
Despite of room description there was no iron facility in Vila .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The arrival was fantastic where my wife and I arrived to the sound of drums and a glass of champagne. We were then escorted to our Water villa and checked in the room. The views were fab. Very comfortable bed and a nice touch one night when they made a heart shape of flowers on the sheets when we came back from Dinner.
Food wise is expensive but all of good quality. I recommend the Thai restaurant in the evening. A fab walk to the premises too.
I have never been to a place that has had no footprints in the sand even in the afternoon. It really did feel like we were the only guests there (even though we wasn't).
The staff were all friendly and by day 4 they all knew my preferred drink and foods and greeted me by my first name.
I look forward to going again to this hotel very soon.

Room Tip: Water villas when raining can be annoying. Suggest a water villa closer to the shore to avoid strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veligandu
19.7 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Naladhu Resort Maldives
Naladhu Resort Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,324 reviews
9.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
5.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Veli Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Veli Resort & Spa

Address: Veligandu Huraa, 08190
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Veligandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Veli Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat hand-in-hand to one of the most naturally stunning destinations on earth, a romantic paradise enveloped in soft white sands and turquoise waters. Just 20 km by speedboat from the airport in Male, delight in the private luxury of your own over-water bungalow, with all the comforts of home and then some. Unwind in your room, either over water in the crystal lagoon, or from your Ocean Pool Bungalow, with private pool and ocean views offering beach and lagoon access a few minutes stroll from your room, or admire the kaleidoscope of exotic fish and corals just steps from your over water and deluxe over water bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Veli Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Veli Resort And Spa
Anantara Veli Hotel South Male Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.